We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #49 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My recent stay at the Vitale was very impressive. I had a room with a bay view and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms are clean, modern and tastefully decorated. I thought that the beds were particularly comfortable. Location is superb; particularly so if you like to go running as you can get straight onto the embarcadero without having to navigate through the grid system and all the annoying cross streets that come with it!

The free wifi is fantastic and highlights what a scam most hotels are running by charging for it.

The bar downstairs is great and the food fine. Personally I struggle to find anything on the room service menu that I actually wanted but I'm not sure whether that was because I was in a strange mood or because the menu is weird...

I also really appreciated the outside space on the various balconies. Waking before dawn due to jetlag meant that I was able to enjoy a number of spectacular sunrises sitting out on the terrace.

Having previously stayed at the W and the Clift I would definitely select the hotel Vitale for future stays!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChessAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

We selected the Hotel Vitale for the combination of bay views and an on site spa. Although a bit away from the central shopping district, its still an easy walking distance to Pier 39 and the tourist areas (without being in the heart of the madness). Can also walk to the AT&T Park, where we saw the Giants play. The San Fran Marathon happened while we where there (we didn't realize) so in the early am we could hear the sounds of the race, but we didn't mind. A couple of the floors have outdoor balconies-- so get a room on one of the floors with an outdoor balcony. It was rarely occupied so it was like we had it to ourself.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Hotel is in the Embarcadero area immediately across from the Ferry Building, close to shopping, dining and sightseeing. Had dinner at Americano in the hotel, good food and excellent service with good wine selection by the glass. Meeting facility was very good and the staff was attentive to our meeting needs. One minor annoyance: no coffee maker in the room but comp coffee in the lobby and Starbucks across the street took care of that issue. My wife used the spa facilities and was very complimentary. Our business lunches were served out on the 5th floor terrace, which was a spectacular place for dining. View was terrific and the food was very good.

Overall, a quality place to stay with a definite boutique feel and location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfunaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in early September 2010 following recommendations from a two different friends, and we absolutely loved it.
It certainly lives up to it's rating - very curtious, friend and proffessional staff, rooms are big and well fitted out, beds are really comfortable. The whole place is a class act.
In fact the pictures of the rooms on the website don't do them justice - they are far more plush than they appear.
The building has a very calming, relaxed, cool feel which is obviously the intention from the great decor.
Would definatley return again and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying here.
The in-room CD's are worth buying too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancambell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I live in NYC, but work takes me to San Francisco about 4 times per year. I've stayed in just about every luxury hotel in the city, but for the past couple of years I've been staying exclusively at The Vitale. The water view rooms are exquisite; there's just nothing like waking up and peering out over the water. I've been upgraded several times to the Circular Suite and it is nothing short of breathtaking. The staff, especially the concierges, are very helpful, and the room service is delicious. Plus, the hotel is always spotless. If you stay over a Friday night, be sure to visit the farmer's market at the ferry building on Saturday morning. Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly."

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Just got back from a two-night stay at Hotel Vitale and have only good things to say. First of all, the location is right across from the Ferry Building and our ocean-view room had a lovely view of the Ferry clock tower, bay and Bay Bridge. The room was clean, peaceful and quiet, no street noise at all. It takes only a few minutes to walk to the Embarcadero Metro stop. Everyone working at the hotel who we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful. One thing that I highly recommend trying is the hotel's spa bath treatment under the stars (well, we didn't see stars as it was fogged in that night) -- candles surround the bath (which is totally screened by bamboo for privacy), rose petals are sprinkled around, and soft music plays while you soak in an infinity bath...the ultimate pampering experience!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

So this hotel has the most amazing beds. If you want to get a great night's sleep, this is the place. The rooms are modern and up to date. The pillows are the best. Room service is also great. I also love the location, especially on Saturday's when you are right across from the Farmer's Market.

I used to love Americano, the restaurant and bar downstairs but lately, it is just mobbed and the waitresses have been rather rude. If it's not crowded then it is a great experience. There is a delicious open tuna panini, which is fantastic. The only better one I've had was at the Four Seasons hotel in Budapest but don't get me started on how great that hotel is!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayeletb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 231 in San Francisco
879 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
562 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 231 in San Francisco
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,748 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,577 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £198 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing