We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A smooth trip with minor blips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A smooth trip with minor blips”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This IC is in close proximity to Moscone and all the touristy shopping spots. The check-in process is smooth, and the rooms beautiful. Because of our Ambassador membership, we should have received an automatic upgrade. Unfortunately there were no rooms available (don't believe it), but as a consolation, they gave my husband and I free breakfast vouchers. To be honest, that didn't help considering we have friends and family in SF so we never used them since we had plans every day. We had a large room at the corner with a great view. We shared no walls, only with the stairs. It was a disabled access room so the closet was lower so our shirts and jackets were hanging very close to the ground. The spa area was nice and clean, and they also have a lap pool. I really loved the gym, especially since they have one Pilates reformer machine. Another big bonus, doggy friendly! Should I return again to SF, I'd like to stay at this IC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyser_soosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Keyser_Soosie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We're happy you liked our central location, smooth check in process, beautiful guest rooms, spa and fitness center. I'm sorry we weren't able to provide the upgrade you were expecting and the closet was lower than you'd prefer. We do hope you'll chose to stay with us again on your next trip to San Francisco and allow us give you a truly InterContinental experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    970
    290
    96
    68
See reviews for
494
882
195
959
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here overnight for a friend's bachelorette party. Even though it was only 1 night I used the fitness center which was pretty good! Had weight machines, free weights and cardio machines. The valet parking was awesome and I was promptly assisted and check in was a breeze. I had a friend who was sharing a room with me but was coming in much later and the front desk was very cooperative with having a room key available for her get in. The restaurant and lounge looked very nice but I didn't try them. When it was time to head out for dinner, I was taken by town car that the hotel provided to the restaurant. Nice to not have to flag down a cab. If I needed to flag one down, the doorman would have done it for me. The room was VERY clean and very spacious. This hotel is of a high standard and definitely shows it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Yuri H,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the fitness center and an easy check in. We hope you'll stay with us again for another special occasion!

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Incredible customer service, rooms are exceptional with great beds, mattresses and accessories. Service staff are exemplary. Better than many hotels that cost much more. In room dining is great. The Club Room amenities were delicious and plentiful, comfortable seating too.

Room Tip: higher floors for a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Julio G,

Thank you for these nice comments! We're delighted you had a wonderful time staying with us and thought our staff, rooms and service were exemplary. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's a nice hotel, clean rooms, friendly front desk staff.

But it's hard to relax when they nickel and dime you on all the little niceties. Internet access? $15/day. Use a computer in the business center? Extra charge. No vending machines, but they have an honor bar where you can enjoy a $5 can of Diet Coke. Valet parking? $60/day.

The kicker for me? They offer complimentary car service within 2 miles of the hotel, so I availed myself of this to get to a morning meeting. Nice town car but when they dropped me off I guess the driver was expecting a tip because when I turned to say "have a nice day" he drove off without a word, not even waiting for me to completely close the back door.

You deserve better than this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Bruce G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your stay. We're glad you found the hotel room comfortable and the front desk staff friendly. We are happy to say that all IHG Rewards members do enjoy complimentary internet access and hope you take advantage of this free to join program the next time you visit any IHG hotel. I do apologize about the instance with our car service and thank you for bringing that to our attention. We would like to speak with you further about this matter and hope you will contact our Guest Relations Manager, Hizkia Larranaga at hizkia.larranaga@ihg.com at your earliest convenience. We look forward to connecting with you soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modesto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location-near fabulous shopping and within walking distance of ATT park. The rooms are very well appointed with very comfortable beds and wonderful views from the rooms.Service is top notch with both easy check in and check out. I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunamoonModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear lunamoonModesto,

Thank you for your continuing patronage and for sharing your experiences. We love to hear when guests repeatedly enjoy our friendly staff, comfortable guest rooms and great location. We look forward to continuing to impress you again and again.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was really pretty with neat modern decor. All the staff were very friendly, and helpful. We felt so welcomed and the room was really comfortable also. Walking distance to chinatown, good location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna2009M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Anna2009M,

Thank you for these kind comments about your stay. We always strive for all of our guests to feel welcomed and to enjoy their stay. We you'll chose to stay with us again on your next visit to the bay area.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The pricing is a little more than I normally would spend. However, if you are traveling for business on company dime, I think this is a great hotel to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff is very helpful. It's also walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Erica R,

Thank you for sharing this review. We're happy you found our hotel to be conveniently located, our staff helpful and our rooms comfortable and clean. We look forward to the next time your company business brings you to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing