We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting space and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent 4 days at the InterContinental for a conference. Lovely staff, room was awesome, Internet very fast and followed me nicely through the hotel, really great concierges (thank you Ms. Africa). Would stay there every time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelShust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear MelShust,

Thank you for leaving this great note about your recent stay with us. We're thrilled you liked our guestrooms, fast internet and exceptional Concierge team. I have passed your comments onto them we look forward to your next visit to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I was in SF for work and took a couple of days to browse around . The hotel is placed in key location between the financial district and not far from main attractions. I recommend very early breakfast. Seeing and having the place all to yourself adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonDan1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear MonDan1171,

We're so happy you found a few days to browse around while in town for business and really enjoyed our great location. We hope on your next business trip to San Francisco you are able to find a few more days to browse again.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have no complaints about the room itself. It was clean, comfortable and I had quite a nice view. On the 23rd floor, you would expect to be insulated from some of the street noise, but it was still quite loud.

However, this hotel is extremely expensive - I was there on business luckily or I would have been even more disappointed to pay so much for what it is.

As others have said, internet is $15 a day and parking is around $60 a day plus tips for valet service.

The main problem, as I see it, is the location. I was there for a conference at the Moscone center so that was convenient, but this is not a place I would want to stay for pleasure. The hotel literally separates a nice area from a bad area. If you are walking out of the front doors of the hotel, do not veer right or you may end up in a bad part of town as happened to two of my coworkers. Also, the surrounding area of the hotel lacks charm.

The pros - nearby target and shlpping center with lots of casual dining options.

About a $18 cab ride and 2 mi walk to the wharf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playdobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Playdobro,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear you have no complaints about your stay and enjoyed our clean, comfortable guest rooms and great view.

We are happy to say that all IHG Rewards Club members do receive complimentary WiFi access and hope you take advantage of this free to join program before your next stay with any IHG property. We are located in downtown San Francisco just a few blocks from Union Square and the Market Street shopping district and public transportation is readily available as well.

We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to give you a truly InterContinental experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

About what you'd expect from a chain hotel. Rooms not overly large but clean and everything worked. Nice view of 'roof tops' across to the bay. Convenient location - as long as you don't stumble into the Tenderloin District. Excellent concierge desk, friendly efficient staff in general. Didn't use restaurant but ate from the bar food menu one evening and it was very good. Small bar between reception & restaurant, OK but a bit like sitting in a thoroughfare.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Blob,

We're glad you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms, central location, excellent staff and Bar 888. We love to hear when guests have a nice stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently spent three days at the Intercontinental on Howard Street (there are two Intercons in San Fran). Firstly, the concierge staff is amazing. They booked us at great restaurants at the last minute and were incredibly helpful during our stay. The front desk is staffed by smart attractive folks who look to serve. The room was impeccable and the views outstanding. Even the shoeshine service was five star. Had breakfast at the restaurant each morning and and even lunch one day-food was terrific. Took time out one afternoon for a massage and would recommend a visit to the spa if time permits.

Room Tip: It's not for the economy minded but one of to the best hotels in the States.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Ahg2,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful review. We love to hear when guests enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our amazing Concierge staff, I have passed your kind words onto them. We're delighted you loved our beautiful guest rooms, great restaurant and relaxing spa. We hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Given it's luxury status and highly rated spa, I think my expectations were initially too high. That said, it doesn't have the high room rates of some of its competitors, and that should have been a clue. But in the end, this was a good experience, and I will return!

PRO's: Very friendly, helpful staff. Gave me a nice credit for troubles. Great spa services. Comfortable bed. Nice view (23rd floor). Good room service.

CONs: Jr suite was smaller than I'd expect for a "suite" (but priced comparably). Bathroom amenities and design were average only. Spa part of the spa was small, not very attractive, and unimpressive (great services though. Just don't plan on a day enjoying baths, steam etc available in most resort spas). On-going tv probs (but nice credit given for trouble).

In short, I'd definitely recommend this hotel, just know that you will get something nice but not exquisite. But for the price, it's a good choice. I will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank acf1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear ACF1969,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff, great spa services and comfortable beds. I apologize for the on-going tv issues and am glad we were able to resolve this issue to your liking. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Once a while we splurge for something really nice like the IC SF. You feel you get your money worth here - the location of the hotel, the hardware and the service just make you feel it is worth it.

It was not perfect. The safe in the room was stuck in the open/lock position - I guess the previous guest locked it while it was open. So, I had to wait for security to unlock it. My room was in the high 20s and I could still hear the street noise well (and there is a fire station near by). There is also some kind of mechanical sound that is coming from above - not sure if it was the elevator system or some kind of piping.

Still, beautiful room, great view and very friendly staff (everyone from front desk to housekeeping) made it a good stay.

Room Tip: Higher level for better view (and if you are not worried about fire/earthquake). City view rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Want2GoHome,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We love to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed our beautiful guest rooms, central location and customer service. I'm sorry for the experience you had with the safe lock and for the ambient outside noise, however we're glad that our service from all colleagues made your stay a good one. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,322 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
5,657 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,367 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £112 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing