We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All positive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed for 3 nights and found it a great base, with friendly and helpful staff, without exception. Mine was a large room in a quiet zone, very clean and comfortable with quality bedlinen and towels. Has an eco friendly policy and practice. Breakfast extra but very good vegetarian option, served in a relaxing space. I was travelling solo, and felt safe here. Can't fault it!
Also - roof garden!

Room Tip: I requested a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deppj046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us; and that you liked our spacious, clean and quiet room. Very pleased to hear that the staff here has made such a good impression and was part of those positive experiences. Glad that you have tried the roof top garden and the Roots restaurant; and you loved the foods and services. Thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We've been regularly coming to The City for 20 years and have stayed at a range of places--from the huge Union Square big-name hotels of a couple of the other boutique places in the same area. The Orchard Garden beats them all. From our first encounter with the incredibly pleasant and efficient front desk rep (sorry I didn't get his name), to the spotless and quiet room, it was a great three-day stay. Our room (902) was in the back and high up, so noise wasn't an issue. The view was the backside of the Chinatown buildings on Grant, which was kind of interesting in its own way--the reality behind the façade, so to speak. Inside the room, you'd never know you were that close to one of the busiest areas of town.

The room was a tad on the small side, but the bathroom was roomy and well-appointed. One nice touch was a switch in the wall between the beds, Took me a while, but I figured out it controlled a light in the entry; its a nice touch for late-night trips to the bathroom, and indicative of the attention to detail everywhere you look. Another nice touch--the front desk is situated so the staff can see you approaching from outside. More than once, we had our arms full, and the desk clerk was able to open the doors remotely--what a great help, and again, shows how attentive the staff is.

A couple of years ago, we stayed at another "green" hotel in Berkeley, but I got the feeling "green" was another word for cramped and inconvenient. Not the Orchard Garden. Pop the room key card in the slot and on come the lights and A/C. It has the typical trash/recycling bins, but you never feel you're giving up anything for the sake of the "green" designation. The refillable shampoo and soap dispensers were filled with great apple-scented products. And the beds and pillows were super-comfortable. We do a LOT of walking when we're in the City, and its nice to come back to a turned-down bed that's really easy to relax in.

This will definitely be our "go-to" place for future visits!

Room Tip: If you want quiet more than a view, ask for a room higher up and near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Your review was music to our ears. We are so thrilled while you said that we beat all other big-name hotels and other boutiques places among your 20 years of experiences staying here in San Francisco. Aside from the location, our staff is what makes the Orchard Garden so special. We consistently focus on meeting our guests’ needs; no matter they are big or small. Our goal is your positive experience. So happy that you also felt the room and facilities lived up to your expectations. We truly appreciate your kind words and commending us on our effort as an eco-conscious hotel. We strive to provide a cleaner, environmentally friendly and healthier atmosphere to our guest. Lastly, we are excited to hear that we have become your “go-to” hotel for future visits. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After reading many positive reviews on trip advisor I decided to book this hotel for 5 nights. I was not disappointed. We were greeted by Phil the very friendly and helpful doorman. The reception staff were also very pleasant and so helpful with ideas for seeing the city, maps etc.
Our room was spotlessly clean, with a good size bathroom equipped with bath and shower.
It was very quiet considering our central location. The hotel is very close to China town and 5 minutes from Union Square, the main shopping area and the financial district. The hop on hop off bus stops just across the road.

Room Tip: We asked a quiet room and heard no vehicle noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Wow! Tripadvisor does it again!. We are thrilled to hear our ratings are what got you in our door, considering there are lots of hotels to choose from. As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar. All the major focus points of sightseeing and activities are just minutes’ walk from the hotel. Aside from the location, I would say our staff is what make the Orchard Garden Hotel so special. They not only want you to enjoy your stay here in the hotel, they want you to love this city as much as they do. Appreciate your complimentary on the staff, will share your feedback with the team especially to Phil, our Concierge/Doorman. Once again, thank you for choosing us. Hope to see you come back very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Decent clean hotel in the heart of the city. Location was great right next to Chinatown. Hotel room, lobby and workout area were extremely small. No extra amenities or services offered. Overnight parking $42 a night. It took extremely long for valet to get our car (45min). Driver placed his wet umbrella on the front seat of our rental car.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the taking to share the experience. We are happy to hear that you have liked the location and found our hotel overall is clean and decent. We are indeed very disappointed that you did not experience the true Orchard Garden Hotel during your stay with us. As we all know, San Francisco can be one of the expensive city compared to some other places. We believe that our 24 hours overnight valet parking fee is at the lowest among other downtown hotels. We are so sorry about the inconvenience caused by the valet driver. Please rest assured, we have already addressed the issue to the concerned department for their attentions and improvements. We value your patronage and comment. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Having never been to san Francisco or really knowing anything about it for that matter we picked a great hotel and location. For us anyways. Right beside Chinatown and a few blocks from union square. The hotel itself is wonderful. We had a king room on the 10th floor. The bathroom was huge! About the size of the rest of the room, with a nice tub and separate shower. The housekeeping also did a great job! Cleanliness is huge for me and I have nothing to complain about;) all the staff were awesome. Thanks again

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Vav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are so happy to hear your first trip to San Francisco was a success; this is such a fabulous city. We are also thrilled to hear our hotel was a part of that positive experience. We believe we really have a lot to offer our guests when they stay with us. Our guest room and amenities alone we think are unique and well worth the value. We will agree, our location is fantastic especially to someone who knows almost nothing about the city. Appreciate your compliments on our Housekeeping staffs about their great job, will share your feedback with them. Thanks again for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clean rooms, nice staff. Location was right near the gate to Chinatown, Dragon Gate, 5min walk to Union Square.

Poor view from the room, but it was quiet and had free wifi.

Breakfast was really good but a bit expensive. All the food was organic so that explains the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleVitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for selecting The Orchard Garden Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Our location simply cannot be beat. All the major sightseeing and activities are within minutes of walk from the hotel. Glad you have tried and liked the breakfast at our restaurant. Appreciate your understanding and recognition of our efforts as a GREEN hotel. Thanks for the review. We hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great location, clean and quiet rooms (the room I had was on the 9th floor facing the back). Service was great and the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is virtually next to China town and close to Union square and downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank persamoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you have liked the hotel location and also enjoyed our clean and quiet guest room. Appreciate very much your kind words about the staff, will definitely share your feedback with team. Thanks again for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,859 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,146 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £157 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing