We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended - at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Recommended – at a price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

We arrived at the hotel and despite requesting over two months ago in writing (and paying for) a suite on a high floor, plus calling to confirm the day before, we were offered a room down on the 8th floor (as nothing else was apparently available). After having made our displeasure very clear with receptionist and being sent to a tiny alternate room on a higher floor, we were eventually given exactly the type of room we’d booked, a suite on the 22nd floor. Why this couldn’t have happened at the beginning I don’t know – not the best greeting by the hotel (especially after a long flight)!

That said, the rest of our one week stay was excellent. The concierge (Bill) couldn’t have been more helpful, the doormen were always smiling and facilities like the pool, gym, room service were as good as you’d expect.

If I had any other criticism it would be the secondary costs. The price of their breakfast is simply not worth considering, especially when just 5 mins walk away there is the excellent Mel’s Diner, offering a substantial meal for less than half the price. If you want really top class food while you’re in San Francisco I can’t recommend highly enough either Scomas Seafood (Pier 47, Fisherman’s Wharf) or the classic Tadich Grill (240 California St.).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niknak586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,418
    963
    287
    95
    66
See reviews for
492
877
192
946
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

The hotel is brand new and the rooms have been done very nicely. I stayed in a junior suite and what I loved most about it was that it was located at a corner of the building and two of the room walls were completely turned into window fronts which gives faboulous day light and even better views over the town. The same was done with the bathroom. You could soak in your bath and look out on San Fran. This simply cannot be topped.
Staff were all very smiley and helpful and some even remembered my name - which I feel is always a bonus. The only thing was that my "please do not disturb" sign was overlooked twice.
Food: the chef has been awarded best new comer. I met her and she is lovely and down to earth. When it comes to the cuisine it is a somehow undefinable fusion of European, Middle Eastern and Asian. It was good but for my taste there was too much going on. However it was certainly adventurous - eg the rye ice cream. The quality of breakfast however was dissappointing.
Location wise Market and Union Square are only a five minute walk away. Everything else would need to be done by cab. The area itself looks rough and I would not walk around at night which is a shame.
The hotel has a spa, a gym and a pool. Don't expect to be wowed away though. I have not tried the spa, but the gym and pool are - as to be expected from an Interconti - very corporate. The pool looked even not very well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melachocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

We have stayed at the Intercontinental before. The room we had this time was a king bed standard room. The hotel offers all the amenities that most large chain hotels offer. Printing of boarding passes is free. Parking at the hotel is high at $56/night with in and out privileges. Blue Bottle Coffee is just down from the hotel on Mint Street off 5th Street. They offer a limited breakfast and good coffee. The hotel is close to MOMA, the Moscone Center, the new Jewish Museum and Yerba Buena Park where you can find some nice spots for lunch. The hotel often offers deals through Travelzoo, Orbitz, Expedia and other online sites as well as it's own website.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butcher.T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

We got a really good deal on our room, a very large room with king bed. Clean, nice bathroom and shower. The usual amenities for a hotel of this caliber, including morning paper delivery outside room door, large flat screen TV, iPod docking station. I was merely surprised at the fee to use the internet at the business center. However, one was able to view and print boarding pass for no charge.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruebrezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, CS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

My husband and I just returned from a great two night stay at the Intercontinental San Francisco. We are very hard to please, but I must say, our stay was way, way beyond expectation. The hotel was immaculate, the service five star...in fact, everything was five star. I loved the room, the view, the bed, the dining room and room service. The best part...it was quiet...it was away from the hustle of Union Square...all those sirens. We actually got good sleep....incredible. Thank you....a job well done.

Helpful?
1 Thank Desertbrat4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

I have stayed in many hotels for business so I have seen my share of good and bad hotels. However, nothing compares to my stay at the Intercontinental San Francisco! The bed is seriously the most comfortable, luxurious bed I've ever been in, hands down. They use a feather bed and a feather comforter which makes it very hard to get up in the mornings. Also, although I wasn't in the room much, the view from the room was spectacular (had a view of the bay). Try to get one of these rooms on the upper floors.

The room itself is quite large and the bathroom is amazing. I do wish there was a bit more counterspace. The shower is enormous but wish there was a tub to sit in after a long day.

If you are in town for business and want a nice place to stay in a central location (it's close to the Westfield, Moscone, FIDI) then stay at this hotel! I look forward to staying here again soon.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

Beautiful new hotel and modern rooms. Complimentary fruit platter and mineral water on check-in with Intercontinental Ambassador Card. Good location for Conference at Convention Center down the road. Short walk to shopping area downtown and to the cable car stop in town. Catch the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf. The 'San Franciscan' at Fisherman's Wharf has excellent crabs, and Boudin's (chains throughout San Francisco) is excellent for lunch rolls and the famous calm chowder bread bowls. Grocery store (within shopping complex) close to hotel - for snacks and water supplies.

Visitor Information Center downtown were very helpful- be sure to see them and get a one-page flyer from them with all the top tourist spots in San Francisco (has all the bus numbers you need to get there). Can get a 3-day, 5-day or 7-day travel pass from the Visitor Center- allows unlimited trips on trains, buses, and cable car (much cheaper than paying $5 for cable car per trip). Book the Alcatraz tour early as often booked out in the high season.

Breakfast at Intercontinental was expensive, and not much range. If you don't like the scrambled eggs, don't ask for poached eggs or omelette, as this is an additional charge ($19 on top of the $35-40 you pay for the full American breakfast). Chente is an excellent waiter with a good attitude.

Make sure you check the charges carefully at check-out as there were additional incorrect gratuities added on to our breakfast bill, and other mistakes.

Liked: Location; modern new rooms
Disliked: Poor range at breakfast; many incorrect charges on bill

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing