We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food in SF”
Review of House of Thai

House of Thai
Ranked #1,260 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Zierikzee, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Good Thai food in SF”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

One of the best thai restaurants during our holiday in the USA. We love the food, this one get very close to the real thing. The only thing thats missing is spicy, but they have prik nam pla. Our hotel was in the Geary St nearby Union Square, so just a short walk.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remenmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bad neighborhood, great food”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We ordered carry-out from there 3 times during our 5-day stay in San Francisco. It was some of the best Thai food I've ever had. Their Chicken and Eggplant with basil leaves and red curry was my absolute favorite!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Liked the food, location not so much”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Sparse decor, decent Thai food. Costs more than some. Bad neighborhood. Very clean restrooms.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant for a very good value”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

One of the best Thai restaurants of San Francisco.
We lived very close to it and went countless times over the years we stayed in San Francisco.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eepfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best food outside of Thailand and excellent value”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

On a recent business trip, a Thai colleague took us to the Thai House Express.
The place is more cafe style than a formal restaurant. The food is very authentic and excellent quality. I have visited Thailand a couple of times and this is the closest to "real" Thai I have tasted out of Thailand. Our group had a bout 11 assorted main dishes and none disappointed. Although the Chilli heat did challenge some of my American Colleagues :-)
In a city that is known for expensive food, it is real value for money with most main dishes being 6-8USD and even a large Thai style fresh fish only 17USD.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Thai also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to House of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing