We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was fine - noise on weekend was ridiculous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel was fine - noise on weekend was ridiculous.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here over a weekend for a work seminar. Have stayed at a number of Intercontinental hotels and I generally have a vey positive experience when traveling during the week. There were people partying in the hall, slamming doors, swearing and smoking. At one point at around 4 am - someone told one of the unruly guests to be quiet. His response? I will not be quiet, I paid 400 dollars for this room. Um ok? And the rest of us are staying for free?

Rooms were nice and clean. Conference facilities were nice too. Maybe it was just a weekend crowd.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear dsisk859,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your stay. I'm sorry it was not a peaceful night's sleep and you were disturbed by other guests. We would like to speak with you further about your stay and hope you will contact our Guest Services Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    970
    290
    96
    67
See reviews for
493
882
194
958
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great hotel with an excellent staff. If your at the Moscone Center for an event this is an extremely convenient location. The hotel is beautiful and housekeeping is impeccable. The bar and restaurant are a bit over priced for the neighborhood but it is an Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side get the full afternoon sun and tend to get warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Jmedster,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your most recent stay. We're so glad you love our great location, beautiful hotel and wonderful staff. We hope you'll stay with us again soon even if you don't have an event at the Moscone Center.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for a Conference last August. The hotel is very modern and the staff was helpful. Our room was clean and of decent size. The bathrooms are also very nice.

The location is the only downside for the InterContinental San Francisco. You have to walk a few blocks to get to anything worth seeing, and grabbing a taxi is not the easiest at the hotel (just uber instead). Additionally, while we did not feel unsafe at night, the area does get a little sketchy for San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCA-IAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Aaron R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed our guest rooms and friendly staff. We are located very conveniently just a few blocks away from Union Square, Market Street and countless attractions and hope you'll return to experience everything in downtown San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I enjoyed staying here. The room was pretty good, and most importantly quiet. The location is a bit iffy as it borders some dodgy neighbourhoods, but it didn't bother me that much. Would tsay here again if in town. For breakfast I would recommend a walk to Dotties.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hove_Windsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Hove_Windsurfer,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your guest room and found it to be quiet and restful. We hope you make it back to town again soon and we are able to host you again.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Nice room, friendly staff, nice food (if a little expensive!) and great location. Exceeded our expectations and we would stay again.

We didn't make it into the pool but looks lovely.

Tip: go for a corner room on a high floor. Amazing views. Incredible. We slept with the curtains open to enjoy the views all night and immediately we woke up. Amazing

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear holjones,

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We're very proud of our guest rooms, friendly staff, great location and delicious food and we love to hear when our guests love them too. We always try to exceed expectations and can't wait for your return so we can make your stay even better.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

stayed here twice - once for business a few years ago (first month they opened up) and again recently.

hotel is in great conditions, elevators move fast. location is ok for business, not the best for liesure but not bad either. San Fran is made for walking & trolleys so everything is just a few block walk really.

we did find alternative overnight parking for about $20 cheaper per night. since we weren't moving the car alot, we went head & parked at a lot 2 blocks away - we asked the valet drivers and gave them a $5er for their recommendation. completely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear JennySTL,

Thank you for returning to our hotel and for leaving these comments about your stay. We're glad to learn you think the hotel is in great shape and centrally located. We hope you are able to make back soon to experience all the other amenities we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location is 2 blocks south of the Powell stop on the Bart. It's not at union square but definitely walking distance if you don't mind a stroll. Hard to find a hotel with a pool, hot tub, gym, etc., so definitely a plus if these are amenities you seek. Hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Celebrated my fiancee's birthday and they sent dessert to the room. They also let us check in early (8 am). Concierge desk was really helpful with public transportation and recommendations. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Johnson T,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We're honored you chose to spend such a special occasion with us. We love to hear you enjoyed our great location, wonderful amenities and friendly staff. We hope you come back before next year's birthday to enjoy San Francisco again.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,009 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing