We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The reviews of hotel are what led us to stay here. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
As with everything in San Francisco it was expensive but the hotel lived up to its good reviews and was close enough to walk or ride cable car or F train to most destinations. We used shuttle from airport to hotel and never needed a car. The location is right in front of China town so very easy access and a coffee and bagel shop on every corner so quick breakfast is no problem. We stayed here on the tail end of a Maui vacation and wished we had just stayed in Maui. But this is no fault of hotel just personal preference on more relaxing vacation in Maui as compared to having to rush from point to point in San Francisco. Also Maui much more affordable that San Francisco, never would have thought that. Hotel great if this is the type vacation you desire. Great staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark3800_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Orchard Garden Hotel. I am pleased to find that you found our team very friendly and helpful. Our location is positioned perfectly to walk to a lot of the attractions. China Town being one since we are located right at the gates, and Union Square where there are lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance. Being in our prime location does help save on the extra expense of transportation one might occur if staying at a different property.

Overall, Mark it seems you did enjoy the hotel and the service provided. If you are ever back in San Francisco we do hope you choose Orchard Garden Hotel.

Thanks again,

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here beginning of July. It is a pleasant low key Hotel. Staff polite and helpful. Bell boys really sincerely helpfull and not just eager for a tip as mentioned by others. Situated perfectly , right next to entrance of China Town. 5 mins Walk to Union Square and main shopping street.
If you go to a major city hotel and all you want to do is stay in the hotel and enjoy all if the amenities and not explore the city,then this is probably not for you. However if you want somewhere to stay where all the delights of the City are on your doorstep at an affordable price this is perfect. Would recommend and return when back in Town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Neil B,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned our team aims to make sure all guest are comfortable and accommodated while staying at Orchard Garden Hotel. We will be here when you return to San Francisco. If we can assist you before hand please don’t hesitate to email or call the hotel directly.

We will see you in the near future and thank you for staying at Orchard Garden Hotel.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is not just for The Orchard Garden but all of my SF experiences. To start with our arrival, welcome was pleasant but already felt needy. Over zealous bell boy and even after a long flight from the UK, we could sense the eagerness for us to tip well. The hotel itself is very basic and not in my opinion what you'd expect of a city hotel in Europe with this rating. The decor is beige all over, facilities minimal, small gym, breakfast disgracefully overpriced and the staff struggled with my British accent which I found irritating after a while. The view from the room was a backyard of another business, wires, a truck and concrete.
Every time I enquired about a restaurant or taxi, front desk were clueless and the bell boys were keen to jump in but I felt obliged to tip for talking to them!!
This enormous tipping thing in San Francisco put me off completely. Just pay the staff properly and your customers will have a far more enjoyable experience because they will know how much it costs, for a start. Needy, needy waiters and waitresses everywhere, pouncing on you to force their in your face service on to your experience, so they can dip your pocket even more than the crazy prices already being paid.
The place is fascinating overall but for me, it will be a one off. Europe is still more interesting, better value for money and gives genuine quality of service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Carol B,

I would like to say thank you for staying at the Orchard Garden Hotel. In the United States it is accustom for bellmen, restaurant servers, front desk agents, and anyone that you may come in contact with to greet you and give you a sincere welcome or goodbye. Under no circumstance are you required to leave gratuity to any team member unless you feel comfortable in doing so through your own preference.

Speaking on our team here at the Orchard Garden Hotel our bellmen act as doormen and concierge as do the front desk agents. If our front desk agents are assisting other guest by telephone or checking guest in they do direct guests to the bellmen for immediate assistance. Many guests may ask for assistance with directions or recommendations on a restaurant or tours without leaving a gratuity after being assisted. Gratuity is in no way expected of you or any other guests from our team at the Orchard Garden Hotel.

I am surprised to read that you had a negative experience with our guest’s service. Many of our guests rave about the quality of service we provide here at the Orchard Garden Hotel.

Like many hotel in a city the Orchard Garden Hotel is built in between buildings and between blocks of streets that host other building that may block a perfect view of the skyline or street view. The Orchard Garden Hotel proudly offers guest rooms that have more attractive views and guest always have the option to book a room with a city or street view.

Thanks again for your comments as they are always appreciated.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Check In began badly when staff informed us that the hotel was overbooked therefore the management had taken the liberty of changing our reserved accommodations without our knowledge or consent. After some discussion the hotel was able to provide similar accommodations and did refund us our money as we had booked two superior rooms and were given only one superior room. The hotel and rooms were clean and of average size but the walls were paper thin and unfortunately the guests in the room next to ours were exceptionally loud and as a double whammy the street noise was equally as loud. The bed was comfortable and my kids said that their beds were also quite comfortable. The location is great, very close to Union Square and the Financial district and a short walk to the Montgomery Street station. Overall, it was nice but not great.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room. The rooms on the street are incredibly noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Maw12345,

Thank you for writing a comment of TripAdvisor. I agree that our hotel is in a convenient location and our guest rooms are very clean.

I do apologize that your check-in to our hotel did not go as planned, but it seems that we were able to rectify the bump in the road. Overall you seemed to enjoy your stay and accommodations at the Orchard Garden Hotel. I am also pleased to read that you found our rooms clean and the beds comfortable.

Like many hotels in large cities it is hard to sound proof the guest rooms from the street noise. As you mentioned one way to avoid street noise is to request an interior room or a room that is not facing the street directly.

Thank you for staying at the Orchard Hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future if you are ever back in San Francisco.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This "green" and conveniently located is within walking distance of most everything, including the Embarcadaro, the Orchard Garden staff is so accommodating, the rooms well-appointed, comfortable, and efficiently arranged, and the ambience is soothing. Right next to Chinatown Gate, this hotel will be my pick the next time I travel to the city by the bay.

Room Tip: Several family members stayed at this hotel for my son and daughter-in-laws wedding, and we all agre...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Debra C,

Thank you for such a wonderful compliment on the Orchard Garden Hotel. I am really pleased to see you and your family had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our accommodations and location here in the city.

We will be waiting for your arrival back to the Orchard Garden Hotel in the near future.

Thanks again for your review.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Tucked away next to the China Town Gate is a beautiful small Hotel. Orchard Garden Hotel is small in size but big in atmosphere. From the pleasant staff to the spacious room we were very happy with our week long stay in San Francisco. On the main floor is located a restaurant that proved to be good value and good food. If you are looking for a quiet hotel that gives great service this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Brian L,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be a “Gem” I also believe it to be true.

I could not have written a better review of our hotel, call me bias but I agree with every word you wrote. I will share your positive review with our entire team.

We hope to see you again at the Orchard Garden Hotel next time you are in San Francisco.

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is tired and the rooms all a sickly beige colour. We weren't welcomed at reception nor asked how our stay was at check out. There is a difference between efficiency and customer service. It was the bell boy showing people what to do and answering questions which I would have expected reception staff to. Instead of a eel one we were just asked immediately for passport and credit card and that was it. Not a great first impression.

Location is great as it is just outside china town and an short walk to union square. There is a Starbucks across the street should you want breakfast on the go.

In respect of the rooms, the bed is comfortable. The showers are completely inadequate and have no power at all meaning it takes half an hour to wash shampoo out of your hair. Mini bar was full of rusty water and bed sheets had stains on them. Our room overlooked an aircon machine which wasn't too much of an issue as we weren't there much. Overall we found it expensive for what it was and have stayed in much better 3,5 star hotels in the US.

The only reason to stay here is for its location and if you specifically want to stay in an Eco hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wiffy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce P, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Wiffy0,

I appreciate the time you took to write a review on TripAdisor and so I would like to say thanks.

Our entire team is here to assist you with any concierge services. Whether it is a front desk agent, bellman, or a manager anyone of our team members have knowledge to share. There are times where the front desk is interacting with other guest request so the bellmen are another resource to use to gather any information that might need.

You are absolutely correct about our location. I know that we get many compliments on our hotel’s location as its right next door to China Town, Union Square, and Market Street. Our building was built in 2006 from the ground up and is national known for being a Green Hotel. I am surprised you felt the Orchard Garden Hotel to be tired. Again our hotel is only 8 years old and in this city most would consider us a new property.

You mentioned that you had stained sheets in your guest room and that the mini bar was dated. We have many guest rave about the housekeeping’s attention to detail. I hate that we missed that. I wish you would have brought your findings to my attention during your stay. The mini bar in the guest rooms are attended to daily by our mini bar attendants that work 7 days a week.

I am please that you chose our hotel out of all the hotels in San Francisco. If you do return to San Francisco I would love for you to give us another chance. I know that we can make your stay next time with us almost perfect. Please call me directly at 415-365-0302 and I will make sure that you enjoy your accommodations at the Orchard Garden Hotel.

Thanks again,

Bruce Pinckney
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,824 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
2,097 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
1,233 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £159 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing