We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY AND CLEAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY AND CLEAN”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel in a good location . Very clean and tidy , the staff are friendly and helpful . With in walking distance ( couple of blocks ) to Union square and next to the china town gates and the price was good also

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the very kind review. I am very pleased to read the hotel and location has met your criteria. I am very fortunate to work in a Hotel located in such a great part of an amazing city. To top it off, I could not ask for a better team to work with. Everyone here is enthusiastic towards hospitality and we strive to make all of our guests welcome and comfortable. We hope to see you again in future.
Best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Off ice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    464
    98
    27
    17
See reviews for
294
594
102
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was a very pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Our room was very clean, quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The location was great, within walking distance to downtown and Union Square. Cable cars were only 2 blocks away. We also enjoyed the rooftop garden. A comfortable chair in the room would have been an improvement-only a desk chair was provided. Internet service was adequate, but slow.

Green Features: Caring for the environment is critically important in this day and age. The hotel should be commended for this and is setting a good example for other businesses.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we truly value your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed the location as well as the rooftop terrace. I am always surprised how calm it is up there despite being so close to Downtown and Union Square.
I am sorry the wi-fi was slow; I realize how important a strong internet connection is when you’re traveling for business. We have recently added more routers; clearly we will have to reevaluate our setup. We also offer Ethernet cables so guests can plug in rather than rely on wi-fi.
Due to some of the rooms not having as much floor space as others, not all the rooms have additional seating. If you ever choose to stay with us again, and I hope you do, please feel free to contact me and I can do my best to make you get a room with a extra chair or a sofa.

All the best
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Couple from Australia in San Fran for 4 days. Never been to the USA before. Wanted something local, accessible and affordable. Certainly delivered. King room, super comfortable bed, Hassle free check in and friendly staff. Close to most attractions and most in walking distance. Very happy and would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty9861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We thrilled you chose to stay with us, we are honored to have been part of your for your first USA experience. I hope you had enough time to see everything on the to-do list while you were here. I am pleased to read the Hotel property met your criteria. I think the location is amazing, because it is very central but still quiet enough for resting and power naps in between sightseeing excursions. We look forward to your second trip to San Francisco.
Cheers,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A wonderful hotel...with warm and attentive staff. The rooms were exceptionally clean and modern....we couldn't have asked for a better experience or a better location. The Orchard is within walking distance to downtown San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for spending time with us during your Thanksgiving getaway. All of us here strive to make every guests experience exceptional, I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to sharing your review with the rest of the team. Hopefully we see you again soon.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

No negatives to report. I was in room 403 facing the back,no view, but quiet, which I had asked for. Everyone was pleasant. The bed was very comfortable. I appreciate the hotel is 'green' conscious. You could hear some muffled sound on occasion from adjoining room but not bothersome. It's a nice clean hotel, easy walk to Union Square and city transit. Will stay here again when I return next year to see my cousin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind review and commending us on our efforts to be an eco-conscious Hotel. I am pleased to read that the comfort and quietness of our property met your standards. It sounds like you enjoyed San Francisco, it is nice to have a family member or friend to play tour guide to lead you to some of the less popular places but equally great destinations. We look forward to your next trip out for the small family reunion.
Best,
Quinn McEntee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Made my reservation thru Hotels.com. Upon checking in, the clerk confirms the reservation was for one night. I told her that is was incorrect. She began to give me attitude and told me to take it up with Expedia (who owns Hotels.com) I provided her with the internet confirmation showing the correct dates. She was not persuaded to change. However, her manager or concierge (really don't know what he was) had heard the exchanges between the clerk and me and swiftly took over the checking in, corrected the dates on their computer and essentially fixed it. We got our room keys and off we went. From that moment on, the hotel staff (other than the check-in clerk) went far and above. We got great suggestions for restaurants. I had a problem with the safe in my room, within 5 minutes, the IT guy was there took care of it. I sleep late in the mornings so I placed the do not disturb sign on the door. About noon, housekeeping called and left a message to see If I needed or wanted service. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. It is on Powell and central to everything. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in #210 so it did not face Powell and the cable cars.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is LEED certified ((Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification for an existing building by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdxmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Although I am very pleased to read that your stay concluded on a positive note, I am so sorry for the inconvenience during the introduction. I will use your feedback as training material to avoid similar occurrences in the future, and to ensure this scenario does not happen again. Fortunately it was remedied swiftly and you were able to enjoy your vacation. I am equally happy to read we were able to get pointed in the right direction to some good eats. One of the nicest factors of the location is all the delightful cuisines to choose from.
Please feel free to contact me the next time you visit San Francisco. I would be more than happy to personally take care of your future reservations to minimize any confusion.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
415-659-0343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It isn't fun to be away from home on Thanksgiving but if you must, this hotel will help you remember that there are many things to be grateful for: 1) Friendly folks 2) A clean environment 3) quite comfort 4) and a hot shower! I will be happy to return to this hotel ANY day of the year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
This is such a kind review, thank you so much. You are correct; it is not fun to be away from home during the holidays, but I am pleased to read you found comfort here with us. Your list of criteria for a pleasant stay is spot on; thankfully we were able to provide the necessities of a comfortable stay. We are grateful for amazing guests such as yourself and you are welcome here any time of year.

Until then, Happy Holidays
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,196 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
439 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Property: Orchard Garden Hotel
Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing