We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$193
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$571
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$315
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$451
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
497
222
24
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
222
24
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspip the catb bshared bathroomantique elevatorafternoon tea and cookieshotel catprivate bathother guestshot croissantsclawfoot tubunion squarebed and breakfastcable carbush stclaw footcharming hotelevery afternoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was wonderful, and the bed was comfortable. The croisants every morning were delicious. I wanted more every morning. Great place to stay!

Sometimes we heard doors opening and closing from our neighbors, but it wasn't a big deal. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had pleasure of staying four nights. Excellent location for cable car, union square, china town and Italian.....actually, only a short walk to all attractions and transport links. Discounted car park across road also avail. Rooms are small, quaint and shared bathroom is no problem. Breakfast croissants and muffins are fresh and the hot drinks plentiful. All staff are very friendly and willing to make your stay the best it can be!

Room Tip: Some have own shower, maybe ask first?
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our first visit through San Francisco, traveling by motorcycle, we looked forward very much to this visit at The Golden Gate Hotel. As we prefer unusual and sometimes quirky lodgings, this seemed like a natural fit, and we weren't disappointed overall. On the upside, the location and charming building were both fabulous - we walked to Chinatown and Little Italy, had easy access to trolleys and restaurants. The rooms were cozy and the staff was truly accommodating - wonderful people! On the downside, the noise around the hotel makes it very difficult to sleep and the porn theater and other odd neighbors attract a...diverse...set of folks to share the walk with at times. Parking in the area is available for confiscatory rates, but that's true for most of SF, we discovered, and certainly not the fault of the Hotel. Breakfast is simple and served in a charming parlor, but we did end up looking elsewhere for good coffee afterward. Can't complain too much about the cost, as its in line with the rest of SF rates, especially for the location. On the whole, worth your visit if you keep in mind that this is a downtown B&B experience and not a full service hotel. We would stay again, but not more than a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My now fiance and I stayed here for three nights in early June. We loved our cozy vintage feel room! The beds were very comfortable! Everyone was very helpful and the location was perfect! It was so easy to get to everywhere we wanted to go! I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: There were lots if complaints about the noise in the front of the hotel. We had a. Street front room and had no problem sleeping! Guess we wore ourselves out on all the hills:)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlestonmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this charming hotel. It is in a great location, close to Chinatown and Union Square, and within walking distance of North Beach. A cable car stop is right down the street. We had rented a car to drive to Yosemite, and were able to turn the car in to the rental car office right across the street from the hotel. We had a room on the 4th floor with a private bath. The room is small, but comfortable and was quiet at night, even with the windows open. The mattress was soft, which was comfortable for us, but may be an issue for someone who needs a firmer mattress for back issues. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but we did enjoy the oatmeal cookies and tea in the afternoon. The staff gave us helpful tips for navigating San Francisco and booked an airport shuttle for us the night before our departure. We had to leave early in the morning before anyone was on duty. but no worries, because Pip the Cat kept us company! We will definitely stay here again if we have a chance to return to San Francisco.
One more thing, we found a couple of good restaurants right down the street from the hotel - Bouche was a tiny French restaurant with phenomenal food - make reservations! and Hopwater Distribution was a fun bar with 31 California beers on tap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews