We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Minna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minna Hotel
Ranked #176 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Pontiac is in a rough area (I would recommend arriving during daylight) but once you step out the door during daytime it's fine. The staff are FANTASTIC. Rooms are tiny but it didn't bother us. Also just down the road from Dottie's - best breakfast ever but the wait can be long but it's worth it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna and Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    46
    26
    35
See reviews for
6
53
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The price is good, but you have to adapt. As other reviews say, if you are looking for a place to sleep and then you are going to spend your day visiting San Francisco, this place is ok. If you plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel, maybe you should spend a little bit more money and find a more comfortable hotel.

The place is run down and would need renovation. But it's very cheap considering the prices of San Francisco … So you get what you pay for.

Location is good because it is pretty central, but at the same time the area might look a little bit unsafe. However, I have to admit that we didn't have the problems I would have expected (which means no crazy people in the street when we came back at night).

The staff is very nice and helpful. They make you feel welcome and secure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seremariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nynashamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I think i was expecting too much but you can't beat the price considering how close it is to everything. The rooms are clean and ok, but the shared bathrooms are terrible and in need of refurbishment. The staff is very nice but i would consider a different place to stay if you're not short on cash.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maciekish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The bed and equipment are basic, but the price is unbeatable. Some people might not appreciate that the bathrooms are shared. The neighbourhood might irritate the unexperienced, but it is not as dangerous as people say. Try the restaurant Tu Lan for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Got a double bed for two. Very average, small room which had a bad odour to it. However, it was in a good location, very close to Union square and also they serve a great complimentary breakfast. Be wary of walking on the streets at night though as there are a lot of homeless people around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My stay in the hotel was quite OK for the money I paid. Well, if you are thinking of staying there, you have to clearly understand that that is a budget place, which means you don’t pay a lot, and that is why you cannot expect much. The bottom line is: if you go to SF for a night or two, OR, if you plan to spend most of you time in a hotel room, I would recommend staying in a more upgraded and upscale accommodation; however, if you plan an extended stay, which was my case, and you need a decent, functional, and safe (but very simple) place only to crash at night, get up in the morning, and keep exploring the city next day, - this place is quite appropriate!
The room, which was private – I didn’t share it with anybody, was quite small, but OK for one person. It wouldn’t have hurt if the room itself had been a bit cleaner, but the bed, sheets, pillows and things like that were clean, not overused or worn out. Bathrooms/restrooms and showers are shared, but I have to tell you, they are very clean and very well taken care of, which was a very pleasant surprise! So, if you don’t mind sharing – there’s nothing to be scared of. There are a few of them, so you don’t have to wait in line – well, at least I didn’t have to. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but, again, it was quite OK and healthy to start your day. There are a lot of really good restaurants within a walking distance anyway, where I went for lunch and dinner. The BEST and the GREATEST asset of the hotel is the staff. People at the front desk are amazingly friendly, knowledgeable, polite, helpful… and I can go on with the list forever. The worst feature of the hotel is the neighbourhood where it is located. Although it is not the hotel’s fault, but rather the problem of most big cities, but the abundance of homeless people, beggar, hustler, prostitutes, etc. made me nervous. My advice: avoid 6th street; use 7th instead.
Overall, it’s you choice. The best thing to do not to spoil you vacation/stay is to go places without faulty expectations. I think I didn’t that’s why I liked my trip to SF. Pontiac hotel contributed to it. As I said, I liked the staff. Should I go to SF again for an expended visit where I would only need a place to stay overnight, I would most likely consider staying in this place again. Otherwise, I would choose something fancier.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiroToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Pontiac Hotel provides basic accommodations and a clean room at prices much lower than national chains. The staff at the front desk were very professional and friendly, and made me feel welcome. The hotel features free continental breakfast every morning. The hotel has good protocol to provide for the safety of their guests. There was a great mixture of young travelers from around the world. Easy access to shopping at nearby Market Street shopping district, Union Square, and Chinatown. Public transportation provide by "MUNI" and "BART" is reasonable.
Be sure to check out their reviews on line.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator so you do not have to hear it going up and down while you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#124 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#164 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Layne Hotel
#199 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#187 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minna Hotel

Property: Minna Hotel
Address: 509 Minna St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2893
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Minna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing