We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #50 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The first thing that caught my eye about this hotel with that it was the same as my surname. We paid top dollar and stayed in the second best room available and were not dissapointed. The spectacular 180 degree view of the harbour and the amazing bed and views from the bath combined with every comfort imagineable. The service was exemplary, my girlfriend and I joked that the staff were ninjas because we never once noticed them yet every time we left the room and room was serviced and cleaned. The little things appeal too, such as a weather card each night, the fruit platter on arrival, free bottles of water and sweets at night. The hotel staff were more than happy to accommodate any request including DVDs, a umbrella for the rain, room service. This hotel is the best hotel I have stayed at from the many 5 star hotels abroad and Australia which I have visited. I would highly recommend it to anyone and I cannot wait to revisit San Francisco in order to stay at Hotel Vitale once more.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigben782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

We walked in off the street, having unexpectedly checked out of the DREADFUL Clift Hotel and our spirits were low. We'd endured almost a week of being exploited by the Clift's overpriced and lazy pretentions, which pretty much ruined our trip to San Francisco. On the spur of the moment we brought our stay there to an abrupt end and decided to try out the Vitale which we'd passed by on our way to the wonderful Ferry Building. What a difference; world's apart.

The staff practically bent over backwards to make us welcome and did their utmost to make sure we had everything we needed.

The room was fabulous. Having suffered too long trying to negotiate a bathroom the size of a broom cupboard at the Clift, I hardly wanted to leave the luxury of the one at the Vitale - sheer indulgence.

It cost us less to stay at the Vitale than the rip-off Clift, and I'm just sorry we didn't know then what we do now. The Vitale renewed our faith in San Francisco at a time where the Clift had all but destroyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rs05272014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for the San Francisco Marathon weekend, and the location could not be better. The hotel is easily accessible from SFO as it is located approximately 2 blocks away from the BART Embarcadero station. The Ferry Building is literally across the street, which made it very convenient to go to the Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings. We stayed in one of the rooms that were probably not considered the best because we were on the second floor and did not have a view, but it didn't matter to us at all. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet even though the bus stop was located right outside our window, and in-room Internet is included in the price of the room. We enjoyed the music from their CD selection, the jellyfish video that loops in the elevator, and the light scent of lavender in the hallways. It was a wonderful stay, and we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This hotel rocks!!! Staff was ultra friendly, every amenity you could imagine in =cluding the private baths on the roof!! Very cool!! Room service was friendly and efficient, centrally located with great views...Can't go wrong....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I got a great expedia deal on this--under $200/night before tax. Stayed here for the San Francisco Marathon, which starts literally right outside the doors of the hotel. But there's a lot else right outside this hotel's doors--Ferry Building, Farmers Market, Whatever The Name of The Giants Stadium This Year...the entire Embarcadero is right there.

Room was fantastic, even though the "city view" is little more than an office across the street. Needing an early night's sleep, silence was crucial to me and the construction of this place didn't let me down.

The BEST aspect of this hotel, as you'll see from my photos, are the multiple outdoor sitting/drinking/dining terraces on all the higher levels. Great in the afternoon which tends to be sunny and warmer in this SF microclimate.

The restaurant is above average, but certainly don't hesitate to go out to eat. Lot of great dining spots in SF.

Finally, they may have the friendliest hotel staff I've ever encountered. Just outstanding service!

I've stayed at half a dozen hotels in SF and this has been the best, hands down. I was always a Harbor Court fan, but this place has that beaten, and at a better price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed here as our first destination from our Honeymoon. It sits right opposite the Embarcadero which is a lovely walk down to Pier 39. There are regular trams that run from right outside the hotel uptown and to the Castro and other areas. The hotel staff were exceptionally attentive, very accommodating - we got a bottle of Verve clique from the reception after they found out we were recently married. We have a view of the embarcadero from our room which was exceptionally comfortable and of high quality. The perfect destination/base for any visitor to San Fran

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northeasttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

HOTEL. A beautiful and luxurious boutique hotel with a romantic ambiance.

STAFF. Professional and welcoming. We were suppose to have a bottle of champagne delivered to our room and they forgot but was gracious enough to ship it to us. I don’t dock points for honest mistakes.

ROOM. Small yet cozy. We had a great view of the waterfront and bay.

SHOWER. Surprisingly nice and big.

LOCATION. On the waterfront in Embarcadero.

ATTRACTION. Directly across the Ferry building—great for a stroll on Saturday when there’s a Farmer’s market.

TIP(S). Americano is an Italian restaurant. It’s good but San Francisco has so much more to offer. The waterfront alone has a few great name restaurants worth seeking out. Americano is however convenient if you don’t want to venture away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GQ_Trippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
855 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
535 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
903 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,369 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £188 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing