We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 5* Intercontinental Experience - Beyond Exemplary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2012

No. I do not work for Intercontinental ! As a constant traveler for work and pleasure around the globe I have stayed at the many wonderful hotels of this top chain and I am also a Priority Club Platinum/Ambassador Member of Intercontinental. I am just finishing up my 6th stay at the exemplary San Francisco member of this chain. I have always loved this hotel as I must visit San Francisco often, I have not stayed at another Hotel since the opening of this Intercontinental a few years back. This trip proved to be one of the best. The hotel has hired some fresh new faces and a number really go the extra distance that makes you feel rewarded for your loyalty. The staff in general is great but I must mention Regina who works in 'Guest Relations' . When I contacted her about needing some help, she went above and beyond and is quite the ambassador in keeping with what I call the 'Intercontinental Experience' I expect to see her rise in this organization over the years. Chloe at Reception and that wonderful concierge staff were terrific. I stayed on the top club floor and my room was just perfect. I had been upgraded to a room with an amazing view of the bay and the room itself was what I would expect of this hotel. The room and bathroom are top-of-the-line in comfort, luxury and it shined from being so clean and for the care that is obvious in the upkeep of the room ( An important point that other big chains should take note). Modern, spacious bathroom with separate area for bathing or taking a shower and very nice amenities! The Flat-screen TV and large closets and all the perks of being a Priority member really makes you feel pampered. This chain is known for its amazing beds but the one in my room here in SF was unreal. So comfortable that I was asleep in two seconds every night. A top standout for this hotel (besides the Michelin star restaurant) is the amazing Club room. In my opinion, and Ive been in many, this might be the best in the U.S. (Le Grand in Paris is still my favorite because of the view of the Opera and the 'Pommery Champagne') The staff are friendly yet there for anything you desire. I find them to be very thoughtful which is an added bonus. The views and the room itself is 'Tops' and from the wonderful breakfast all the way to late night brandies and special spirits along with wonderful appetizers and desserts, you just have to accept the fact that you will be hitting the gym when returning home. I actually love the fitness center, pool and 'top SF rated spa' at the hotel and always make use of all three With all that I have mentioned above, you might understand why I use the phrase 'The Intercontinental Experience' .
At this hotel, it is a 5* plus experience. As always, I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSF-Management, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback! We would like to thank you more directly; if you don't mind, please send us your email address.

Thank you for your continued loyalty,
ICSF Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,706 - 1,712 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice. The hotel is very nice and well kept. The gym facility was nice, and the hotel was very accommodating to the runners. (I was there to run Nike Women's Marathon.) The hotel is located within walking distance to Union Square and public transit, which is good, but it is right on the edge of the bad part of town... You will be fine as long as you don't get turned around.

I found housekeeping lacking for a hotel of this caliber. Our room wasn't kept up as well as I excepted it to be, and the coffee was not replaced daily. We had to call everyday for more coffee and coffee condiments (ie creamers). We asked that this be corrected the first day, but four days later, we were still calling... not too bad, but annoying and not the type of service you expect.

The concierge on duty one day was horrible and unhelpful, but the next day we got a very helpful young man that went out of his way to help us find a restaurant that served a decent hamburger and delivered. Kudos to him; he really went out of his way.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a better view. I also think they have bay views... we had a view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSF-Management, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that housekeeping and the concierge did not provide consistent excellent service. Please feel free to contact our Director of Guest Services, Shehani DeMarseille, for any questions/concerns regarding past or future stays:

shehani.demarseille@ihg.com

Warmest Regards,
ICSF Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Location, location, location. To experience the best of any city where you stay is so important. Intercontinental Howard St is perfectly positioned, walking distance to transport, restaurants and shopping. Hotel room was spacious, well appointed and modern. Concierge team were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Fire station on Howard St so expect a siren or two at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Intercontinental San Francisco is a very nice, modern hotel and conveniently located. Unfortunately, I found the service to be far from what I expect from a high-end hotel. Lots of little failures: in-room coffee not replaced, dead battery in the bathroom scale, daylight savings time ended, but nobody reset the clock, ice bucket not emptied...
Nothing that spoiled the stay, but at these prices I expect expect exceptional service.
There's a nice restaurant in the hotel, but it is very expensive. You can do much better nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodiorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed a week here for a conference. Location was great- we walked to get to everywhere. Great views from the room with full length windows everywhere. We had a corner room which accomodated a baby's cot quite nicely within the room. Dinner at the restaurant was good although the ambience could be better. Only downside was that we could hear police sirens in the distance many times a day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proudnewparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Spent a very nice night here. Was in town for a conference and found the Intercontinental to be a great place to stay. The room was comfortable and well-appointed, the location was very convenient to hip bars and restaurants in SOMA neighborhood, and I was very impressed that such a large chain hotel is LEED certified. Great service, great lobby and common areas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonneChere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I've stayed at the InterContinental twice for business. Both times I received unsolicited upgrades to rooms with spectacular views of the city. The rooms are modern but very comfortable. The staff greeted me personally as I came in and out of the hotel. I was a part of a group that booked through one of the conference managers, so I can't speak to how the service would be coming in as an individual.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor when you check in. These rooms are more expensive, but if they are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InezLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,317 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
5,643 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £136 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing