We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair and reasonable price for San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Falls Church
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fair and reasonable price for San Francisco”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I found this location on short notice. Price per night was great for this city; for the room and amenities, it was fair and reasonable. I couldn't ask for a better location. It was literally right in the middle of all the events I attended and attractions I visited, and I walked to all of them. Although I didn't have a car, it was nice that this establishment had a parking lot for it's guest. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. As the location was in Chinatown, they pointed to plenty of places to eat as well. My room faced the public streets. If I wasn't an early riser, the traffic and trash trucks would be quite bothersome. Like most reviewers, this was an average place to stay while visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be quite noisy. Trash trucks operate early in the morning; estimating b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va70aux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    180
    144
    44
    14
See reviews for
106
176
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the edge of Chinatown bordering North Beach, which has tons of Italian restaurants, cafes, and pastry shops. It is a walkable distance to the wharf as well. The room was nice and very clean. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kteoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I loved the location of this hotel to the Embarcadero. The parking was limited but there is a parking garage within walking distance if you can't find a spot in their hotel lot. The front desk staff were very friendly. The room had an outdoor balcony, that we shared with the room next door, which looked right onto the street. It was great for people watching. We had a very large room with decent furnishings. I would prefer the room be freshended up a bit with some new carpet and furnishings but overall it was worth the money. There was free wi-fi and we had a refrigerator without asking. If I was in the area again I would stay here because it was conveniently located and was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Good location for walking around but no frills. Ask for a room that faces the main street and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamvonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Like the other reviews state, it's not a bad place for the price. S.F. is very expensive, so the price at the R.P. Motor Inn is bad. Free parking and internet were a key for us in deciding to stay here. It's right on the edge of China Town and is walkable to anywhere. Plus it does NOT have bedbugs. Decent place, even if the rooms are on the small side. We requested a room on the back side, and it was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A simple, hotel for a good price. Don't expect too much, but the location is perfect, everything is in walking distance. They offer free wifi and free parking which is very rare in San Francisco! The staff is very helpful, they gave us a map and explained how to find what we were about to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are looking for a super smart fancy hotel, this is not it!
If, however, you are looking for somewhere safe to stay where you can walk or catch a bus home at night, to a room which is clean with friendly staff then this is great!
The rooms are not that spacious but two double beds fitted in fine with room to walk around. The bathroom was clean with a good shower but the largest towel provided is what we English people call a bath towel rather than a bath sheet.
We requested and received a room at the back on the top floor following other feedback on here and had no problems with noise.
The staff were really helpful and friendly, the laundry provided was useful as we are on an extended trip to the states and if you have a car there is plenty of parking either directly outside or in a basement garage.
The property is really convenient to all tourist attractions. In one direction we walked to Fishermans Walk, Pier 39, the Coit Tower and Pier 33 for our trip to Alcatraz, all of which took us no more than 20 minutes. In the opposite direction we walked to Union Square which was about 10-15 mins walk depending on your speed and how busy China Town is.
A couple of tips: the number 30 and 8x buses run at the top of the road to the left of the hotel on Stockton Street if you are too tired to walk. There is also a Walgreens Supermarket on this road, less than 5 mins walk away if you need food of any description.
The room has a coffee maker but no facility for making tea and no fridge which was a major drawback
Really good value for money in a city which is traditionally expensive for accommodation

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistyb1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is conveniently located in San Francisco’s Chinatown. There is no free breakfast but you can walk to any of the cafes for Chinese delicacies (congee, noodles, steam pork buns, wonton soup, etc.) which open at 7am or a few blocks away to any of the North Beach cafes. The hotel offers free parking on the first floor level and also there are spaces in the underground parking lot (where you have to give the attendant your car keys) when there is a first floor level overflow. We pretty much would check in and walk or bike around the City so that we would have our parking space. The hotel rooms have been updated, however, the outside stairs are in need of repair (cracks). Rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Room facing the inside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#147 of 229 in San Francisco
226 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
298 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#116 of 229 in San Francisco
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#171 of 229 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#107 of 229 in San Francisco
830 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing