We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints, but good be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No complaints, but good be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I don't consider myself a demanding hotel guest, so when things aren't perfect for me, I have to dock a star.

The good:

- Fantastic rooms -- modern and comfortable
- Great check-in experience (upgraded a couple room classes after inquiring, thanks to SPG Gold/Amex Platinum)
- Good location

The bad:
- When I ordered room service breakfast one morning, I was told it would arrive by 10:15am. By 10:25, it still wasn't there and I had to cancel as I was meeting friends
- I attempted to reach the front desk multiple times one night (letting the phone ring for 15-30 seconds each time) to arrange for a wake-up call and nobody answered at all. This is probably the biggest pet peeve of mine at *any* hotel (see my review of the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York) -- I absolutely hate when multiple calls to the front desk go unanswered
- No chocolate for turndown service (Okay, this is a pretty minor gripe. #firstworldproblems, I know)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    255
    91
    43
    24
See reviews for
202
423
80
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this elegant hotel for three nights and it was wonderful. We had two adjoining rooms which suited our needs perfectly. The Metropolitan Suite was posh and the deluxe room was great for the kids. We enjoyed the pool. Overall service in the hotel was polished and exemplary. It was perfection. There is construction going on nearby to the hotel but in no way detracted from the experience of staying at this elegant hotel.St. Regis Hotel San Francisco is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share you review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your kind words about our service and staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

An oasis of peace and attention to detail in a perfect location.
Rooms are perfectly put together. Loved the quietness and service.
Just make sure you don't get a room close to or facing the Museum of Modern Art since it's next door and under construction until 2014.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRbyNataly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay and appreciate your kind words regarding our Concierge team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEL AVIV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had amazing time .Its starts at the reception - very helpful and we got an upgrade as well. The concierge - very professional - they fix us the booking in Napa valley and all the dinners in SF as well.
Price - not chip but worth every dollar. I strongly recommend this hotel.Y

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YHZTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit at our hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Despite not being impressed with the exterior (Being spoiled by the St. Regis in New York City), the rest of my experience at this hotel could only be described as impeccable. I was there for a two day business meeting. My experience with the room, the meals and the meeting facilities were top notch. The room was extremely luxurious and the maid/Butler service was quite amazing in terms of their attention to detail and thoroughness. Highly recommended!

Green Features: Consistent with what I have seen with other hotels, nothing extraordinary though.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share you review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am pleased to hear that you had an exceptional stay during your recent business trip. We appreciate your comments regarding the room décor, amenities, and service, and hope to welcome you back the best address in near future.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

You definitely get what you pay for at St. Regis. The higher cost of the rooms compared to other SF hotels is notable but the level of quality, amenities, and service is impeccable. Large rooms with very large bathrooms -- walk in shower and full sized soaking tub. Full lighting and shade remote controls from the incredibly comfortable beds. Tranquility and peace in the rooms and hallways -- I never heard anyone else outside my room once in the room. Not a single complaint or issue with the hotel. Five stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

What's not to like about this understated but sophisticated, modern, world class hotel in SF? Great personal service. Great room amenities. Best, most intuitive,easy to use, bedside room controller I have ever used. My only complaint is that there is a bright blue led clock on the bedside controller which I could not find a way to dim. Probably my bad. In the end I dimmed it the old fashion way by throwing a pillow over it. I was on a high floor over the front of the hotel. The room was quiet and well insulated. That said I was still woken up once by some very loud noise outside the hotel. This is downtown SF. I don't think there is anyway to escape that. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likequietLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our guestroom décor, amenities, and service. I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the bedside light and appreciate your understanding of the city traffic noise. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,907 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#28 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing