We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #143 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We like this hotel because it's located right in the middle of China Town and we're surrounded by good, authentic, inexpensive chinese retaurants (and some Italian ones too). There's a Walgreen right around the corner within walking distance. Amenities are a bare minimum and the rooms are old but clean. We especially appreciate the hotel's flexibility in allowing a family of 5 to stay in one room without extra person charge. Parking is also free which is hard to come by in the heart of San Francisco. Cable car access is within walking distance. Rooms right up against the main street can be very noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CrazyMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2007

Hello all...my family has been staying at this hotel for YEARS. It is clean and has FREE parking and you can't beat the location. My husband and I have stayed at the Ritz-Carlton and it was wonderful, but we prefer the Royal Pacific for its location and it is so easy to walk anywhere you want to go in the city. My father used to travel to San Francisco quite often on business and always stayed at this hotel. When my family went in June, the kind gentleman at the front desk inquired if we were related to my father and asked about him. We informed the gentleman that he had passed away and he was so kind and had such nice things to say about him. This hotel is not the Ritz or the Four Seasons, but is is oh so much easier on the wallet and frees up more money to enjoy many of the fine dining options SF has to offer. In the immortal words of my late father, when in San Francisco..."sleep cheap and eat expensive" and that is what we did (and will continue to do)!

Stayed: June 2007
6  Thank jenabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

This hotel is called a motor inn, and that's exactly what it is. Don't expect any luxuries, but it's perfectly fine. It's in a FANTASTIC location, on the edge of Chinatown and North beach (the Italian quarter) and it's about half way between union square and the Wharf, so you're pretty much walking distance from everything. (but if you want to drive they also have free parking!!!)

One warning I might have, is if you're booking with them, you should check what the story is with their air conditioning. There did seem to be one in the room, but it wasn't on. I have a feeling it's just cos you have to pay extra, but if you're there in the summer it would be quite important so check it out in advance. We were there late September so it didn't matter.

Overall this place is absolutely fine. If you're fussy, go stay in a fancy schmancy hotel, but if you want a great location for a very reasonable price, stay here. (and for any animal lovers - there's also a COOOOL pet store accross the road!!! - I know not really a selling point but I had to go in and take a look and get a pressie for me little moggy!!)

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SetSail07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

[--]
Hotel is located on the corner of Broadway and Columbus. It is right on the edge of Chinatown and walking distance from North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf and lots of bars and clubs. The downside is the traffic noise and crowded sidewalk. The hotel is clean and reasonably priced. The rooms are comfortable, but not spectacular. Pre-wrapped Danish and coffee are provided for breakfast. The biggest thing going for the hotel is free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank eric967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergiofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valerian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sebastien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#120 of 231 in San Francisco
889 reviews
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#124 of 231 in San Francisco
373 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#179 of 231 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#134 of 231 in San Francisco
527 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#105 of 231 in San Francisco
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £84 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing