We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel G San Francisco
Ranked #54 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful in all ways!
We just loved it, nice room and cool design. Stable WIFI. The rooms are good isolated, but the hotel is just by Union Square so you need to count with a little bit of noice. The Fishermanswarf is about 40min away from the hotel, uphill... So if you have a bad stamina or have trouble walking I recommend taking the cablecar just around the corner that will take you to Fishermanswarf for 6$ one way ticket and that's a bit of an experience as well. Other then that we love the hotel and we will most certainly come back next time we're here.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Felix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We book our stay through expedia. When we checked in at 11am the hotel staff graciously upgraded us to a suite so we had more room for my family of 3. Staff extremely helpful re: transportation to sites. They were always willing to take time to talk with us. The beds, even the rollaway were so comfortable (rollaway extra $30 night). Felt very secure in hotel as they always had security by front door in evening. The decor was simple but so nice. I was told by staff the history and how with recent construction they have kept similar architecture from 1908:floors, numbering above door. Very quiet and unpretentious. Perfect location by union square. Even have local health club access up the block on Mason. A must stay hotel in SF.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend with our son in a greater king and LOVED it. Excellent location, superb staff, incredibly tastefully decorated and interesting contemporary art. Loved the bigelow toiletries (same as you find at the Roosevelt in LA) and housekeeping was great too. Yes this is a work in progress but it's available at great rates in light of that and we loved our stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed for one night 4th of July weekend. I really like what they are trying to do, but it's definitely a work in progress. In a few months, this hotel will be a really nice boutique hotel in Union Square.

But for now, there is still cosmetic work being done, the valet parking situation is BAD, the bathroom needs more amenities, the water pressure in the shower was impossible to set to a comfortable level. They are in NO WAY a full service hotel. No restaurant or gym at this point.

I splurged and got the bigger King room - not sure if it was worth it....

The room that I was in had no actual closet - just a closet "area".

Staff I found to be just okay. Not particularly friendly or helpful. Maybe they are a bit stressed from the situation.

In all, location is excellent, decor is modern and hip so I will likely be back if they keep the rates in check.

Room Tip: Get a room AWAY from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaJLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

For those needing a quick summary: Convenient, beautiful, spacious and courteous. Boutique feel just a block from Union Square next to the posh St. Francis Hotel.

For those who want details… this hotel is new and it's very clear it's only going to get better over time. Don't think W hotel. In fact, don't think of the typical at all. Imagine post-modern furniture with all the modern amenities. Free wi-fi, to complementary bottles of water and espresso to greet you in the room. Beautiful wood furnishings and adorable details that you'd expect from a boutique hotel.

If you book a corner room, you'll get a living room where you can sit back and sip your coffee or chat with friends if they come by. Walk down the hall and you'll find an open closet leading to your open bedroom with a sky high denim padded headboard and luxurious bed. In front of that, a flatscreen TV, beautiful post-mod desk. A rocking chair in the corner and lovely old school lamps hanging from the ceiling.

Open the door to the bathroom and you'll be pleasantly surprised by the large beautifully renovated bathroom and Co & Bigelow hair products and lotions.

Bedside you'll find a lovely Tivoli sound system and modern cordless phone.

I'm hearing from employees here that there will be more bells and whistles coming to the lobby downstairs including snacks and drinks to welcome hotel patrons. I can't wait to see when the restaurant and cafe are complete.

Roll all these details plus the convenience to Union Square, the express bus line (38 Geary) right on the hotel's front step and unique feel of the hotel and the Hotel G will be the spot you tell your friends about!

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner room which was really roomy with its own living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suleeny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel G for 4 nights and the room was big, comfy and spacious. As we stayed at top floor (12th) it is quiet with no outside noise at all. The free wifi is great. The hotel is still under renovation so there are no facilities at all (e.g., dining and gym). As what other reviewers mentioned as well, There are quite a few homeless and beggars around the Union Square which could make it seem unsafe to walk around at night.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank klws524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked this room from its glamorous website and disappointingly it does match the websites portrayal of the real thing. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our 6 main city holiday of the USA and it was the about worst. The staff were friendly but the hotel was still been renovated. The main entrance is still tied looking with the tiles on the floor of the entrance broken or missing. The lifts are old and the stairs are tardy. The floors in the rooms and the hallways are uncovered and there fore are noisy and squeak. The furnishings in the room are reasonable and the bed comfortable. There is a fridge provided. The shower has a big old shower rose with no pressure which makes it difficult to wash your hair.
There was no information provided about the hotel and no information about attractions locally to go and see. It was not until we checked out that we learnt that they had a nightly 'Red Bull' hour with free red bull and snacks. The reception desk has a big pillar sitting in front of it which does not make it very inviting at all.
The WIFI was excellent and we did not have any issues connecting.
The hotel is very centrally located to Union Square and close to shopping and public transport etc.
The many homeless people begging in and around Union Square does not help either but this is a not the hotels fault - it would be the same at any hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Don't stay here until the renovation is complete but I cant see that improving things greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
612 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
400 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,757 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
5,356 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel G San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel G San Francisco

Address: 386 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £137 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel G San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel G is San Francisco. Located just steps from Union Square's best shopping and dining, this is home base for the quintessential modern San Francisco experience. With style to spare, Hotel G offers the perfect San Francisco getaway. Rub elbows with innovators, creators and others who value smart design in a location that is perfect for getting down to business and exploring the authentic San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel G San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing