We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was my second stay at the InterContinental San Francisco, and it was wonderful. We stayed in a junior suite, which is large and has floor to ceiling windows that gave us an incredible view of the city. The Club Level Lounge was fantastic, and the staff was so attentive. All of the concierges we spoke with were incredibly knowledgeable.

What I found most impressive was that, although the President of the US stayed in the hotel one night while we were there, we did not notice a decline in service to regular guests.

We will undoubtedly stay here again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a Club Level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 3,034 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just visited San Francisco, decided by the reviews to stay at the Intercontinental downtown. This was an excellent choice! I loved the location & the staff. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but just a block away is Westfield Mall, with a great number of delicious choices to eat, not at all you typical food court.
If you like to get out and walk, all the shopping is a quick 10 mins away. Did I mention there is a Starbucks on just about every corner, and if that's not your deal, a few sweet cafe's as well.
If I have one complaint, it's that I could hear doors closing & people using the ice machines :(
My room was upgraded for free, so I had an amazing view!! And the concierge Will was awesome.

Room Tip: As soon as I checked in I got an upgraded room, without asking, but I would say, it was awesome!!! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Interncontinental SF while I was in the city for business. I stayed there for a total of 6 nights and enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the sound levels (my room faced Howard) weren't too bad. However, if you are a light sleeper, request a room on one of the higher floors.

The location in Yerba Buena is a 15 minute walk from Union Square and the hotel is conveniently located. A Starbucks is just around the corner. Be careful walking South-West on Howard as the area gets a bit sketchy after dark. If you stay East of 5th, you should be fine.

I used the hotel pool a couple of times and it was a bit short (maybe less than 25 yards) and the temperature was a bit warm for lap swimming. The gym looked pretty new and the spa located on the 6th floor was frequented a lot.

The fridge has a tiny spot to keep your food and all of the mini bar items, bottled water etc. are on electronic sensors so be careful unless you want a charge on your bill. If you want the fridge sensors deactivated, it will cost you around $30. Wireless is $14.95/24 hour period but the price per day is less if you purchase the 3- or 5-day package.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Interncontinental if you are attending a conference at the Moscone. It's right beside Moscone West and just a small block away from Moscone South.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trigirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Extremely pleasant personnel. Room was clean and enjoyed the gym and pool but didn't use the spa. Massage available. A little on the heavy side when it came to buying a tube of pretzels in the room. $9.00 for pretzels and $8.00 for a bottle of water. Easier to go across the street to the local deli and order a sandwich and coffee. Go to Mel's diner around the corner for breakfast. Location is near the cable car off Market Street. Tremendous restaurants in Little Italy. Avoid Chinatown as it is filthy.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a great place to stay while visiting San Francisco! Such a modern hotel, with helpful and friendly staff. Pretty good location within walking distance to many sights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is one of the few truly modern hotels in the city. They let us check in at 9:30 am, and even though we got the deal through Hotwire, they gave us 2 rooms, on higher floor, as we requested. The location is close to Union Square and Bart station, and yet just a little distance away from the hubbub. We were there for business and convention, and the main floor provided a perfect place for meetings as well. Courteous staff, good internet, convenient location, and great views.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daybright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel was very nice. Clean rooms, good location (within walking distance to Chinatown), friendly staff, decent gym, and a cool bar. The one downside was how expensive everything is. It was $52 a day for valet parking, the only parking option at the hotel, and breakfast at the hotel was way overpriced. Overall I had a nice stay but in retrospect I would never have gotten a rental car. Just not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
5,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,475 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £123 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing