We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Gate Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Grant Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheehan Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
White Swan Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Petite Auberge(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Orchard Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Beresford(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
497
222
24
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
222
24
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspip the catb bshared bathroomantique elevatorafternoon tea and cookieshotel catprivate bathother guestshot croissantsclawfoot tubunion squarebed and breakfastcable carbush stclaw footcharming hotelevery afternoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a wonderful stay we had... An excellent location, from the airport we got the BART and walked just a few blocks to the hotel. And from the hotel, we just walked everywhere. Very convenient but also peaceful and quiet. Family owners and staff were kind and attentive, doing all to accommodate our special requests. Breakfast was delicious and with fresh tea and cookies served all day the hotel was a very welcoming and comforting place to be. I heartily recommend San Francisco Golden Gate hotel. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Luisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I spent one night recently in San Francisco to visit my son, and tried the Golden Gate Hotel, a bed and breakfast retreat on Bush St just around the corner from Union Square. The owners are lovely, and their staff are all helpful and polite. I had a first floor bedroom, private bath, with wonderful bed linens, and soft pillows. I had an excellent night's sleep, thanks to a very quiet location. It is very european in feel, with old fashioned bath fixtures modernized in some ways, and overall it was a most excellent value for the price. This is just what I've been looking for, since I plan on visiting the city often. I enjoyed a breakfast of coffee, juice, croissants and muffins (included) and enjoyed chatting with other guests - all quite pleasant! A small computer room is also available with a printer. There is an elevator for upper floors.

Room Tip: The older water pipes can make "clicking" noises at night; I use earplugs so that was not a problem.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethwoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A lovely B&B, antique lift adds charm, lovely old pictures on the wall, nice clean rooms. Very well located in San Francisco, very close to public transport, the cable cars, and a short walk to City Square, and a little longer walk to Pier 39 but still very pleasant.
A nice little touch is the big bowl of american jelly beans at the top of the stairs on the ground floor as you go up to your room.
Parking can be accommodated in the parking lot across the road.
We left our accommodation to the last minute, as we were playing our road trip by ear. The helpful staff could fit us in for one night and then kindly phoned a B&B 6 doors down where we were accommodated for the rest of our visit to San Francisco.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have stayed at the Golden Gate the past few times we were in San Francisco and found it to be one of the delights of our trip. The old hotel is full of color and character and even has a serene golden cat, Pip, as a greeter. Our room and bath were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with quaint furnishings and nice touches. The clientele here is lively, but generally quiet and considerate late at night and in the early morning. Breakfast is offered in the downstairs parlor and the croissants are fresh and scrumptious! Historic photos of life in old S.F. cover the walls and transport guests to the turn of the century, while the grilled elevator is a living antiquity in itself. Staff are friendly and helpful as tourists choose from the wide variety of activities and sights in this world capital. In all, the Golden Gate is just a lovely addition to our visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotters910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My best friend and I chose this hotel for its great value and location and we're so glad we did! Upon arrival, we were greeted by Spencer who gave us a tutorial on the antique elevator and helped us with our bags up to the room. He also gave us the low-down on the resident cat, Pip, telling us he usually visits 4 or 5 lucky ladies a night. Pip is adorable and we hoped he would visit with us at least once during our 4-night stay. As it turns out, we were Pip's "chosen ones" (in the words of Spencer when we checked out) because Pip spent 2 whole nights with us!

We chose a room with 2 twin beds and a private bathroom. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. On the day we arrived, the city was experiencing some unusually hot weather and we called down to the front desk to ask for a fan for our room. We had the fan in less than 10 minutes...incredible service!!

The location of this hotel can't be beat! It's less than a block from the Powell cable car and 2 blocks from the California cable car. It's 6 blocks from the BART station to/from SFO (you can take the cable car down Powell) and within walking distance of Chinatown. The continental breakfast in the morning was a nice treat and gives you an opportunity to chat with people from all over the world. One morning, the owners' dog, Cookie, was in the parlor. I think this is the happiest dog I've ever met!

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaConda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews