We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, no problems!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Sonoma County California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“No frills, no problems!”
Reviewed 10 April 2008

Stayed here for only one night. It's a very basic motel with no amenities to speak of, except for free parking which is really why I consider it such a good deal and would return again when visiting either Chinatown or North Beach. Carpet and floral bedspread were in good repair in the balcony room we were assigned. Blankets and sheets were threadbare, pillows were foam rubber with no give, bath towels were small but fairly new. Shower stall was tiled and very clean, water pressure good. Bathroom itself was two very small rooms, with sink outside toilet/shower area. Cable TV was adequate. Security door locks good. Don't stay in front balcony rooms if street noise is an issue. Cars or trucks passing by on Broadway in the middle of the night sounded like they were going through an long echo tunnel.

  • Liked — location and free parking
  • Disliked — pillows and bedding
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    180
    144
    44
    14
See reviews for
106
176
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SnowTravelor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Based on the photos and the rate of $99 a night we selected this hotel. It's amazing how in the photos the room and hotel look white and clean. Quite opposite of that! We will never stay here again. The girl who checked us in was rude. A few minutes after checking in to our room we found that the toilet would not flush (unfortunately after using it). We called the front desk right away asking for another room since the toilet was obviously broken and was told "I call you back later". When we did get the call back she told my husband "I get plunger, you come get and try fix". Um, excuse me? Then the motel maintenance guy came and touched the plunger that he was using in the toilet with his bare hands, used our ice bucket and sink, then went in and out of our room twice handling the door knob. I felt sick to my stomach. He said "toilet fix", after he left my husband did a test flush and found it was not fixed. We finally were able to get another room, which was a smoker's room and nearly gagged from the smells. Needless to say all our clothes smelt like smoke as well as our hair and everything else. The rooms are grimy, with peeling paint and tile, dirty carpets, old blankets that looked dirty and had holes. This was more like a motel fit for roaches.

  • Liked — close to Little Italy
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vista
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Located on the corner of chinatown, 1 block from Northbeach, this hotel is within 15-20 mintues walking distance to many SF staples (Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradellie Square, Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, North Beach). If walking isn't your thing there is a bus stop about 2 minutes up the street. If your with the family, the area is kind of iffy (there are stripclubs and such just down the block), but that stuff never seems to make it across the street. The hotel is definately dated, but was tidy and the staff was nice.They give you a danish for breaksfast and there is cable in the room. If your just looking for a cheap, safe, clean place to crash at night, this hotel is a great find.

  • Liked — Location/Clean
  • Disliked — Condition of room (was dated: water stains, decor, etc.)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angelmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This is a clean, basic, inexpensive place to stay. The hotel is located in a safe area. Chinatown and North Beach are right there; the cable car is three blocks away. One fantastic feature of this hotel is the free and accessible parking. Other hotels in San Francisco charge up to $50 per night for parking; not the Royal Pacific. Staff are very friendly. Make sure you get a room away from the street, as the street-facing rooms are quite noisy. They offer a AAA discount.

  • Liked — Location and free parking
  • Disliked — Forced-air heater in room is loud, but the heat - after walking all day in cold SF - was very welcome
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoePacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

I stayed one night at this motor inn and would probably stay again. It is nothing at all fancy, but the room was in good condition and everything was extremely clean and well maintained. The bed was also good, though the pillows were those cheap foam rubber ones that don't give at all. Minor issue. I felt safe, especially with the three door locks.

The location is wonderful, an easy walk to North Beach and Chinatown, and to hundreds of restaurants, bakeries, espresso places, etc. I never touched the cellophane wrapped pastries in my room, choosing to have coffee and breakfast at a nice Italian cafe.

I chose a rear facing room but still heard loud industrial ventilation fans from a nearby building. Earplugs are a good idea for sensitive sleepers.

Free parking in this part of San Francisco is almost unheard of, and is a great perk included with the room.

I don't know where the average rate of $65 comes from, as $95 seems to be the minimum.

  • Liked — The great location.
  • Disliked — A trifle bit noisy.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MassWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Location Chinatown. Great food, easy access to MUNI. Not far from anything. Booked the junior suite with the King bed. Note: this is a motor inn, equivalent to Super 8. big in size clean, un- modern. But the Price could not beat it, plus it is right next to Italain district, so food is no problem. Staff very very nice. If we go back we will book our stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We like this hotel because it's located right in the middle of China Town and we're surrounded by good, authentic, inexpensive chinese retaurants (and some Italian ones too). There's a Walgreen right around the corner within walking distance. Amenities are a bare minimum and the rooms are old but clean. We especially appreciate the hotel's flexibility in allowing a family of 5 to stay in one room without extra person charge. Parking is also free which is hard to come by in the heart of San Francisco. Cable car access is within walking distance. Rooms right up against the main street can be very noisy.

  • Liked — Located in the heart of China Town, no extra person charge
  • Disliked — old interior
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#124 of 229 in San Francisco
353 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#153 of 229 in San Francisco
461 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#147 of 229 in San Francisco
224 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#107 of 229 in San Francisco
829 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing