We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Unit showing king size bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unit showing king size bed
Other view of Bedroom unit Club Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Unit showing king size bed
Other view of Bedroom unit
Club Lounge
Other view of lounge
Welcome
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Francisco, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Zilziebas...
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved our stay at the Donatello. Well located for us to get about San Francisco on foot. Spacious, comfortable well appointed room. Great bed. Staff helpful and courteous. In house Restaurant of good quality with music most nights. A quality boutique hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to spend time with you.
Kindest regards,
Janette and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yamadamam...
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A GEM Next to Union Square”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Donatello is perfectly situated just a block away from Union Square. Rooms have ample space, considering most San Francisco hotels are pretty tight quarters. The bathroom is adequate, not necessarily roomy but it is clean and has all the amenities.
I always have trouble with the gym - nothing to dispense your water in, and short on equipment so I'll admit, I didn't bother on this trip. If they've improved the services, I wasn't there to experience it, but the past several visits it was a struggle. To park your car, valet is the only option - and that has worked out perfectly since all other parking lots we would drive to cost an arm and a leg in The City. We merely took Uber to The Giants game, The Wharf, and Pier 39 and it was much more convenient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Donatello and experienced how central it is to everything.
We hope you will come back again.
Warmest regards,
Janette and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne P
1 review
“Perfect Accommodations”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Attending a conference can be draining. Having a sanctuary to come back to at the end of the day makes all the difference. Not only was the Donatello the perfect location for "just enough" walking down to the Moscone, but it was a hidden gem among the hotels. The staff was incredibly helpful and the room more than inviting. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2018
Hi Suzanne,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back again.
Thank you for choosing us.
Warmest regards,
Janette and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinpaul...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hearty of the City but no noise”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a 4 day stay with my daughter. Hotel was in a central but quiet location. Excellent greeting from all staff set the tone. The studio was large, clean, well decorated with a lovely patio area outside. There was no unruly noise from the corridors and overall it met all our expectations. Excellent location, great hotel ( try the restaurant !) and welcoming staff. What more do you want!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Colin and Nadine,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. It has been so nice keeping in touch.
Warmest regards,
Janette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLTravele...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, Clean and Convienent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Found in Union Square and so easy to get to shopping, restaurants, and China Town. We purchased Big Bus tickets and there are two stops very close by. They will give you discounts on the Big Bus Tickets if you need, and there is even a chance they can get you Alcatraz tickets, just ask the concierge! The rooms were clear and nice, the hospitality floor was very nice with coffee and hot chocolate. Hot tub area was clean and nice, albeit only indicates 3 are allowed at any one time. Overall I enjoyed our stay and great location.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will come back again.
Janette and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuzzieDaz...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location with great views from the rooftop”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Perfectly located in Union Square, close to everything. Staff were great. Older building however very neat and tidy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and everything was as you expected. Yes, the rooftop has amazing views and we are glad that you discovered that little spot.
Janette and Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlebco...
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stay here whenever we stay in San Francisco because the Donatello offers everything we need. The central location is unbeatable, the units are modern and well-appointed, and we love having access to the roof-top facilities. Janette is always more than accommodating, helping us with whatever we need before and during our stay. We look forward to coming back this summer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
We are so glad that you enjoy our place at the Donatello. It is a wonderful location. We hope that you will continue to come. You must have visited our place at The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf as that is where the rooftop patio is. It is amazing.
Kindest Regards,
Janette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing