We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, affordable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #144 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 29 January 2014

While this place may not have upgraded room perks like a refrigerator or microwave, the room was clean, the location was in great walking distance to North Beach and Chinatown (both are literally around the corner) and not too far off from Union Square.

The price of the room included free onsite parking, which coupled with the location made this a no brainer for us. Being right on Broadway, you are going to hear some street noise - particularly if your room faces the road. Earplugs help resolve this, or a room in the back! We walked around the area at night and it felt reasonably safe. The room has a TV with some cable channels. The staff were nice. The elevator is a bit scary. The ice machine is on the first floor and costs a quarter. Coit Tower is in plain view of the upper level rooms. We had no shortage of food options and were easily able to find spots to grab a drink and be entertained right nearby. For all practical purposes, this place suited our visit to San Francisco just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, mainly because of the location and free parking. Because SF was overpriced and fully booked that week, this hotel was the only one we could find in the greater downtown area for the price we wanted, we booked the Deluxe room with balcony and wetbar, and got one on the 5th floor. Huge room, but with shared balcony. The room was freezing cold (because the cleaning lady ALWAYS shuts off the heater), and we quickly found out that on the 5th floor there is very bad WiFi connection (the router is broken or too far away), on the lower floors if worked perfectly. I asked the night receptionist about the internet, he said the router needed to be reset, and wanted to give ME the phone nr to the company servicing their internet, but I finally got him to call himself (why should the guests do this?), but it didn't help anyway. Because we are addicted to internet, and the room was so cold and the heater didn't manage to heat up the whole room, we asked to switch room the next day, and got a smaller one on the 3rd floor. They were very helpful with this though. Both rooms had low light, dark and ugly carpet, dark walls, dark and dirty curtains. It felt dirty, but to dark to actually see. Bed was great though, comfy and clean. And bathroom was clean. We didn't feel we got what we paid for, too pricey for this standard, but the location costs and parking is free. Should have saved up a little more money before we planned to go and stayed at a much better place for just little more.

Room Tip: 5th floor has bad WiFi, and rooms facing the back is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinz238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've been staying at this motel off and on for the last 30 years. It is conveniently located at the edge of China Town and North Beach- which makes it perfect for exploring the city on foot. The rooms are older but very clean, and affordable priced (includes free parking). Don't expect many amenities, but if you want a secure, clean place to sleep, check it out.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you are looking for someplace with fancy chandeliers and bell hops, then go somewhere else. If you want a nice clean room within walking distance of most downtown SF attractions at a VERY reasonable rate AND free parking, then this is the place for you. We plan to fly to SF again and spend more than the one night we spent on this trip and stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrislast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Finding a hotel in San Fransisco is a challenge and very expensive. Found this hotel using an online site. Had to pick it because all other hotels either had no vacancy, very poor ratings or were way out of our price range. This hotel is in China Town which was an intriguing prospect but I was shocked to learn it was on the same street as many of the strip clubs with suggestive signage. Walking down the street to get to the bay we passed several ladies waiting for business and I am pretty sure we saw a transaction for either sex or drugs go down. The front desk staff was nice. She offered me a room on the 5th floor with "a view" which was actually a sliver of the bay and ugly buildings and said it would only be $10 more than I had booked the room for online. She allowed me to take a look at it. There were 4 of us and it had a king size bed with a sleeper sofa. We walked in and the maintenance man was doing something and the sofa looked VERY old so we chose not to take that room. When we got to the front desk again she told me she would not charge me the extra $10. We ended up with a room facing the noisy street. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable except for the flat pillows and paper thin blanket. The beds had this decorative roll pillow that I promptly put in the corner as who knows what had been done with them and I don't think they could be washed. There was NO mini fridge, NO microwave, NO iron but there was a coffee pot and set up as well as a hair dyer. The tv was an old box type and not very big. It had bad reception and sometimes would just show "no signal". There was NO Air Conditioning but there was an old wall heater and a floor fan. We could not figure out how to open a window to let some fresh air in. Parking was FREE which was the only good thing about the hotel since parking in San Fransisco is outrageous. There was only one ice machine downstairs and outside facing the parking lot. You had to pay 25 cents per small ice bucket that didn't even get filled to the top. The machine was so dirty looking I didn't even what to consider using the ice to make a drink. Again, the rooms were clean, the staff was nice but everything else that was not good and the outrageous price of nearly $350 for two nights made me give this place a poor rating.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance to give yourself more options of hotels and skip this one unless you want fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFourC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is a good hotel for people wanting to see the city and be in a fairly central location. It's a short walk to most locations and dead center of chinatown. There are plenty of bars and "clubs" VERY close so if you are with family, be aware of those places.

The rooms are very clean and the staff is nice. They will even pay the quarter they charge for the 1 ice machine located on the first floor. The hotel is old and everything needs to be pressure washed. Everything in SF needs to be pressure washed...

Pro-FREE PARKING AVAILABLE!! Big bonus for those with a rental or who drove in.
Con-NO WIRELESS!! Big pain in the butt.


Overall, for me, it was good and i would stay there again if it were just me or a guys weekend out.

Room Tip: Room 502 has a balcony. Bring or buy a small cooler for ice and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrodinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Honestly, you will not find a better location in San Fran for such a cheap price and with FREE parking !!! the free parking is really a big plus ! the rooms are decent, basic, but fair for the price you pay, and the location is excellent (between North beach and Chinatown). The only negative aspect is that it can be quite noisy, especially during the week-end, as it is located near the area where the nightlife happens.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susyarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
372 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
874 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
621 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
175 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#111 of 230 in San Francisco
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £84 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing