We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Served Me Well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel G San Francisco
Ranked #46 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Hotel Served Me Well”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here while I was attending G Summit in June 2014. Despite the conference hall being a 30 minute walk away, I picked this hotel due to its close location to Union Square and the discount rate advertised on its website as it was doing a soft launch and still not entirely done with its renovations.

The hotel is a mix of new and old, but I don't know if this feeling is entirely deliberate yet. The lobby is missing tiny tiles, my rooms paint had tiny fractures and the lighting in the room could be improve. On the other hand, my room also had a Samsung smart TV (with channel that had world cup coverage as I gratefully and luckily found out), a Nespresso machine, a very comfortable bed and a pretty cool alarm clock.

I can definitely see this hotel becoming much nicer than it was when I was there. That isn't what I am reviewing though. I am reviewing my stay, and despite the discounted rate, that fact I was paying 200-400$ a night during my stay made feel like I should have received a better overall stay experience. I would definitely try to stay here again, but maybe once they are done with all their renovations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    329
    121
    39
    34
See reviews for
117
441
76
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in Hotel G for 4 days and it was a great experience. The hotel is brand new, every detail is fashionable and carefully chosen to make you feel at home... But more glamorous!
The crew is nice, helpful and gives good clues about the city.
The hotel is in an awesome location in SF and I cannot wait to get back! Thank u, guys!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location, beautiful rooms and courteous staff. I would stay here again. One complaint we had is that the upstairs AC dripped condensation onto our unit. We just set a washcloth out there to dampen the noise, so not a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstevens84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel is still in soft opening, so many things still under renovation. They're converting an old hotel into a hip, modern boutique hotel super close to the, albeit touristy, action.

Location is amazing, you're a block away from Union Square. Public transit from SFO is easy, just take the BART to Powell Stn and walk up about 4 blocks.

Hotel itself is staffed by ppl who are friendly and accommodating. As a nice but odd touch, there was bread and redbull at reception when we checked in. That puzzled look on your face... No, I don't get it either.

Love the look and feel of the building, very much a boutique. You feel like you're in an old apartment building that's been modernized with the latest decor... which is essentially exactly what it is. Original doors are quite heavy (good thing) but also had a half inch gap between the door and the floor which freely let sound in (bad thing). Original floors means they are creaky, both outside the room and inside.

Loved loved loved the room decor, bedding, furniture, bathroom and fixtures, incredibly fluffy towels and bathrobes. Loved the toiletries too -- which is saying a lot since I always carry my own everywhere.

We will admit to being picky about getting a good night's rest. We appreciate the quiet, and have been known to move rooms to achieve this goal. The first room we had was right next to the elevator shaft, and it was the noisiest room we have even seen a hotel try to get away with. I believe there is only one of these rooms per floor, right in the middle. The elevators are old and the cables drag up and down making a loud and constant scraping noise when in use. Which is all the time. So we asked to be moved, and the hotel staff was quick to oblige -- clearly this is a known issue.

Second room was far at the end of the hall, 2nd floor facing the street. Great room and quiet at night, but by 8am they had already begun construction in the lobby right underneath us. We let it go, but the next morning was woken at 7am by someone hammering so loud that it literally shook the room. We were not happy.

Upon checkout, we complained about the noise in both rooms. The manager was kind enough to refund us one of our nights.

So 5 stars for service, look/feel, location, quality of furniture. But only 3 for overall experience, due to the incessant noise. I could give an extra star if it was just due to temporary construction, but a lot of it was structural, which isn't something they're likely able to fix. Creaky floors, dragging elevator cables, doors with gaps... That's a bigger fix than some final touchups prior to launch.

I wanted to love this hotel so much, but I'd feel like I'd be doing the TA community a disservice by not reporting some of the problems which I believe will persist beyond the grand opening.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to elevator shaft are very noisy with cables scraping the walls. Quiet rooms are furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked this place before there were any reviews as it's a new hotel. A couple of days before we were due to stay there, we had another look on TA and there were now some reviews which made us a bit nervous as there were lots of comments about noise.

So we emailed the hotel and requested a quiet room as I'm a light sleeper. They did reply to say that they would do their best, but it was a downtown hotel so we should expect some noise.

They put us in room 1115 (11th floor) and at the back of the hotel so we didn't hear any traffic noise which was great. We were also away from the lift, however we could still hear it bonging in our room - it is very loud - if I were the manager I would have that noise disconnected! Our room was opposite the cleaners cupboard though - so don't expect a lie in.

The rooms are lovely - very contemporary with polished concrete floors. The bed was so comfy and so were the pillows. The bathrooms don't quite match though - seem a bit tired.

Staff are nice, although struggled to understand the lady that checked us in. The chap was happy to recommend places to eat nearby. The valet was $45 a night, but there is plenty of parking nearby which would be a bit cheaper. Very close to Union Square.

Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 1115 was high up and at the back of the hotel - kept street noise to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked this room without realising that the hotel would not be fully completed during my stay - no bar, no restaurant and even photographers in the reception taking photos for the website i guess. I only stayed 1 night and selected the hotel for it's location more than any other reason. The room is large and well furnished but as noted in other reviews, nosiy - not just due to street noise but also due to the fact that everything is bare concrete flooring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My sister and I were in town for Giants games from June 5-9, at the same time, we are frequent travelers to SF. I decided to stay at Hotel G after coming across them on Expedia since my go-to hotel, Handlery Hotel, was too expensive. I have to say that I was equally impressed with this hotel. Because they are still working out the kinks to the building, I see a lot of potential once everything is all done. Don't let the look of the floor deter you. The rooms were quite nice and comfy. Really had a minimalist, urban contemporary look. They also have a Nespresso machine in room for a quick coffee fix to start your day. Everything was definitely clean and housekeeping was very attentive and we came back to a clean room every day. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had arrived into our hotel after midnight and they made sure we were checked in right away so we could go rest. Totally quick and painless.

My sister and I will be returning to SF in September to run the Giants race and I am pretty sure that we will be staying at Hotel G again. I had a room on the 8th floor! decent view...but I think maybe next time I'll request a higher for a better view of the city I love so much.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GiantsFanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
569 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
303 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
1,650 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel G San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel G San Francisco

Property: Hotel G San Francisco
Address: 386 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel G San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel G is San Francisco. Located just steps from Union Square's best shopping and dining, this is home base for the quintessential modern San Francisco experience. With style to spare, Hotel G offers the perfect San Francisco getaway. Rub elbows with innovators, creators and others who value smart design in a location that is perfect for getting down to business and exploring the authentic San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel G San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing