We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luella - CLOSED

Luella
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: The Hyde Street cable car stops right out front at Green Street.
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We went here for our last night in San Francisco. We had the set menu plus wine with each course which was USD 52 each. The food was superb, particularly the coca cola braised pork shoulder. The service and atmosphere was also excellent. The best meal of our US holiday to date.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank warringtonmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

excellent service, great ambiance and terrific food. Ravioli was to die for. Beef Wellington was great (a tad bit salty Yorkshire Pudding was good. Excellent wine selection. Check it out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Charm and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The restaurant is on a cable car street - charm no. 1.

The owner has a small child and misses her. It has a large and well-done photo arrangement of the child. Charm no. 2

The food was excellent; we had the prix fixe with wine pairings - $52.

The only problem: PARKING! Take a cab.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Njal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luella was fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Enjoyed everything - trip advisor was right on the money with this one. I had cola braised pork shoulder with white bean puree and my husband had deconstructed wellington with bone marrow butter which he is still raving about 2 days later. Highlight for us was the relaxed service even though we def. came an hour before closing...

Also - I had a fantastic wine from Spain but I can't recall the name. 2 enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“SHORT RIB LASAGNA!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

If you are searching for one of the best and creative lasagnas, try the fabulous short rib lasagna at Luella. Besides this entrée, you'll find the ambience captures that local Russian Hill neighborhood feel. Service is very good and the menu is equally creative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luella also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing