We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our laptops were stolen from our room”
Review of 325 Sutter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
325 Sutter Hotel
Ranked #148 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It is the worst experience I've had in a hotel in my life. I was on honeymoon and the Park Hotel in San Francisco was the hotel that I use for my last weekend in the United States after more than twenty days travel.
Everything went normally until coincidentally on the last night of my stay someone pulled my wife's laptop, which contained his wallet and jewelry engagement ring plus my work laptop. Not only these valuables were taken but also all our memories that are unrecoverable. Of course I lost all my two years’ work that my laptop contained.
But worst of all is not only the theft but how we were treated and the way they communicate with us after we told what happen. The receptionist did not care about us even though my wife was very scared he wanted us to wait until the next day, apparently this was normal for him, when asked to call the manager he said that he can’t because it was the weekend and he was resting, it is when we called the police. After that, we asked to speak to the manager the next day, but he never showed up and we only spoke on the phone and the first thing he said was that they will not pay for any of our losses, and the best they can do is not charging for accommodation.
I sent a letter with a formal complaint to the hotel a week ago and I got no response so far.
The name of the manager is Jordan K. Buckley; who definitely doesn’t know how to treat tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aldo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyNagel, Manager at 325 Sutter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Before anything else is said, I want to whole-heartedly, deeply, and sincerely apologize for this horrible situation. This is not a situation that our company takes lightly and it is very important to us that our guests have a good stay. Having said that, we have 24 hour on call security and cameras to keep the property as safe as possible. Also after hours the front door is locked and only the guests have the key. All these measures are made to makes our guests stay as safe as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 3 nights last week. The location is good as is jus 3 to 5min walk to union square & chinatown. The place is easy access to transportation to everywhere.
The room is clean & comfortable. The only thing i dont like is that our room is facing back of those restaurant & is really noisy until middle of the night! The walkaway has a weird smell but overall is really good

2  Thank AcuraMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel.Simple, clean a little bit noisy because very central but it's ok. You can simply go to union square, 20 min to the embarcadero, not so far from broadway and norh beach, near BART station. Staff is kind, our room was big, big window. We enjoy it and I vividly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vitalogyv .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

$95.50 for a room with a double and shared bath in the heart of the Wharf and Financial District. Compare that to a double room with private bath for about $250 on average in the same area. I don't know about you, but all I need is a clean and comfortable bed and clean facilities for a few hours to sleep. I want the rest of my time and money spent out of the room and enjoying the food and sites! Park Hotel served me well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

So close to getting off of the BART. Two extremely comfortable beds, my daughter and I enjoyed having our own. Had read the reviews and was worried about safety and noise. Front door had a key at night time. Front desk was very nice and super helpful. We had a room facing the street and kept the window open. For downtown, it was not bad at all. Would definitely book here again. We had a great stay. Two blocks from Chinatown, block from Starbucks, Walgreens every couple of streets and Market street was 3 blocks away, many bus routes ran on this. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Is worth it to have your own bathroom. Found that there was a kitchen down the hall. A stove, microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Park is a very clean old hotel, with few amenities. Depending on the room, it's relatively quiet in the winter, but if you need to keep the windows open, it can be noisy. Bathrooms are good, but need more towel racks, and there should be an outlet at the lavatory so one can dry hair or shave easily. The bed is comfortable, but the rooms can be cramped. I must say that the management is very understanding, and all the folks that we dealt with were very polite, and hospitable.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room on the south end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Location is great - Union SQ is around the block and close to bus and BART. Place was clean. But - had no charm - painted over it. Industrial grade carpet throughout. Front desk staff was friendly. Wi-Fi works so-so, depends where you are in your room. Just don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. No hard wire Internet connection.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Sutter may be noisy with street traffic, but may have best ventilation - tradeoff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AmrapDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#188 of 230 in San Francisco
532 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
421 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#150 of 230 in San Francisco
238 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 230 in San Francisco
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 325 Sutter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 325 Sutter Hotel

Address: 325 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4301
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 325 Sutter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your 325 Sutter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing