We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #8 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Great weekend stay with the family. Fantastic pool, super restaurant and excellent room. No complaints

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    262
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
207
442
81
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leixlip, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The St Regis is my favourite hotel in San Francisco. The Rooms where 100% perfect and spotless. The staff were exceptionally helpful providing great information on car rental and restaurants. As we were attending a conference in the local conventions centre, this hotel was well placed for the 4 minute walk to the centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quirdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The St. Regis San Francisco is a fabulous hotel. It has absolutely everything you could want. It has elegant decor, attentive service (excluding final check-out), great food, a spacious swimming pool, gorgeous rooms, a central location, and a tranquil atmosphere. The claims made in previous reviews about a poor location are false. The hotel is only half a block from the SFMOMA, across the street from the Yerba Buena Gardens, a fifteen minute walk to
The Embarcadero and the Ferry Building, and a five minute walk to Union Square Shopping.
The claims of street-noise are also mostly false. The only noise we could hear was the sound emergency sirens, which we only heard during the day.
Our first room was absolutely amazing. It was very spacious and well laid-out. It was very tastefully decorated in a scheme of creme, pale green, light blue, and light brown with chrome and wood accents. The beds were extremely comfortable and the art in the room was quite nice. The televisions were great and had many channels. The bathroom was ideal. It was enormous and had a large soaker bath, a stone tiled shower stall, and a separate lavatory. The vanity was very large with a nice sink and elegant fixtures. One of the other great features of the bathroom were the doors in front of the bathtub. They were nice because you could see out of the windows from the bath. From our room on the sixteenth floor, the view was very panoramic. We could see the Yerba Buena Gardens, the Bay Bridge, and many of the surrounding hills (as long as it is not incredibly foggy).
The service was also amazing. Almost every single experience we had with the staff was great. The housekeeping staff is fabulous and the butlers were great. Though, the some greatest of all the staff were the Concierges. They were all amazing. The greatest were Caroline and Mariah. They were extremely helpful. Caroline booked tour reservations for us to go to Sausalito, the Muir Woods, and Wine Country. None of their dinner recommendations disappointed. They always sent confirmations of our bookings to our room and also gave us walking directions to all the restaurants.
The pool at the St. Regis San Francisco is also great. It is very large and the space is very light, airy, and elegant.
The food at the hotel was also phenomenal. We ordered from private-dining several times and both the quality of the food and the service were consistently fabulous.
The only complaint was about the mysterious 21% "Service Charge" that was automatically added to each cheque. (We enquired about the charge over check-out and the employee at the desk rudely replied that "It is generally customary at four or five star hotels". If that is so, why have we not experienced a similar charge at the many other five star hotels we have stayed at!?!
Other than the latter experience, I would highly recommend the St. Regis San Francisco to anyone looking for an amazing San Francisco luxury hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed here over the weekend and my fiance and I were pretty disappointed. This is suppose to be a SPG Cat 6?! As a SPG Platinum member, I felt no sense of having status. Wasn't upgraded, but given top floor in 'deluxe room'. I asked about an upgrade, but they said this was it. I kinda doubt it because there were suites available. As for the platinum gift, and there was none. After, the person checked me in didn't give me any info on the property and I had to over-hear it from another guest checking in. This hotel is noisy! I could hear ppl partying on the streets below, while being on the top floor!

One thing, I don't like about this property is the stuck up ness of the check in staff. I think they prefer checking in ppl in suits and ties. After I mentioned that I was platinum, she was like oh you're platinum. The one thing I do like is calling the 'Butler' which is just like calling 'Guest Services'. haha.

The room is nice, but nothing that wows me. Oh and I got asked by the maid twice what time we're checking out. I said 4 PM, and they came back at 3:30 PM to ask the same question. Also, the concierge has no clue about what they are talking about. Being a local, I knew the stuff better than them.

I'm not sure I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albutt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Lovely rooms, chic contemporary design with push button lighting and blind controls. Bathrooms are the bomb with Remede amenities, though no mouthwash. No Platinum SPG amenity delivered to room. When I called and asked if they deliver one, they said depending on occupancy they'll take the time to bring some "sweets" to the room, but with high occupancy they do not. Requested a wine bucket, ice and four glasses. 25 minutes later as I was fuming, having called two more times for a total of three calls, it arrived. No suite upgrade for Platinum SPG. They claimed they did not have any Astor suites available, so I fired up the laptop and told them they might want to take a look at the online website. They upgraded us to a corner room, but not without some major verbage on my part and only on the second day of our stay. Let's be frank, if you have Platinum SPG guests it's probably not going to create a good image of the management of this hotel for the front desk employees to get caught lying about whether or not upgraded rooms are available. No Club floor. For those who think this hotel is the "best" in San Fran, I suggest they try out a competitor a block away or the two well known hotels on Nob Hill that do have Club Floors. The style is different on Nob Hill but no comparison in service.
We had friends come in to pick us up so they could see the room. Oops, first 30 minutes at the St Regis is a mere $10! The valet had been told they would be up and back down, but yet they did not leave the car up, even though they weren't busy. Down it went into the garage and we waited for 20 minutes while they retrieved the damn thing. I finally had a come to Jesus meeting with one of the guys and the car magically appeared. Overnight parking is a veritable bargain at $50. And if you're silly enough to use the hotel laundry service then you deserve the surprise you'll get with those charges. We dropped a pair of pants at a nearby cleaners for same day service with a wine spot from lunch rather than auctioning off our first born to pay for "rush" laundry with the hotel.
AME is a fine restaurant. I'm not sure where the Michelin star fits in, but it's quite good and as pricey as any of the high end restaurants it competes against, but not overly so. Breakfast on the other hand looks to be outrageously priced. No buffet, and the room service prices will really get your attention.
The gym is somewhat small and the weight equipment is packed in. Plenty of good cardio equipment and an attendant during daytime hours with cold water, towels and fruit. We've been in larger more spacious gyms, but there's nothing wrong with this.
No iron or ironing board in the rooms. You have to call the Butler or Front desk. Each time we called, regardless of the reason or occasion the phone rang off the hook before being answered. Lord knows why, but in a hotel that wants to charge $350 and up per night, at least staff the phones appropriately. Once we got through the iron was delivered within 5 minutes, but no ironing board, but she quickly retrieved it and brought that once she realized we wanted an ironing board also.
Acceptable flat screen tv plus one in the bathroom, which is really a very nice upscale touch, with a very good assortment of channels to select from. Also the robes and towels are excellent as one would expect in a 5 star hotel. Tub and shower.
Location is next to SF Museum of Modern Art, other than that, if you don't have reason to be south of Market, the location won't do much for you. Thankfully, San Francisco is compact so most places in the city are within a short cab ride.
Of the 5 star hotels I have stayed, this has the bones, but clearly I thought the service did not justify their pricing. If one has never experienced a hotel of this caliber I guess you could get all googly eyed at the glamour, the design, the lovely lobby/bar and the HOPPING bar scene on weekends with 20 and 30 year olds cocktailing until the wee hours, but it was lacking to us. Maybe the fact that we weren't even acknowledged as Platinum guests when checking in, no Platinum amenity, having to argue with the front desk or whether there were upgraded rooms, just left a weird feeling.
We would not stay again unless it were in the low $200's. It doesn't merit anymore in our opinion. Now if we were on an expense account and could care less what our boss thought, then maybe we'd do it, but I'd sooner blow the corporate card on the 5 star a block away or up on Nob Hill. Those are far more of a value than the St Regis.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is an amazing hotel and the best hotel I have ever stayed in while in San Fran, maybe the best hotel ever! The staff is very attentive and the rooms are gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazie164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

I love this hotel. Great style, amazing concierges (they even tolerated my switching restaurants twice!). Good gym.. my only, and really it's more of a winge than a proper complaint, is that there isn't free/normal price overnight laundry/Drycleaning like at the four seasons - a necessity for a road warrior like me. However, compared to the dreary Four Seasons (which is from the stone ages apparently - this hotel is fantastic. Highly Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxdxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 229 in San Francisco
1,559 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,015 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
1,163 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,176 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing