We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I would highly recommend the St Regis in San Francisco! The location is great...close to many good restaurants and bars, although the bar at the hotel can't be beat! The service is wonderful as are the rooms. Good views!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 11DMD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    264
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
210
444
81
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC, Beirut
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our second visit to the St. Regis. Its a very nice property. Elegant Lobby and the Rooms are very nice. Great Bathrooms with a separate shower and tub. We were upgraded to a Metropolitan Suite which are about 1000 sq feet. Bigger than our first apartment :). The property is very convenient if you are attending an event at the Moscone Center. Its very close to Union Square and all the shops. Also the restaurant Ame is very good.

My only complaint would be Vitrine, the restaurant on the 4th floor for Breakfast and Lunch. The service was not great. We had to ask 3 times for an empty plate.

I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review of your recent visit to The St. Regis San Francisco. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Lobby décor, guestrooms amenities, and dinner in Ame restaurant. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your overall experience, and please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss the details of your stay or a future visit with us.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here recently in a Grand Deluxe room and was very impressed - comfortable bed, pleasant staff and a nice ambience everywhere. The touch screen controls for the lighting and curtains was a bit gimmicky but it did work. Parking was valet only and expensive but this is pretty normal for San Francisco!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed our guestroom amenities, décor, and hotel staff. We hope to welcome you back to the “Best Address” soon.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma CA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Generally, I like the St. Regis hotels although they are pretty pricy. This one is no exception. The ambience is lovely. The rooms spacious and the service excellent.
We booked just one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were upgrade to an amazing suite with a full living room and even a dinning table. The suite would have had great views if it was not for the construction site next to the hotel which is part of redoing the Modern Museum. But the noise from the construction of unbearable. I had to ask for a downgrade on the other side of the hotel. There room was much smaller but it was quiet. What I can't imagine is that they actually sell the suite and for about $1,200 a night. Hotel's should let you know in advance about this kind of thing. They are of course not responsible for the noise but they are responsible for informing their customers in my opinion.
Everything is very expensive but I knew that going it. But I do expect quality for that. The breakfast was really disappointing for instance.
Bottom line, I would go back but will be more careful about making sure I get a quiet room.

Room Tip: Get on the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed here many times. The beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms have a separate bathtub and shower. I have also stayed in some of the suites which are lovely. I like the 10 series deluxe rooms because I don't like the bathtub that opens to the bedroom with the shuttered enclosure. The 10 series also has a separate dressing table area.
The bar is gorgeous and a hopping place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you won't hear the noise from construction of the museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveledfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy our guestroom décor, amenities, and the atmosphere of our Lobby Lounge. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay, as we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I booked a Premier Corner Room at the St Regis San Francisco, having stayed here before a few times before. I managed to negotiate a special pre-paid rate with the reservations manager. Unfortunately, the hotel over-charged to my credit card by a significant amount and did not even realize it until I raised it with the revenue management supervisor! Hence, there was the hassle of having to credit back the amount to my credit card. That took a while to sort out.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was allocated a room that was NOT the Premier (Corner) Room, but one category lower! I did not even realize this until I checked on the hotel website and verified with the front desk receptionist. No apology was given and all that was communicated to me was that there was a mistake and misunderstanding on their part.

This is supposed to be a professionally run and managed hotel and its the St Regis for goodness sake! I was quite shocked and very disappointed with the entire series of mishaps and errors. After having stayed in this hotel twice before, I doubt that I will ever return again. The errors made leave a very bad "after taste", and I would caution anyone who is looking for a high end hotel to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with The St. Regis San Francisco. I sincerely apologize for the payment problems prior to arrival and the miscommunication with your guest room upon check-in at the Front Desk. While we did adjust your folio to reflect the lower room category, I understand that you were looking forward to the Executive Premier room and were not alerted to the change. I hope that you will allow me to continue this conversation with you directly, so that we may further discuss the details of your stay.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The St. Regis is a beautiful Hotel. It is well located, hip, clean, without being pretentious. It is exactly what you would expect for the price. The service was excellent, best described as attentive but not smothering. We did not have a drink at the bar in the lobby but it was busy and looked appealing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeldalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,066 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 229 in San Francisco
1,576 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
1,203 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing