We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lucky Find!”
Review of Pot Sticker - CLOSED

Pot Sticker
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My son, his wife and kids were staying in a timeshare on Powell and we decided to go to Chinatown for dinner. Not knowing any good places, they took out their iPhones and searched for places not a long walk. The Pot Sticker was chosen. It is not much to look at from the outside and the inside was typical Chinese decor---lots of red and gold. We were the first there for dinner but a few other customers drifted in---all Chinese, a good sign.

We had a variety of dishes served family style---pork belly, Chinese broccoli, shrimp fried rice etc. but the best was a house specialty of a huge catfish poached in a broth with mushrooms, vegetables, chili.(@$32.50) and served over a flame to keep the broth hot.. Just superb!

Service was excellent and the waitress took time to explain everything and was very attentive during our dinner.

This is the kind of place one enjoys the most---a lucky find with no previous recommendation------In a word, serendipitous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definetely a good choice”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We were wandering around Chinatown to find good Xiao Long Bao. This is not easy, although there are so many dim sum places and I had really bad ones.
By avoiding a restaurant where someone waived with the menu outside (don't go to such places), we stumbled over the Pot Sticker. As we liked Szechuan food in China a lot we spontaneously gave it a try.
We ordered beef with black beens and chili and chicken with sesame in case the beef might have been too hot. Chicken was nothing special but good. Beef was hot but not too much and very tender and tasty. As I love Xiao Long Bao so much we also ordered them although I know that this is no Szechuan dish. Actually they were really nice. Not the best I ever had but the best out of the places in Chinatown where I have been.
Staff was nice, restaurant is small, toilet was clean. You can definitely give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path in Chinatown”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were told that the good restaurants in Chinatown were off Grant Street and we found The Pot Sticker one block off Grant Street. The restaurant had a family atmosphere. I had the best Hot and Sour soup I have ever had and the Szechuan Beef was delicious. My wife had pot stickers and thought they were very good. Great food at a fair price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still good 18 years later”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our Frommer's guide when we visited in 1995. We remembered how much we loved the pot stickers. We went again in 2013 and the pot stickers are still delicious! Entrees are good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crash_t51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not For the Faint of Heart - or Taste Bud”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It was sort of intimidating finding something to order off of the menu. All the choices were unfamiliar to us and unlike ANY of the typical American Chinese fare in most restaurants (including a few we passed on the main strip in Chinatown). A lot of the dishes began with "flaming chili oil", YIKES!
But we took the plunge and ordered a shredded pork and garlic dish (played it "safe"). It was incredibly delicious and hot. So delicious that you keep eating no matter how fiery your mouth gets!
I want to go back again before we leave, because we CANNOT find this kind of yummy, in Texas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esstrojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pot Sticker also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing