We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Knight to Remember”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #168 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a Knight to Remember”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Although they advertised that the rooms were recently redone it's not like they were all redone. Our room had a coat of paint and some minor upgrades - but they neglected to freshen up the toilet seat or paint any of the trim. Just seemed odd. One mattress was newer than the other so that's the one we picked to sleep on. We had room 23 - at top of stairs and it was quiet so that was nice. We had to make an emergency trip to SF for a family member and was happy to at least find a room during a busy week in SF.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    23
    23
    10
    20
See reviews for
14
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This motel was just where I wanted to stay in San Fran and, for this city, was a reasonable price. On check-in, I received excellent service and the manager even showed me to the room and explained how to operate the shower (which is not at all obvious). Car parking was easy.

The room was not large but it had all the amenities necessary (comfortable bed, comfy chairs, work area, good shower, fridge, coffee maker etc) and everyting worked well. The motel is right on a very busy street and I had the second floor room closest to the traffic but, with the windows closed, the noise did not disturb me in any way.

If you are looking for modest accommodation in the area of the Presidio this is definitely worth booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room is totally inadequate. It is tiny, dirty, mold on shower curtain, infrequent air conditioning. Parking and front office staff fine and friendly. Would NOT recommend this hotel on any level. Previous reviews (upon which our stay was predicated) very misleading. Very noisy with windows open (because of infrequent air conditioning). Room temperature daily @ 74 degrees, while set at 60!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

auntieroz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We often stay in the Chestnut Street area and have tried many(5) of the small motels. The family that runs the Knights Inn are especially nice and helpful. The AC works, so that the window can be closed at night as Knights Inn is on a busy street. This makes the room quieter than most. Also, the situation of the Inn on the street means that there are fewer hangers about. The décor is OK as are the bathroom and towels, perhaps a little better than others in the area and same price range. Location is excellent, within walking distance to restaurants and shops. There is plenty of free parking and our room had a fridge and microwave. Out of the inexpensive places in the area in which we have stayed, this is the one to which I would return.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main section rather than over the carports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljeannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The Knights Inn is clean, not expensive and well located. Among the pros : free parking, bath, kitchen....

It was a very good surprise and the owner was also really nice. He gave us useful insights on the city, buses.... I'll come back for sure and would recommend it to everyone

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I recently found myself in a very bad hotel experience in this area. I called ahead at another motel because I would not be checking in until late. When arrived no one was there to open the door. We found ourselves at Knights Inn and luckily the owner opened the door for us despite having no reservation with him and finding us a room in the middle of the night. He gave us a discounted rate and brought us to our room.

The room was a nice size, two beds, a small bathroom and a microwave and a mini fridge. We were very happy with our night. We decided to stay at another motel the next night, but I was very pleased with how we were treated by the owner at Knights Inn. It was definitely a budget motel but the room was clean and kept up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed here twice. Once with my boyfriend and once with my family. Both times have gone with out any problems. The guy in the front was very nice the first time, it was easy to check in, free parking, free wifi and a good view of the bridge. Its nothing fancy but its clean and has all you need. Second time i went the guy actually remembered me and was super nice and helpful. Love this place, again nothing fancy but i really like it because its everything you need for a great price. I plan to stay here again next month :)

Room Tip: park on the slots facing the street its a lot easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy_meraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#173 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the M...
#160 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#91 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 1 Richardson Ave, San Francisco, CA 94123-2413 (Formerly Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Presidio Hotel San Francisco
Economy Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing