We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with a bit to be desired”
Review of Minna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minna Hotel
Ranked #188 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Certainly a pretty decent value for a stay in San Francisco, the area around the hotel was fairly suspicious (a guy asked if I wanted to buy crystal meth, to which I politely declined). With shared facilities and Wi-Fi in the lobby only, there were a few things that could have been better. The bathrooms and other facilities were otherwise clean.

Breakfast was a nice touch, certainly, and the people at the front desk were really nice. They even had an early breakfast program (at 4 in the morning!) for folks who were coming in for a marathon.

I would rather spend $20-$40 more for peace of mind and Wi-Fi, to be honest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truediarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

For the money this place is a gem.Nice friendly helpful staff , clean bathrooms( friendly cleaner as well ) and nice much as you can eat breakfast.
Whole Hotel is clean and freshly , tastefully decorated.
Rooms are clean , TV , free WIFI and big enough.
The Hotel is on 2nd block 6th street, now 6 th street is very dodgy and dangerous( there was even a fatal shooting the night I arrived !!) but if you enter Pontiac from 5th or 7th street it´s safe as houses,quite a remarkable change in surroundings in such a short distance, failing that get a cab to the front door.
If your in SF on a budget go here , for the money you won´t get a better deal I moved here after a night at Europa hotel where it was the same price but had blood and excrement on the carpet and walls !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel for the ten days we were in San Francisco and it was the best ten days we have had in California. The hotel is located in 6th and Minna street, where a lot of homeless people hangs out but we never felt uncomfortable when we were walking in this area. From the hotel we had easy excess to everything. The BART system is just minutes away along with a great shopping area. The people working in the reception were always very helpful if we were wondering where to go or what to do and how to get there.
The hotel served a huge breakfast every morning with everything from bagels and eggs to yogurt and serial. The hotel is very clean and the shared bathrooms were not a problem at all.
I will highly recommend this hotel to everybody that is travelling on a budget and wants good value for their money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCN896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Clean, no smells, friendly and helpful staff who are improving the hotel-like hostel. Free wi-fi only in lounge area, but I was told it is being expanded to all the floors. Free continental breakfast more 'bountiful' than expected. If you're not willing to share the bath facilites, you will not be happy there. Also some 'street people' are in the neighborhood. Price and location was great for my budget and business.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you check my review history I hope it's clear that i aim to be honest and not overly critical, especially when there is an effort made by staff to improve places. But tjis hotel is actually NOT a hotel and is in a very dangerous location. as our last stop on our travels through the US we were left with only the smallest amount of money. This meant that after a bus from Vegas we had to walk to the hotel approx. 5 blocks away at 9pm. Usually in a well-lit city its not a problem. Here i got so freaked i nearly left the suitcases and ran. It wasn't just the huge amounts of homeless, many of them were clearly mentally unstable too and there were several clear gangs around the area.

Get this, when we arrived we were told the dont accept credit or debit cards. i was sent alone up the street as my friend had to mind the bags. I was terrified and when i stopped in another "hotel" i was told to go across the street to the porn shop and use their atm. I just turned and went back because i was getting shouted at pretty loud at this stage. The hotel guy himself was behind a metal cage barrier so he made clear he didnt care. we had half the place paid online already so he let us in as long as we paid the rest the next morning.

THEN we were told that their hotel policy was for guests to hand over their ROOM KEYS when leaving the hotel for the day. Over my dead body. we stayed 5 nights and everyday we left we were asked to give the key and i either said ah,no or else said the third person staying had it in the room. idiots didnt even know there wasnt a third person like!!

look the breakfast was ok and the guy who boils eggs (very random) is really nice. the beds were itchy. a lot of the "guests" are actually locals that seem very unstable. I hope people reading this do some more searching to find somewhere safer at a similar prices. i guarantee hostels would be safer!!

NOTE TO THE "HOTEL" ITSELF: take the ragged Irish flag down from outside your door. I get that all those flags are there to advertise you welcome foreigners and visitors but to see my native flag outside a hell hole like yours that nearly ruined the trip of a lifetime through America made me feel sick.

Room Tip: Please, use search engines etc and even stretch 10/15 dollars more. its not worth a bargain if you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JustMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is not a Hotel, it is a Hostel that pretends to be a Hotel. I dont know which stock library they used to get the photos of their rooms, but they should have used the money they spent on someone else's photos on some cleaning products. The place stinks of urine. You have to enter the place through a cage door. The internet was slow and pathetic (which is fine, though they suggest it is great). The rooms are tiny and unclear. They have one toilet per floor, no bathrooms in the rooms. The breakfast is a joke. They couldnt even take a phone message, not to mention that there were no phones in the rooms.

Look, they gave it a go and it is fine if you want a backpackers. But is over priced as a backpackers and they suggest that they are a hotel and they are not.

Give this place a miss. the location (which is not something they can do much about) looks good on a map, but it is not. It is the worst part of town.

Seriously, just move on past this one.

Room Tip: Dont bother, I suggest they are all rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartyMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackrussel123, Manager at Minna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

We do not use stock photos, all the pictures are of our own facilities. Specifically, the pictures of the rooms show 449 and 457.

Our internet is provided by Comcast and is among the fastest providers in the city. We state that the strongest WiFi signals are in the lobby and lounge area and that the signal is usually too weak to make it to most rooms.

There are no phones in the room but we will and do gladly take written phone messages and will give it to the guest next time we see them.

This is not the nicest part of San Francisco but it's certainly not the worst. Like most major US cities the downtown area can have a homeless problem. There is a steel door that is staffed 24/7 by a front desk agent and is there to ensure that only properly registered guests enter the building, which I fail to see as a negative.

All bathrooms are shared, but there are 5 bathrooms per floor with a total of 4 toilets and one urinal- not one toilet as the reviewer incorrectly states. Each floor has a Women's Room, a Men's Room, a unisex bathroom, a bathroom/shower, and a shower- those last three all have locking doors. With three floors that is a total of 15 bathrooms.

The reviewer also failed to mention our full continental breakfast that is included in the price and served daily in our lounge area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a good hostel for backpackers:

Upsides:
- breakfast included
- free wifi internet
- centrally located (easy to reach e.g. tourist information in market street)

Downsides:
- small room with a double bed
- our room did not include a private bathroom, shared bathrooms and showers were ok and clean
- a little noisy, preferably for younger travelers who want to see the nightlife in SF
- no parking area included, due to the narrow street you have to find a public parking space (we took the nearby parking garage recommended by the hotel clerk and paid 32$ per day, other alternatives seemed to be either too far away or not safe enough)
- no room cleaning during our stay

Conclusion:
Good alternative for backpackers, next time we would choose a motel less centrally located to pay less parking fees (there are public transportation passes for either 1, 3 or 7 days that let you easily reach the city center without your car)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwabentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#115 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 231 in San Francisco
66 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#174 of 231 in San Francisco
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#190 of 231 in San Francisco
666 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 231 in San Francisco
262 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#159 of 231 in San Francisco
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minna Hotel

Address: 509 Minna St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2893
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £42 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing