We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

After a long drive and heavy traffic I was happy to arrive at the Intercontinental . Was greeted warmly by Steven and the rest of the crew at the valet and check in area. Check in was fast and efficient and our room was ready right on time.
Due to a minor problem on a previous stay Hizkia Larranaga, the guest relations manager made sure this stay was perfect. Wonderful room with a great view. Facilities were well maintained and gym and pool inviting. As an ambassador member I felt I received extra special care. I belong to many hotel loyalty programs but this may be the best; as an ambassador member you get lots of benefits including room upgrades,free wifi and fruit and water in the room when you arrive- all small things but they add a lot of value.
The entire staff I encountered was professional and warm-especially Hizkia. That is why I try to stay at IC hotels when I travel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Lagu1,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We're delighted you found our hotel to be well maintained your stay perfect. Thank you for continuing to frequent InterContinental Hotels and we look forward to your next perfect visit.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    995
    300
    100
    74
See reviews for
522
904
204
974
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Lets start with bad :
We arrived by taxi, few bellboys were standing at the door looking at us, they saw we have big suitcases but none of them came and offered taking our luggage. We had to carry everything by ourselves to lobby and to our room. Same goes with taxi - they will not call taxi for you unless you use hotel car.
Check in - girl was very polite and nice to us, but check-in took really long time.

Now good things:
Hotel is pretty new, rooms are all modern and very clean. Our ambassador status was honored, we were given higher floor room with nice view, fruits and water every day.
The location is nice too, just few minutes walk from Market street.
We ate dinner once in their Michelin star restaurant Luce, despite bad reviews on internet it all turned out to be amazing. Food presentation, taste, restaurant service were all worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UneCharogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear UneCharogne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your stay. I apologize for the lack of service you experienced upon your arrival. We always strive to provide our guests the best customer service and I'm sorry we fell short in this area. I have passed your comments on to our Director of Operations for further review and training. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, our great location and our Michelin star restaurant Luce. We hope to welcome you back again and give you a truly InterContinental Experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were here for a conference and a weekend. It has a wonderful locación quite close to Unión Square, and many good shopping options, it is a short walk to the cable car station and many nice restaurants. The service was great. The concierne staff was increíble. Every sugestión that they gave us worked out quite well.
My room , 14th flor, was really nice and with good space and view. They took into consideration my request of having a room away from elevators and ice machines.
Breakfast was pretty good with many diferent options, good variety of fruits, breads,cereals, etc
I would go back no doubt!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Claudia1234567890,

Thank you for leaving these comments about your stay with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our great location, beautiful guest rooms and friendly and helpful staff. We always love to hear that guests experienced a great stay and will be back. We look forward to your next trip.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were here for a conference at the Moscone Center, so it was essentially next door. It's a short walk to the Muni, the Cable Cars and the BART. Really the best thing was the incredible service, especially the concierge staff. Everything they suggested turned out to be wonderful: restaurants, tours, etc. This is not a cheap hotel by any means, but you get a lot for the money.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. This is a 33 story hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Dave L,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay. We love to hear that our staff has made such an impact on a guests stay and appreciate your mentioning our Concierge team. We hope you get the chance to visit us again even without traveling for a conference.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I usually stay at the other SFO Intercontinental hotel - The Mark Hopkins. When they were booked recently I opted for this Intercontinental, and was very happy it worked out. This a lively hotel with an excellent lobby bar, and there are plenty of local restaurants to serve the convention center crowds. My room, on a high floor, was spacious and had a spectacular view. The downside for me is the property serves the Moscone Center, so is not too convenient to the Financial District.., but I think it's worth the walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorfarm153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Poorfarm 153,

Thank you for making us your new favorite hotel in San Francisco! We're so glad you enjoyed our beautiful guest rooms and lobby bar and thank you for thinking we're "worth the walk." We look forward to continuing to wow you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here over a weekend for a work seminar. Have stayed at a number of Intercontinental hotels and I generally have a vey positive experience when traveling during the week. There were people partying in the hall, slamming doors, swearing and smoking. At one point at around 4 am - someone told one of the unruly guests to be quiet. His response? I will not be quiet, I paid 400 dollars for this room. Um ok? And the rest of us are staying for free?

Rooms were nice and clean. Conference facilities were nice too. Maybe it was just a weekend crowd.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear dsisk859,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your stay. I'm sorry it was not a peaceful night's sleep and you were disturbed by other guests. We would like to speak with you further about your stay and hope you will contact our Guest Services Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great hotel with an excellent staff. If your at the Moscone Center for an event this is an extremely convenient location. The hotel is beautiful and housekeeping is impeccable. The bar and restaurant are a bit over priced for the neighborhood but it is an Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side get the full afternoon sun and tend to get warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Jmedster,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your most recent stay. We're so glad you love our great location, beautiful hotel and wonderful staff. We hope you'll stay with us again soon even if you don't have an event at the Moscone Center.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,212 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,682 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,213 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing