We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with the Orchard Garden during our 5-day vacation in San Francisco with our family. Beds were wonderful as advertised, and rooms (we had 3) we're immaculate. Rooms were a little small, but not unusual for SF. No view except for City View room, but I knew that from reviews so was prepared.
Very personable, helpful staff; good location. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for selecting the Orchard Garden Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent 5-day vacation here in San Francisco. We are so happy to hear you loved our beds; we have to admit they are pretty comfy! Aside from the location, we would say our staff is what makes this hotel so special. They are caring and always ready to help a guest in any way. Appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to having you to stay with us again on our next trip to this fabulous city.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hubby and I stayed in this hotel for two nights to celebrate our Anniversary. First of all, this place is so close to everything. The gate to SF's Chinatown is a block a way. Starbucks is on the next corner. Union Square is within walking distance. Though it is in a very busy location, it was amazingly restful. When you walk in, you are greeted by either Ricky or Phil, who were both very helpful! The lobby music was a very nice choice...classical. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel provides bathrobes, hairdryer, safe, mini bar, coffeemaker, ipod charger, DVD player, etc. The icing... a box of chocolates and a card congratulating us on our Anniversary!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Congratulations on your Anniversary! We want to express our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. We can’t hope but agree with you on our location. You will find shops, restaurants, sightseeing and transportation…..they are just round the corner from our hotel. We are so happy we were able to make your special occasion even more memorable: and you also felt the room and facilities lived up to your expectation. Thank you for kind words about our staffs, will share your feedback with them especially to Ricky and Phil, our Concierge/Doorman. We also appreciate very much of your recognition on our efforts as an eco-conscious hotel. Once again, thank you for choosing us for your celebration. Hope to see you come back on your next Anniversary.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The best thing about this hotel is location. You can easily walk to main attractions, or take the cable car for a tour of the city. it's clean, staff is nice, and it also has an on-site restaurant, serving a great breakfast (have not tried lunch or dinner). I had a quiet room (however those overlooking the street can be noisy). I'd recommend the hotel for it's value. Plus it's a green hotel, which is great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nisteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit. I am very pleased to read you got to join us for breakfast before taking on the The City and touring the sites. It is nice to see the attractions at your own leisure and really take it all in.
Thank you for commending us on our efforts to be an eco-conscious hotel. We are currently in the process of re-certifying with LEED, Green Seal and Green Biz. Even with the higher standards, we are confident we will pass and maybe with a higher ranking.
We hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location, very clean and good value for money. Rooms are ordinary, nothing special. Thumbs up for flatiron and safe. Very helpful staff - especially Phil the bellman. Would definetly book a room here next time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegian-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for the stellar review. We value your feedback and I truly appreciate your comments regarding our team. All of us here, from the front of the house to the back, enjoy the opportunity to enhance everyone’s visit. Our concierge Phil joined our team late last year and has been a real asset to our organization. I look forward to sharing your kind words with him and each person here. We look forward to your next trip to San Francisco.

Regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Where do I begin, I was travelling solo to SF for a long weekend and stayed at the Orchard Garden. Absolutely perfect. Location was perfect, the room was quiet, clean and the décor was soothing. The Front Desk and Doorman were polite, helpful, warm and friendly. Traveling alone, I felt extremely safe and well cared for.

The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to so many sites and restaurants and very close to all that is necessary for some serious retail therapy.

I did not use the restaurant in the lobby but in a large city I usually don't use a Hotel restaurant I like to get out and experience as much of the local restaurants as time permits.

The Orchard Garden Hotel will now be my go to place in SF. I loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

All of us here are delighted to read that your visit was a perfect experience. I feel very fortunate to work with such an enthusiastic team. The Housekeeping department works thoroughly to ensure rooms are spic-n-span and up to par with our guests standards. The Front Office crew truly enjoys sharing recommendations and pointing guests in the right direction.
I could not agree more regarding the location. There is so much to do right outside the front door in a safe environment. Many of The City’s best restaurants are within walking distance, including Tadich Grill (one of the oldest restaurants here) and their die for bowl of Seafood Cioppino. All around Union Square you can find designer brands and boutiques for your retail needs.
We look forward to your trip to San Francisco.
Best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A small boutique hotel, the Orchard Garden is thoughtfully planned, aesthetically pleasing (lovely wrought-iron accents and other lovely touches in the public areas), and comfortable. While our room was on the second floor facing busy Bush St., the windows were well insulated and we hardly even noticed the sounds of the traffic outside. The room was large and commodious, with good climate control and a spacious bathroom. The desk offered a fairly large work area, though we would have appreciated more outlets for charging our various devices. The fitness room was pretty dinky; to get more options, one had to buy a $15 day pass to one of the local sports clubs, which seemed a bit pricey. Nice restaurant and bar, friendly and helpful staff.As many have pointed out, the location is excellent for all sorts of activities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to relish some quite time despite being on a low floor. The double pane windows do an excellent job of keeping noise pollution out. They also help keep the warmth of the daytime sun in, to minimize the energy usage of the heater at night. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future.
Cheers,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is ok.
I agree with "Supernova Survivor": "... The least they could do is include a nice breakfast in the price." Even any of the paid breakfasts are very frugal, just like the rest of the hotel. You will want to have breakfast elsewhere
Clean,central, but nothing special to reccommend..Not even a nice, friendly lobby A hotel you will soon forget after having been there.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank susanaSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and sharing your experience. Even though your visit was less than satisfactory, I hope you enjoyed San Francisco.
As you mentioned the central location is excellent for exploring and trying all the delicacies The City has to offer. I particularly like to walk through Chinatown and pick Dim Sum. At the other end of Chinatown is North Beach, also known Little Italy, where you can carb up with fresh pasta before you continue your walk to Fisherman’s Wharf. Needless to say the seasonal Dungeness crab and the Bread Bowl Clam Chowder are delightful, especially with waterfront seating and a view of the bay.
Keep us in mind the next time you venture out to San Francisco. We would be thrilled to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,856 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
2,145 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £156 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing