We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, very good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay, very good service.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location for getting about, very friendly helpfull staff, good facilities and excellent cusomer service. Dealt with noisy neighbour problem very efficiently and even provided a basket of fruit as an apology.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POWTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Powteam,

Thank you for this nice review of your stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our location, hotel amenities and particularly our staff. Thank you for your understanding as we assisted with your noisy neighbor and we are happy it did not impact your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    970
    290
    96
    68
See reviews for
494
882
195
959
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Oz
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This 'glass' hotel is really lovely. We had an 'upgrade' to a 25th floor corner room, with Club access, that was just Gorgeous. At night the views to the Oakland Bay 'illuminated' bridge and City were Stunning. The daytime view the other way...included the 'top of the Mark'...equally Great! And the Huge bathroom with its wall of glass was also Lovely. We found that we really Enjoyed 'returning' to the room 'early'...smile. A real 'plus' for us was the 'atmospheric' Pub just across the street that served Fabulous 'Buffalo Wings'...smile. A small 'grumble' at the hotel was the breakfast at the Club lounge... we didn't think it measured up, as far as other hotels we've stayed in. And the 'tiny' plate that was provided was far too small for even a 'normal' serve of eggs on toast... The evening drinks/canapes, on the other hand, WERE excellent, as were the Christmas decorations. We will Definitely return to this well located, 'nearly' Excellent ..Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Being a city hotel...the upper floors do provide more of a view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oftentraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Oftentraveller45,

Thank you for leaving this review of your pre Christmas stay. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our views, guest rooms and location. We look forward to your next visit, maybe even for another pre Christmas stay.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I'm a bit of a picky fellow and The Intercontinental Hotel in San Francisco hit a home run on this visit. I'm actually a very picky, well versed traveller who possesses x-ray customer service vision in my never ending exciting pursuit of the perfect stay.
Location; Perfect. Why? Because Fisherman's Wharf is over priced and in my opinion over rated. For us the location choices were narrowed down to Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf. No disrespect to the rest of beautiful San Francisco. Union square is diverse and open for business much later than the Wharf area. Your options for transportation, food, culture, people watching and shopping go on and on. The intercontinental is a short 2 blocks to the Market St Cable Car. Final answer; location is perfect.
The Hotel; Near Perfect. Why? What stood out first was the product. The hotel is a near new building and is kept virtually spotless inside and out. The Valet service was prompt and check in was a breeze. We chose the corner suite and were thoroughly impressed. With the drapes pulled back it was a near 250 degree view from the Golden Gate to the Baseball Stadium and Bay Bridge. We enjoyed a stellar view from the 18th floor and road noise was non existent.
The room was very well appointed. They have a clever system of a sensory fridge so be careful. If you remove the item from the sensor you have purchased the item. The bed was ultra clean and we slept soundly. The safe is built into the closet and the bathroom is quite nice. The toiletries were top shelf and the bath towels were quite large.
The Restaurant was it's own experience and deservedly should have it's own review. The Hotel is home to the Luce Restaurant. Just go. Don't miss it. Incredible is about what comes to mind.
Our visit to the Lobby Bar was a blast. We were served by the very personable bartender Ken. We shared a few laughs and were impressed by his attention to detail. We ourselves ordered the ever exquisite Rum & Coke but also got to see his real talents when the folks next to us chose a very nice wine from his suggestions.
The pool is ok and serves the purpose. No real view or atmosphere but it was clean and safe as was the hot tub.
The business centre was a bit of a let down. The equipment was top notch and everything worked well however at a cost.(17 dollars to be exact) I tried to save a few bucks by asking a Concierge if she could assist with the purchase and printing of some tickets for a show. Without getting into the very small details of an interaction gone awry I'll say the concierge and the hotel were most efficient in handling the situation. It's because of that The Intercontinental loses absolutely NO points from me. I fully understand you can't please everyone and not every interaction is going to be perfect. The staff rose to the top and should be given full marks for situation control 101.
Everywhere we went we were greeted very politely by the staff. They also have well dressed, well placed security to ensure you feel comfortable.
Be sure to become a member of their rewards program to ensure some little extras like free Wi-Fi. Booking directly with the hotel also doesn't hurt to help things along as well.
Overall our stay with The Intercontinental was exceptional. We will certainly be returning here on our next visit and I will take pleasure in recommending your hotel to my friends. Final answer is perfect.
Thank you for the wonderful time. Well done.

Room Tip: Corner suite is a must at the very least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meezleedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Meezleedog,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this review. We appreciate when well seasoned traveler's such as yourself find our hotel to be a perfect fit. We hope to continue to make all guests feel as you do and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
547 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Recent conference in San Fran was at the Marcone Convention Center. Even though the Convention Center is broken up into multiple buildings, The Intercontinental is right next to one of them, and across the street diagonally from the others. The hotel is very clean and the staff were exceptional. Had room service one night and my food was very good (although overpriced as room service always is), but didn't try the hotel restaurant. Plenty of space in my hotel room, and I had everything I needed. The internet worked well, with no speed issues. Not always the case in hotels, so this was a pleasant surprise. The bed was okay, and I slept fine. The only negative I experienced was the noise come from outside (there seems to be a fire truck or ambulance running through the streets every hour, on the hour), but you can't blame that on the hotel. All in all, if I'm ever in SF again for a conference, I'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mike B,

Thank you for leaving this review of your stay. We're happy to hear we made your conference that much nice to attend and you found our location and services to suit your needs. We look forward to the next conference that brings you back to the InterContinental San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you do not mind hiking up a few blocks to the top of the hill, you will love this hotel. So peaceful, quiet and classic. The service is great, fitness room is a bit small but who needs to work out when marching up and down the hills in San Francisco? The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Union Square area by foot so if you want to see tourists, go shopping etc., you can do so easily. It is also conveniently situated if you want to head down to Marina ( tram or walk), Downtown area ( Equinox for example), or Pacific Heights ( 30 minute walk). All in all, I loved staying there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are massive and quiet. I loved the layout ( not like W hotels where the bathroom is pra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear OlgaUES,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful review of our sister property, the InterContinental Mark Hopkins. I have passed along your great sentiments to them and we hope you'll return soon!

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I got here early from LA, circa 9:30am, and asked if they could wash me a shirt. Chap on front desk said he'd check if a room was available, and if so I could check in right away. Thank you so much.

Rooms were fine with good bed and shower. I stayed on the 8th floor, and can I say the two ladies who do the rooms are fab, very service focused and should be praised.

Had breakfast which was good on the whole, and a few beers at night. All well served, etc. As regards the location, only a couple of blocks to Union Square, which suited me, so I valet parked the car and walked. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophielaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sophilaura,

Thank you for this review of your recent stay. We're happy you enjoyed our hotel and our restaurant as well as our great location. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The air conditioning does not work on hot days. If you like your room cool when you sleep don't even try if it is a hot day.. Not only that but the air conditioners turn themselves off if they don't detect movement (like when you are asleep).

I asked for the down comforter to be replaced with a blanket in the duvet cover. Came back to go to sleep no blanket, no comforter...just the cover at 11:00PM and I was tired..

Had to get my keys reprogrammed 5 time over a 2 day stay.

The rooms are small for $500 per night and the decoration uninspired and inexpensive.

Over all, I would not send anyone to this hotel, return myself and not likely to stay in another Inter-Continental if this is now the standard of this once glorious hotel group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Neal F,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with us. I'm sorry we did not live up to your expectations. We would like to speak with you further about your stay and hope you will contact our Guest Relations Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com at your earliest convenience. We look forward to connecting with you soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing