We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here but attended a dinner in the restaurant . The service was good , the food delightful and overall the restaurant catered for 70 people really well. It would be great to go back in a smaller group but this was a good experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    259
    91
    42
    24
See reviews for
203
432
81
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nv
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent two nights at the St. Regis, and with only one exception, we had a wonderful time. The hotel service and employees were all wonderful. The suite we stayed in on the 16th floor was very modern, comfortable, with up to date technology and a fantastic view. Loved the bar and especially the fresh floral arrangements and art.
We did not hear any construction at the SFMOMA next door, but we were there the weekend after Thanksgiving.
The only hitch was during our breakfast at the restaurant, Vitrine. Only 3 of the four breakfasts came at the same time. The fourth was delayed for some reason. Thinking it would arrive anytime, the three of us were uncomfortable eating in front of our friend, so we waited. By the time we realized this was going to be a long wait and started eating, we had a cold breakfasts. We had to flag down a server to point out the missing breakfast. His breakfast was comped, which was great, but we paid for our cold meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renodecor8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am delighted that you had an exceptional stay with us, and appreciate your kind words about our staff, décor, and in-room amenities. I regret to hear about your experience in Vitrine and apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the delay in service. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that we may discuss the details of your stay.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in one double room and our teenage children stayed in another twin bed room on the same floor. Both rooms were gorgeous and very luxurious. The beds were extremely comfortable and they had big flat screen tvs on the walls in both the bedrooms and a smaller version in each of the bathrooms! This hotel is beautiful and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is within easy walking distance of all of the main attractions of San Fran including the shopping centre, Union Square, Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf and the cable cars. The gym and pool are spotless, fully equipped and open 24 hours a day. As the breakfast menu was pretty expensive, we tended to grab our complimentary coffees every morning from the restaurant and head out to one of the many cafes nearby to eat. Overall this is a very luxurious and classy (if pricey!) hotel that I would thoroughly recommend if you fancy splashing out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us at the hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our service, amenities, & décor and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to your next trip to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving holiday in SF and stayed at the St. Regis. The lobby bar, room and overall feel of the hotel was nice. We enjoyed the gym and the pool. We ate breakfast at Vitrine and the service was fantastic. There is a hotel service car (Bentley) which is available for guests for complimentary rides within 2 miles of the hotel, however, each time we requested a ride it wasn't available. That was a bummer.

The only short falls we experienced during our stay were 1) there is no jacuzzi at the pool. we love to sit in the jacuuzi after swimming to warm up. 2) I waited more than 15 minutes to check-out. There were only 2 front desk staff and they were dealing with "problem" guests which meant I had to stand there and wait the entire time. Concierge desk is right there but they couldn't help me. You would think after seeing me stand there for 15 minutes all by myself waiting to check-out someone would make an attempt to help but it didn't happen. It was totally unacceptable for this level hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizuwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful holiday weekend at our hotel and enjoyed the décor and amenities. I sincerely apologize for the extended delay upon check-out and will address this concern with our Front Desk staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me, as we hope to welcome you back to the Best Address in the near future.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived with our two sons and the staff were incredibly kind to the boys upon checking into our room the bell hop ran and gathered cute bags filled with goodies for our boys always greeting us as we came and left by name!! Definitely will return being a 5 star hotel they far exceeded our expectations!!! The indoor pool is great too!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisajb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am pleased that you and your family had a delightful stay over the holiday, and enjoyed our St. Regis Family Traditions amenities. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our infinity edge pool during your visit. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south florida
Level Contributor
525 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just a one nighter this time around but WOW....they really take care of you. Upgraded us to a corner suite and it was just beautiful. Clean rooms and beautifully appointed. The staff was very professional and helped us out with anything we needed. Great location and beautiful views from the higher floors of this beautiful hotel. Now the kicker......the hotel has a Bentley for your use if it's free. We used it several times and it was awesome!!

Room Tip: beautiful house car for your use!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our amenities and staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit as we hope to welcome you back to Best Address in the near future.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We loved the St Regis. It is in a very convenient location, with super nice and professional staff, and great rooms- especially the bathrooms- as you would expect from a St. Regis. We checked in really early, which was appreciated, as they were obviously really busy that morning. We loved the bed control for the blackout shades and lighting. I did not like how there is not nightstands on both sides of the beds (we stayed in a double room). Our room overlooked the MOMA construction, which they warned us about, but it did not bother us at all. However, we stayed over a weekend; I'm sure it's annoying when it starts up during the week.
We brought our young son, and upon checkin they give him a goodie bag with a coloring and sticker book and a stuffed bear. He loved that. He also enjoyed using the pool, which is definitely a plus for traveling with a young child.
Overall it was a fantastic stay and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience at the hotel and particularly enjoyed the room décor and infinity pool. We appreciate your kind words, and hope to welcome you back to the best address in the near future.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Starwood, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing