We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sniff the crab to go before you buy it ...”
Review of Nick's Lighthouse

Nick's Lighthouse
Ranked #686 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Hood River, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sniff the crab to go before you buy it ...”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stopped at Nick's around 7 pm a couple weeks ago ... got 2 cups of crab to go. When I got back to my hotel to eat it, I realized that the crab was bad - it smelled rank and tasted worst. I should have checked it before I paid ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NROA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    166
    101
    40
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Nice Crab”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

They have sit in place or you can sit outside and eat . everytime I go to SFO I will take a full crab from there . I love it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Won't be back”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our first night and we made a bad choice in selecting this place :( we should have eaten off a street vendor outside the restaurant...that is my tip for you).


Seriously, the food is not very good. Four adults and two didn't eat half of what was on their plate, just plain unappetizing. The seafood cannoli (which was pathetic for a restaurant) came with asparagus, so the waitress said as we ordered. Fun fact: Maybe green beans are considered asparagus at Nick's? Oh well, we made better choices the rest of our stay in SF. A tourist trap for sure. I suggest you avoid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pear0985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Authentic, atmospheric, fantastic!! I don't normally go to the same restaurant twice whilst on holiday but had to with this as the food was so delicious. Friendly staff, great atmosphere, fast service and make sure you are hungry before you go because you will want to fill your boots. Wish it was down the road from my house.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not our favorite”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Of all the places we ate at the week we were in town this was one if our least favorite. Everyone ordered their favorite seafood dish and everyone was disappointed. It wasn't horrible but we wouldn't go back. We tried the mussels and fish and chips. Had better many other places. Young kids would probably be fine with it.

Helpful?
Thank SugarNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's Lighthouse also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nick's Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing