We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My husband stayed at this hotel on our first trip to San Francisco in May 2009. We selected it because of its amazing location right on the edge of the Bay next to the Bay Bridge and all of the amazing landmarks in that area such as the Ferry Building. We stayed in a fantastic Waterfront room with an amazing view from our sitting area right next to the window. The room came with a great bathroom and we loved the contemporary decor. The hotel provided us with some great ambient music CDs to play when we were relaxing in our beautiful room.

Having said all of that, there are a few caveats:

If you are staying on the waterfront side of the hotel the street noise from the Embarcadero and the hotel's restaurant (which was really good, incidentally) can be a bit much. My husband and I are light sleepers and on vacation we like to nap before having a late dinner. We found this a bit difficult as the Embarcadero tends to be favoured by motorcyclists and people with loud car stereos at around the time that we normally napped.

Also, the room we stayed in had a great shower but lacked a bathtub. You have to book an Urban Studio or one of the suites to get a bathtub. After an open-air tour around the bay and over to the ocean cost of San Fran we came back to the hotel chilled to the bone one day and it would have been really great to have a nice hot tub at that moment, but this is a common complaint I have with contemporary hotels, who think that providing a big rainshower-type shower is fine. Maybe for most travelers this is OK but I can't go more than a few days without craving a nice bath!

Overall this hotel was great. The service was friendly and accommodating and the rooms were in my opinion really comfortable, nicely decorated and well appointed. For everything else, I would return to this hotel for the view and the location alone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTP538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

This was the third Joie de Vivre hotel I stayed in, and while I haven't been impressed with the JdV chain, I was hoping the expensive room price would elevate the Hotel Vitale above the JdV standard. It did, a little bit, but not enough. The location is great, and the rooms are fine. However, the service was spotty, and little things gave away the hotel's "Joie de Vivre" affiliation; the dated food menu and crappy toiletries, for example.

The staffing didn't seem to be up to snuff for a "luxury" hotel. I was traveling with a friend, and had paid extra to book 2 queen beds, but when I checked in we had only one king bed. The first woman I spoke with at the desk offered no solution besides a cot, and it was only after getting the manager involved and physically showing them my reservation confirmation on my lap top that they managed to get me a room with two beds (which the first woman had said was impossible). They didn't offer anything for the inconvenience, and barely apologized.

You should know, if you are taking the BART, that the hotel is a little further from the station than you might expect - especially if you have heavy bags.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlite711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Positives

Very comfy beds

Nice helpful concierge and reception staff

Location was good

Rooms and bathrooms were nice and the view from the room was great.



Negatives

We were given a room beside a terrace where people tended to hang out so we had to keep our curtains closed all the time.

Lacked atmosphere - there was just some thing about the hotel that didn't do it for me.

Very noisy - between doors banging and the cars going by outside it was hard to sleep.

Quiet a few homeless people hanging around outside

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This is an amazing small hotel right on the wharf in San Fan. We had a delux ocean room and woke each day to the Bay bridge and the ferries going out to the famous Alcatraz !

The staff were amazing in every way and nothing I can say will explain the service and quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Great boutique hotel, location is fantastic and the rooms are funky and fun. Bar and restaurant are great. Staff is wonderful. Check out the roof deck... the view is wonderful at night.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
Thank hunna98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The staff (from valet parking and front desk- to room service) were professional, knowledgeable and kind. The hotel was filled with room and rooftop water front views of the Embarcadero. The smell of fresh spa herbs filled the hallways and our modern room was gorgeously green and very clean. The room service was also excellent-great eggs bene. Wonderful trip! We would definitely stay at the Vitale again.
Santa Cruz, CA.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scfamily95062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Arrived on a Friday tea time, sun shining and bar packed to the rafters. Hotel was spotless and perfectly located but did pay more than at any other previously visited US hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missymlincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
1,320 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,397 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £229 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing