We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint + Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel G San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel G San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Valley, Washington
1 review
“Quaint + Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We made an unexpected visit to San Francisco from Aug. 2-8th, due to a family emergency. We chose Hotel G because of the price and location. Comparable hotels in the area are 30% more. While it's true there are renovations going on, we were not disturbed. The quality was uncompromised. We spent 7 nights in the city.The thing that impressed me the most was the genuine friendliness of the staff. We were often greeted by two staff members as we returned from our outings. The front desk staff provided some provisions we had forgotten, with no questions asked. The rooms are quintessential S.F., with some old touches and some more modern touches. The bed was super comfortable and our room was spacious. We enjoyed the many restaurants located within a 5 min. walk and the proximity to Union Square is fabulous. Don't be swayed by the renovations going on. This hotel still out ranks it's nearby competitors. And, all of this within 25 minutes of the SFO airport. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    297
    108
    35
    33
See reviews for
105
391
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Got in on Monday morning and the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we could check in early. The room was large and comfortable - we got a pleasant surprise when we found a nespresso machine with pods available. The hotel was one minute away from Union square so very easy access. The hotel staff had great recommendations for tourist attractions and we're very friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michkups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

After 5 days at Hotel G, we would return on our next visit. Enjoyed the urban, artsy feel of the Hotel and the decor of the room. The towels and robes were extremely soft, the TV was huge, the staff was outstanding, the location is perfect. We were on the 7th floor and did not experience any external or hallway noise. If you want the same old standard hotel room, stay at the Westin or Hilton. But, if you want to enjoy a hotel/room with character stay at Hotel G. It just opened this past spring so not all of the renovations are complete. And, as far as the expense of valet parking - welcome to SF. That's just the way it is there. (You don't need a car since the hotel is near all of the public transportation options.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

1 day stay here makes me feel home coz of the employees very friendly and helpful.for sure if we go back here to san francisco we will choose same place to stay.location is perfect near to everything what should you ask for overall place is awesome

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmadivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

- big compliment to the guys that welcomed us! Never seen such a friendly staff. They gave us great restaurant tips, made reservations,...
- room is beautiful and clean bathroom with nice products
- location is super (ideal for shopping)
- valet parking price is high but service is great
- still renovating (restaurant wasn't available yet) but that didn't bother us
- we had a room connected to another room by a mutual door, we heard everything our neighbours were doing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dg177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just completed a stay at Hotel G and would stay there again if I return to San Fran. The location is ideal...minutes from numerous public transportation options and sites within walking distance. While the hotel is still finishing up renovations this did not interrupt our stay at all. The staff were friendly and helpful, always greeting us when we came and went from the hotel. We arrived before check-in time, but the staff let us store our bags at the hotel. The rooms were a good size, and complimentary Nescafe and water bottles were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieB126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had problems with this hotel from start to finish. At check in the staff member lost our booking and gave up trying to find it. Whilst trying to find the booking she huffed and puffed at the computer and at us. Eventually, after half hour, another staff member found the booking.
During the night, just after 1am, we were awakened by a staff member, we were later informed this was a security guard, who was shouting on our corridor. Another guest confronted her and got a very rude response.
The shower leaked in the bathroom and the toilet ran loudly throughout the night. I mentioned this to he front desk who said someone would come fix it, this never happened, instead I got a note from the manager of the hotel informing me of a drought in California and to be mindful of water use, how ironic.
We were aware that the hotel was undergoing a refurb, but there is dust everywhere.
The hotel also charges your credit card $100 per night as a deposit and as of yet this has not been returned to my card.
This experience was terrible. You book a hotel to sleep in and due to a staff member this was not possible for us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank belfastmrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#66 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel G San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel G San Francisco

Property: Hotel G San Francisco
Address: 386 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel G San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel G is San Francisco. Located just steps from Union Square's best shopping and dining, this is home base for the quintessential modern San Francisco experience. With style to spare, Hotel G offers the perfect San Francisco getaway. Rub elbows with innovators, creators and others who value smart design in a location that is perfect for getting down to business and exploring the authentic San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel G San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing