We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean,Great Location but nothing out of the ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #139 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean,Great Location but nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. One before our San Francisco Cruise and one night after.This hotel is in the middle of China Town which is walking distance to to North Park( Little Italy) and a 20 minute walk to Fisherman's wharf. Parking is free which in San Fran, is a big plus.The staff were very helpful and gave us great Restaurant Suggestions.When booking this hotel ask for a room in the back away from the front street.

Room Tip: When booking this hotel ask for a room in the back away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2TrvlGeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    178
    139
    43
    13
See reviews for
103
174
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This Motel is in the "real" San Francisco. Skip the high prices and tourists stores at the pier. Royal Pacific is located on the edge of China town and Little Italy. It is in a safe location, even though a block or two to the east it gets seedy.

I took a train from the airport and the Bart station is a 15 minute walk away from the motel. My room was on the third floor and overlooked the center parking lot, not the street. It easy very quiet and peaceful.

From the motel, Coit Tower and Union Square were within 15 minute walk. The Pier and Lombard Street are probably 20 minutes. It's in a great location to explore the city.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rr177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This place is a bit scary when you first see it especially when arriving at night after a long flight. However, the location is fantastic and within walking distance to a lot of things to do and see. The bed us really comfortable and the shower is hot. Staff are helpful. Free parking and a good price for San Francisco make this a good choice provided you don't want to hang around the hotel (ie it is not a resort).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I chose this hotel due to the reviews I read, but the good reviews were not what we experienced. The place is dirty, very very loud, staff is rude, room not ready when told it was, located in a dirty part of the city....just everything about it was simply awful!

They wouldn't even take the credit card (the same card I reserved the room with), because of the abbreviation of my name was on the card and my full name was on my license...

I have never experienced that in my live before!!! How could it be OK to reserve the room with that card under my husbands name, but when you show....it is suddenly not OK.

What an arbitrary, ridiculous, and completely non-customer service related rule!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Creswick, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This place , with free parking , is on the edge of ChinaTown and North Beach. So you can go one way for Dim Sum ( Yum Cha) for breakfast and the other way for great Italian food at night.. Fisherman Wharf area and the Coit Tower are easily walkable , buses can take you to the various art galleries and museums. Room was large and comfortable with out being luxurious (Would be wasted on me) A bit of street noise at night as there is no double glaxzing but should not trouble city folk. Recommened for a week long stay at a good price. Staff very helpful and a Guest Laundry which we used twice. Very handy for us to use.

Room Tip: We were given a front balcony room on the 4th floor. Good for watching the passing street. A bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and after we got over the shock of the go-go bars around the corner, Royal Pacific turned out to be a good deal. It is a motel so don't expect much in terms of furnishings and amenities but it has free WiFi with great signal and free secure parking which is a huge plus and the price is very economical. It is clean with reasonably comfortable beds. The front desk has been very pleasant and extremely helpful. The central location in Chinatown is a definite plus within short walking distance to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and other points of interest. Being in the heart of Chinatown was charming with interesting sights and sounds and delicious fresh fruits and vegetables. It is a bit noisy so bring earplugs for a good nights sleep. And as for the go-go bars, although it was a shock to be across the street, there was no rowdy or unpleasant events and it didn't matter much. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LetUsGoTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

So let's get this straight: this is a MOTEL. If you are looking for ample amenities, you shouldn't consider this place. We were given a handicapped accessible room (gosh, I guess my husband and I looked old and tired!) and we had absolutely zero counter space in the bathroom. Fortunately, there was a small table in the room so I had to do anything water/faucet related in the bathroom then did everything else in the bedroom. The room was clean although a little run down. Having said all that, the staff were nice and it was a great location. We were right at the edge of Chinatown and North Beach and within walking distance from all the places we wanted to visit. I don't know if we will come back. It would depend on what our priority will be: location or amenities; can't have both on a budget.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Flen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#120 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#114 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#46 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing