We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #61 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed two nights, and the location in Union Square was perfect for us with its proximity to the cable car stops, Sears restaurant, shopping and Chinatown. Our room was clean and comfortable, though it was warm an had an unpleasant odor. We were surprised that our king room was on the smaller side from those we have experienced in other hotels. Additionally, the internet was dreadfully slow. However, we were impressed by the hotel's grandeur and lively atmosphere. Their doorman, a wonderfully personable Rupert Everett look-a-like named Raymond, went out of his way to make our visit here from Pittsburgh easy and enjoyable with his pointers and tips. He also made our one evening in San Francisco a delicious one with a great dinner recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catnhat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    1,310
    496
    199
    109
See reviews for
612
860
210
1,275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Friendly staff, big and clean room, great location just a short walk away from Market square. I was very pleased by my 4 nights stay at this property.
One tip: don't waste 53 dollars with the overpriced in-house valet parking... you can self-park right across the street in a parking garage that charges 26 dollars overnight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It was great to ready your comments and you shared great feedback that will assist other travelers as they make their decisions in where they will select. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your time in San Francisco.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed one night and really enjoyed. I think it's a good overall location, but being that we were only here for a short period it served our purpose. About a mile walk to the balllpark, we took a cab everywhere else. Bed was comfortable as is always the case with Westin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAZBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing to stay with us while traveling to San Francisco. Enjoy your travels.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good location but marred by poor room with numerous overhead beams. Room layout is poor plus an extremely small bathroom. Shower is separated from wash basin.
Housekeeping was also not up to par. Toiletries were not replenished. Bathrobe was not even properly hung. Disappointing for a Westin property.

Room Tip: Avoid room 628 at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFlyer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
HappyFlyer57

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that your experience was not what you and as a hotel expect. We will work on addressing these issues with our team leaders to ensure these are avoided and our systems and standards are being met on a consistent basis.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel due to the fact our other two preferences were booked. Was a two day stay on business. We were not impressed. Despite the "preferred" room rate of $468 this place reminded me of a jazzy version of a 3 star hotel. Certainly not worth $468/night.
The bathroom was extremely small. The bathroom was in your room; there wasn't a separate bathroom with a door. It was open to your room and the counter space was a joke. Thankfully there was shelving under the sink. Lighting in the bathroom area was awful.

Staff was friendly enough, but I would not stay here again due to the generic/substandard bath issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor above 12th. We were on the 5th floor and the noise from Market St is loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ashfritz,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your feedback regarding your experience. Knowing how our guests view the amenities of the hotel is important to us and helps us create a better Westin experience with our Heavenly Bed & Bath products.

Safe Travels and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I was very dissapointed staying at this hotel, when i tried to eat the pretzels that cost 7 dollar i realized that it had a fowl taste! I checked the expiry date on the box, it was over a year past expired! Furthermore the hotel charged me 31 dollars for phone calls i did not make! I called the hotel after i saw these charges and the reception told me they will reverse the charges! So far nothing had been reversed yet! Its been already one month! Do not stay at this hotel if you dont want to be ripped off! I will never stay at this westin again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
izn2008,

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your feedback with us. I will make sure this is brought to the attention of our management team and the incorrect charges placed on your bill are removed. Your assistance in sharing with us will help us improve our services and our product as a Westin. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling in San Francisco.

Be Well and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is 5 minutes from Union square in San Francisco, the reception is efficient, and friendly. Bar is ok. Don't bother with the tour guides. By the way if you want to go to Alcatraz it's booked up until September. There is some dodgy system at pier 39... But we couldn't get on... Boat cruise for 28$ instead. Sorry I digress hotel was ok.. Clean tidy and efficient.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8411399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debey G, Manager at Park Central Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear 841399,

Thank you for your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor with other travelers. Having your review gives us the feedback we need and your review of San Francisco and Alcatraz really does help other travelers as they plan their trips.

Safe Travels and Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#34 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#69 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel San Francisco

Property: Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3106 (Formerly Westin San Francisco Market Street)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 681
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SOMA SAN FRANCISCO HOTEL UPDATED AND UNSURPASSED Downtown convenience. Inspired hospitality. Complete comfort. It all comes together at the Park Central San Francisco Hotel - located amidst our city's most popular sights and venues. Our newly re-imagined hotel elevates the standard of excellence in luxury hotels in San Francisco, while celebrating the timeless art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Starwood, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Central Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing