We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Excellent Food”
Review of Luella - CLOSED

Luella
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: The Hyde Street cable car stops right out front at Green Street.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Excellent Food”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My husband and I were visiting San Francisco and we were staying in Nob Hill. We strolled down a few blocks and came across Luella's, and what a great find! We've been coming to San Francisco for 16 years and frankly the food scene for us has been hit or miss with more misses than hits. Thankfully, Luella's was a hit! The hostess was excellent, the menu options were varied and the flavors were fantastic. We got to meet the Ben the Chef and he was delightful. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Russian hill favorite”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely dinner at luella last night. This is definitely a favorite for the locals- one of the few nice eateries in sf that offers a kids menu! You will not be disappointed. I ordered the seared ahi tacos, lobster ravioli, and ice cream Sunday. All were delicious. Definitely coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pork Chp”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I love the coco cola pork braise. Wiped my plate clean. Thank you.
Want to come back next and have it again and again

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More than a Cable Car stop”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This restaurant continues to deliver with exceptional quality, satisfying Variety and reasonable upscale cost. The staff is carefully attentive and friendly. The Hyde Street Cable Car passes by on the way to Fisherman's Wharf but you should get off and not miss this gem. In fact it might be the best way to get to Luella's because parking in this residential multi-unit neighborhood is very difficult.

In our recent visit we liked Luella's over Scoma's (fabulous seafood) and the Boulevard (good food but, in our opinion, overpriced). Make your visit to San Francisco complete by taking the cable car to Luella's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Luella is a couple of blocks from our son's condo, but we didn't know much about it before we dined there. It has a terrific menu, a wine list that is more than adequate, knowledgeable waitstaff, a pleasant atmosphere, and terrific food. We were pleasant surprised at the high quality of our dining experience, and recommend it to others without qualification. Try it, you'll like it. Luella is trying hard to excel, and is succeeding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luella also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing