We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #143 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A simple, hotel for a good price. Don't expect too much, but the location is perfect, everything is in walking distance. They offer free wifi and free parking which is very rare in San Francisco! The staff is very helpful, they gave us a map and explained how to find what we were about to see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are looking for a super smart fancy hotel, this is not it!
If, however, you are looking for somewhere safe to stay where you can walk or catch a bus home at night, to a room which is clean with friendly staff then this is great!
The rooms are not that spacious but two double beds fitted in fine with room to walk around. The bathroom was clean with a good shower but the largest towel provided is what we English people call a bath towel rather than a bath sheet.
We requested and received a room at the back on the top floor following other feedback on here and had no problems with noise.
The staff were really helpful and friendly, the laundry provided was useful as we are on an extended trip to the states and if you have a car there is plenty of parking either directly outside or in a basement garage.
The property is really convenient to all tourist attractions. In one direction we walked to Fishermans Walk, Pier 39, the Coit Tower and Pier 33 for our trip to Alcatraz, all of which took us no more than 20 minutes. In the opposite direction we walked to Union Square which was about 10-15 mins walk depending on your speed and how busy China Town is.
A couple of tips: the number 30 and 8x buses run at the top of the road to the left of the hotel on Stockton Street if you are too tired to walk. There is also a Walgreens Supermarket on this road, less than 5 mins walk away if you need food of any description.
The room has a coffee maker but no facility for making tea and no fridge which was a major drawback
Really good value for money in a city which is traditionally expensive for accommodation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistyb1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is conveniently located in San Francisco’s Chinatown. There is no free breakfast but you can walk to any of the cafes for Chinese delicacies (congee, noodles, steam pork buns, wonton soup, etc.) which open at 7am or a few blocks away to any of the North Beach cafes. The hotel offers free parking on the first floor level and also there are spaces in the underground parking lot (where you have to give the attendant your car keys) when there is a first floor level overflow. We pretty much would check in and walk or bike around the City so that we would have our parking space. The hotel rooms have been updated, however, the outside stairs are in need of repair (cracks). Rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Room facing the inside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Motor Inn is located in the heart of San Fran - this made it so easy to get around and discover the city. It is quite close to Little Italy and also near Chinatown. Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking are great assets to this property.

The room was average and not big. The air con was soooo loud! And because it was so loud and the windows don't open, we actually had to leave the room open at night (with the chain lock) to allow some circulation. Beds were ordinary with very flat pillows. The bathroom was small, but sufficient.

Staff were very helpful all of the time.

All in all...I would probably stay here again because the value was quite good for a big city like San Fran.

Room Tip: Room on a higher floor to avoid too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_ange23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had booked three nights at this motel. It's located in the heart of San Francisco. The motel is very nice. Room was big and clean. One queen bed and a good and clean bathroom and toilet. Free wi-fi. Free parking in a garage and that is a great benefit in a town like SF.
Some noise in the early morning from trucks loading and unloading stuff at the nearby Chinatown.
The location is excellent! 1 min. walk to Chinatown, 5 min. walk to Little Italy. Perfect!
No pool, no breakfast but a helpfull crew at the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We approached the hotel from the 'seedier' end of China town and with two teenage girls I was initially a bit sceptical - however the hotel is further up on Broadway and on the edge of Little Italy. Great location for walking to Pier 39. Cable cars etc. Accommodation was adequate, clean and fresh towels daily. Minimal wardrobe space for 4 of us, we were only there 3 nights so clothes stayed in suitcases. Laundry facilities available. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuFo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great location,could walk to most attractions. Good rates for our 4 night stay. Never had to use our car for 5 days. Public transport system brilliant. What a choice of restaurants, brilliant breakfasts.
Motel owners were very helpful. Recommend for a budget motel,in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 187069Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#120 of 231 in San Francisco
889 reviews
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#124 of 231 in San Francisco
373 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#179 of 231 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#134 of 231 in San Francisco
527 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#105 of 231 in San Francisco
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £84 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing