We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yosemite Train Tour from San Francisco”

San Francisco Shuttle Tours
Ranked #30 of 109 Food & Drink in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Francisco Tours are a great way to see the San Francisco area. We offer tours to Yosemite, Muir Woods, wine country, Carmel and private tours from San Francisco
Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yosemite Train Tour from San Francisco”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I am amazed that more people didn't do this tour only 6 in our group. Whilst it is a long day 14+ hours the experience is worth it. We were met at the Ferry Building and shuttled to the Amtrak station at Emeryville where our guide made sure we were on the right train for the 3 hour trip to Merced. The train has a bottom and upper section, the lower section reserved for people who have mobility problems. Our group were all in the upper section, the seats were comfortable with plenty of room, large picture windows, power outlets and free WiFi. We were met by our driver Jonathon for the 2 hour trip to Yosemite. He provided non-stop commentary on the way up and we had a rest stop after 1 hr. At Yosemite there was time for lunch before we had a 2 hour tram tour with a park ranger. This was an optional extra and well worth the extra cost. The tram had an open top so you could take plenty of photos and there were stops at scenic points points along the way.At the end of the day there was another 2 hr trip back to the train station and then 3hrs on the train to Emeryville. There was a cafe car on both trains which had enough choices for either breakfast or dinner at a reasonable cost. We were picked up by a shuttle on our return and dropped off at our hotels. Overall a great day and the train trip was part of the overall expereince

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Lawrie3266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    153
    55
    34
    69
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the sights and then some”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

While in San Francisco we took the Premium City Tour, with Comprehensive Shuttle Tours.
We met at the ferry building. Our tour guide, Hannah was very easy to spot.
Then a short walk to the shuttle and our driver, Duncan. Hannah was very personable and knowledgeable. It was a small tour, about 5 couples, which was very nice.
The tour was 5 hours, stopping spots were the Ferry Building, a guided walk through Chinatown and a Fortune Cookie Factory, Lombard Street (downhill walk), Grace Cathedral (went inside), The Cable Car Barn Museum (an actual working cable car station! - interesting!), Alamo Square Park (Famous Victorians), Palace of Fine Arts, The Golden Gate Bridge, Sausalito, (had lunch-not included-here) and then rode the Ferry back to San Francisco-going by Alcatraz Island. We saw most of San Francisco as we drove to the highlights.
Excellent tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Napa wine tour”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent a long weekend/vacation in SF and decided the night before our trip to book a wine tour. We found the SFCST site and decided on the Napa wine tour and loved it. We did the tour on 5/2 and our driver was Phil. He was very personable and had a lot of energy and information to share about the city and wine country. We visited four wineries and two were excellent and the other two were average, but still fun. It is impossible to put everyting into this review, but overrall I would highly recommend this tour especially if you have Phil as your guide and are looking for a great, one day Napa experience. Phil was great. Thanks again. Sincerely, M&C from Chicago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best driver ever”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spending a short amount of time in a city needs a good bus tour,just had one.The blue bus tour of San Francisco with the driver Willie in his little white/blue bus was spot on.This man was just amazing his tour hit all the spots and then some,the running commentary was just hilarious,would not have missed him for the world.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazzer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great tour of muir woods”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked up the morning tour of muir woods, but received an email a week before that the morning tours were being cancelled. Luckily we didn't book up all of our time in sf and had a spare afternoon.

We picked up the tour bus outside the ferry building. Luckily there was only 6 of us on the tour, so it was intimate and personal tour.

We drove straight to muir woods and the tour guide spoke the whole way. He was full of amazing facts and local information. We stopped at muir woods for 1.5 hours which was just enough time to do the full loop of 4 bridges and pick up a postcard.

We then stopped off a various beauty spots for pictures. The bus then dropped us of at Sausalito and got the ferry back to sf.

Overall a great day out

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Francisco Shuttle Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Shuttle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing