We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed mid October. Stayed in a executive premiere corner room on upper floor. Great views, Nice rooms. Perfect location and close to Moscone Convention Center.
Only surprise was no Iron in the rooms. Butler service was available, but if you are in a rush, and just need to get wrinkles out, it could be viewed as inconvienent. Only negative.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPDDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    250
    91
    43
    25
See reviews for
197
422
79
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

I return again and again because of all of the modern amenities this hotel offers. I is well designed with a sleek bar, excellent service, a nice gym and spa, clean minimal rooms with flat screen TVs and everything operates off of a remote, including the drapes, lighting, and temperature. Even the elevators are nicely appointed. I stay for business and find there is ample room at the desk to accomodate my papers, computer, etc. I enjoy every stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed in one of the Astor suites. Great butler service (used to press some shirts, for afternoon tea). Great views of downtown. Nice suite although on the smaller side for a "suite" (you just get the extra living room). Breakfast for plat. spg members is pretty good but there is better breakfast at the Westin Exec. lounges. Overall great stay, would recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M30001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a short getaway. On the surface, it's a nicer hotel than the 4S around the corner. Newer, well designed. Very convenient with its small, cozy check-in and concierge area right inside the door. And even though the 4S could use some sprucing up, I found myself we had booked their instead. That said, it's a very nice hotel and one of the better St Regis hotels I've stayed. I personally like the location. Short walk to Union Square. Ferry Bldg close by. SFMOMA. If you're driving, it's a bit tricky. And if you miss the street, it's kind of a pain to get back. Concierge was very friendly but if you're a hardcore food geek, you might want to rely on your own recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevendilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I love this place..it combines cool and elegance so effortlessly. Its understated but very high end finishing everywhere in the hotel.

The gym was one of my favourites partly because of the lay out separating the cardio area from the quieter weights area. Also plenty of fresh fruit stocked several times daily and other touches around the hotel really gave us the feel of a home away from home.

The rooms were so light and airy and hi-comfort that you might forget that you actually should leave the room at some point to go do some sight seeing.

We were curious about the Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental so we walked there to have a look around but found they do not compare to the very clean and modern refurb of the St Regis.

My only gripe- the pool (which is open 24 hours) was always filled with screaming (badly behaved) kids..partly because there was no staff on duty here to control the noise. Several times we put our robes on and decided to go back to the room because of this and during our 5 nights stay only used the pool once. I would also expect this standard of hotel to use ozone filtering rather than chlorine but I guess with that many kids using it you need the extra chlorine.

And noisy housekeeping was an issue for us...

Room Tip: We loved the Metropolitan suite the most but the standard rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grinchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

The platinum spg member upgraded room was nice. They have very good service and the employees did a great job. The hotel is in a nice location for a convention. The room was loud with street noise, guess just part of the deal in San Francisco.

Room Tip: High as possible to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
269 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

It is what I would expect of a St Regis hotel and this was no different. The room was of a very good size and the quality of the facilities also quite good. However, I do have some recommendations to warn you about if you are staying at this property.
1. If when you check be sure to ask which side of the buiding you are on. If you are on the Mission side the amount of noise which bounces off this highrise and the building across the street is loud and constant and it feels as if your window was left open.
2. We were in room 709 and again ask where your room is and avoid any room ending in 09 because that is where the service elevator is and where all the staff come in and out for any flor service including butlers. The service door from that elevator was adjacent to our door and the constant opening and closing and slamming of the door never stopped. I called downstairs to ask that at least have the staff softly close the door when going in and out. They did but the talking and trays and noise still made it sound as if my door was wide open to the hallway.
Other than that it was a nice room and good hotel.

Room Tip: avoid any room ending in 09 or on mission street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing