We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for PLUS a super central position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for PLUS a super central position”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean and big enough to be satisfied. They're no new, not too silent (if you do mind street noises ask for a back side room) but in anche absolutely bright position to visit SF if you are choosing to stay in downtown. In the last corner of china town, 50 mt before little italy begins, 15 mins walking from piers and 20 from Union square. One more plus: free park (I do suggest this parking even if you stay some where else: 15usd flat fee per day). And last but not least: the cheapest you can find in the area.
Per gli italiani: siete più a little italy che a china town, la posizione e'davvero top, accanto avrete tutti i migliori bar dove colazionare con cappuccio e cornetto. Se il budget va tenuto d'occhio qs e'il miglior tradeoff possibile per non rinunciare al centro.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    180
    144
    44
    14
See reviews for
106
176
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you don't care about how it looks this is the perfect place.

It's noisy, and you can hear everything from the busy street outside.
It's clean.
The pillows suck.

The front desk isn't very helpful in English. We needed directions and were quite confused - the staff wasn't very willing to help.

They are one of the few hotels that have free parking. We parked our rental car for 3 days and were able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

1st thing we noticed was a musty smell when we entered. Went to turn on the A/C but there is none. We also found, what seems to be mold, on the curtains and in the bathroom. The beds are firm, but the pillows are thin little things. The tv is from the 80's and gets 14 local channels.

I really wish I would have loved this place. Free parking and free Wi-Fi (though slow). They have a very small parking lot in the front of the hotel. If that is full, they have a valet garage. If you need to get stuff out of your car or take it, PLEASE ask. the garage gets locked.

Our room faced Broadway and for a major road in Chinatown, I was surprised it was not too loud. There was a standing fan in the closet that we had planned to use if we needed to drown out the traffic noise.

The light switches all have timers. There is a single plug on the lamp by the bed to charge. Otherwise you can use the little "hall" before the bathroom where the sink and coffeepot are. Lots of great things within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would ask for one NOT facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tjaereborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in San Fransisco last summer.
We didn't have high expectations, because we just needed a place to sleep, not to hang around. But we were surprised! The location was absolutely perfect! China Town is just around the corner and it's easy to walk to every single attraction in San Fransisco including the pier and the center of the city.

Parking was located under the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a fine condition.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to people who just need a place to stay over night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trencin, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have nothing to say against this accommodation. It was clean, it has great location and parking was also provided. WIFI in the room, comfortable bed, kind staff and they also have a room under supervision for your luggage at the day when you need to leave the room, but have a lot of time before you need to leave the city.
Anyway, we were there just for sleep (who would stay in the hotel room when you are in SF?!?) and our sleep was without disturbance, so we (me - 23 & my mum - 55) were totally satisfied :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatkaZakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my two teenaged kids a couple of weeks ago. The location is good in that it's centrally located, right on the border between Chinatown and Little Italy. It's a little dicey in that there are strip clubs right nearby, but my kids are old enough that we made a joke out of it. If you have younger kids, you might have some 'splainin to do, of course. Otherwise, the proprietors were nice, and the parking is free. Those are the pluses.

As for the rest ... well, the rooms are simply okay, and definitely show their age. We stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was clean enough, but the bathroom was tiny and the TV showed maybe five channels. The biggest problem was that they tried to charge me about $200 per night upon checkout, when I'd originally reserved the rooms for less than $150/night. Of course, their confirmation email to me didn't show any details, but when I used the TripAdvisor app on my phone to show the prices being offered online, they reluctantly agreed to "make an exception" and charge me the original price. So, buyer beware -- make sure you call ahead, get your rate in writing, etc.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews we saw here, we asked for a room away from the street. You should definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed three nights at this centrally located motel on the edge of Chinatown that is next door to North Beach (Little Italy). Pros for this accommodation are price, location, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. Nothing really con because we had regular room service, and you have to temper your expectation considering the price point. I agree the décor was tired and dated, but it served its purpose. It is a motel, but you can reserve adjoining rooms and balcony rooms are available. Nearby are very reasonable Chinese fast food establishments, dim sum restaurants, Italian delis, and everything in between. We walked to Union Square to the south of us within half an hour. If you had a room facing Broadway, you can see the Coit Tower from your window. There was street noise of course, but you could stay in a room facing the parking lot in the back if you're concerned with the noise. Local phone calls are $0.50 each. Yes, you do have to pay for ice and if you want a mini-fridge in your room. The blankets and pillows are very thin. As I said, you have to lower your expectation and then you won't be disappointed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misslllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
226 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#116 of 229 in San Francisco
299 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#171 of 229 in San Francisco
473 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#107 of 229 in San Francisco
831 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing