We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value @ Prime Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #138 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Value @ Prime Location”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We checked in this Inn for a weekend stay. We are very satisfied. I was worry at the beginning but after we stayed for a night, I was happy to say I was worry free. This is in the center of Chinatown, which is a prime location of San Francisco. It’s very easy to access to banks, restaurants, Walgreens. Furniture are not new, there is no flat screen TV. But we were outside most of the time so it’s ok. We can walk from here to Fisherman Wharf (around 30 mins). The bonus is, parking is free. So we saved $$ for parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkHardPlayHard2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    179
    139
    43
    13
See reviews for
103
174
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Room, was very comfortable, good shower. Staff where very helpful. Pastries where available if required. Location was very good in the middle of Chinatown, with easy access to everywhere. Bonus is free car park

Room Tip: Over front car park, you hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drumgarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was scared to book this hotel because the price was so cheap and I was travelling to San Fran for the first time and was on my own and female. But I read all the positive reviews and the guy (Lee) I spoke to at front desk on the phone came across as very honest an trustworthy, so I booked. Well I was in an amazingly comfortable, clean and incredibly spacious room but I am not sure all rooms are like this one. The place looked like alcatraz until I opened the door. It resembled a five star hotel room. And the bed was incredibly comfortable. I was so impressed and to get what I got for the price - just amazing. Great location, not noisy at all (my room faced the courtyard) and contrary to other reports on here, there were glass louvre slats I could open in a secure way for fresh air ventilation. Will definitely stay here again when I return to San Francisco. Only criticism I have (so minor) is that I think they should provide paper/cardboard cups for coffee in the room instead of foam ones that are toxic.

Room Tip: I was in 503…I think. Looked towards courtyard. It was a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishingwell_fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with some friends on a trip to San Francisco. We normally stay at another hotel a mile away in a quieter area, but that hotel has drastically increased its prices, so we found the Royal Pacific. We paid $127/night, had free parking, free wifi, and it's within walking distance to everything we needed. The hotel is in Chinatown, a busy area with lots of stripper clubs, markets, bars, and restaurants. For such a busy area, it was surprisingly quiet at night even though we had a room facing the street. Lots of noise early mornings with I assume delivery trucks to the markets, but overall not bad. On the 4th floor there were good views. Although the area seemed a little sketchy, it was safe and very convenient.
The hotel is old, rooms could use updating, but it was comfortable and basic and a good price for the city. I would definitely stay here again for the convenience, price, and location of the hotel and the area in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting San Francisco.

The outside of the hotel and reception area is definately in need of refurbishment and we were concerned when we arrived. However once in our room it was a different story.
The room looked to have been recently refurbished and was clean, comfortable and quite modern. The shower was very good and the bed large and comfortable.

We were at the front of the hotel and didn´t notice a high level of noise. The location is great for exploring the city though perhaps not the nicest of areas after dark. The free parking was a real bonus.

So overall a good location, affordable, clean rooms and free parking make this a good choice. But certainly not luxurious or anything special, though that is reflected in the price!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

So when it come to hotels and vacations I like to spoil myself since I don't get to take a vacation very often. So when I was looking around for a place to stay in San Francisco I couldn't believe how expensive hotels were and a lot of them just didn't fit my budget. So I did some more research and I found this place. Was a little unsure about it but after reading the other reviews I decided I would take a chance.

This place was perfect. Location was good. Rooms were small but CLEAN! Parking is FREE. So I would totally stay here again and I will recommend it to anyone who is visiting.

So the only negative things I have to say is the TV was old and very grainy, but I didn't go to San Fran to watch TV so it wasn't a big deal. Also you can hear the street traffic pretty well but it's to be expected in any city.

Like I said I would totally stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyThrashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is the place to stay if you are looking for a great hotel in the Chinatown area. Check in was very quick and our room was very clean. An excellent value compared to other San Francisco hotels in the area, and you can not beat the free parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Close walking distance to many attractions with many restaurants all around. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#116 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#112 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#128 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#43 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing