We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atypique !”
Review of Red Victorian LLC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Victorian LLC
Ranked #24 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It's been a while I have been there now, but I really hope it hasn't change at all. This is the place to go if you want to go back to the late sixties, early seventies spirit. Quite an immersion !
Warm welcome by the staff, nice breakfast room, everything very easy going. And Haight Ashbury is quite a myth, isn't it ?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Red Victorian LLC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Red Victorian was everything I expected, friendly with lots of atmosphere. It did feel like i had stepped back in time to the 70's, but that was one of its attactions for me. The staff were all really happy and friendly and I loved the individual themed rooms. The room was clean as were the bathrooms. Only thing lacking was no kettle in the rooms, however the cafe opened at 9am and a nice breakfast was included in the price and you could have free tea and coffee all day if you wanted it. I stayed with a friend but would have felt fine if I was on my own. Would stay there happily again . Thank you Red Victorian!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Playground Room, quiet room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Had a great time. Stumbled onto this place while looking on yelp for a place. It it is a bare bones place but makes up for the lack with great atmosphere. Your basic needs will be met and if you keep an open mind, you'll learn a lot about yourself

3  Thank dbfridley
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 November 2012

If you want an upscale bed and breakfast, this is not the place. If you haven't experienced the Haight, this may not be the way. It is a very busy street during the day, with lots of fun, unique shopping and restaurants. At night it's a bar crowd with lots of, mostly, friendly homeless. The shared bath room was clean, but no shower. Had the feeling of sleeping in someones house that you don't know.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy. No shower?
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cctraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I've read many of the reviews on the Red Vic before writing this and agree that the Vic may have some comfort issues with shared bathrooms, dust and the odd springy mattress. But you do pay bargain rates for a youth hostel style of accommodation. And it is totally unique. The culture and 'hippy' ambiance of the Red Vic hasn't changed over nearly a decade. It's staff are passionate believers in making the world a better place and work there for more than money. Very interesting guests gravitate to the Vic, and unlike other hotels, they actively encourage you to meet and bond with others. In our short stay we felt warmly welcomed and valued as visitors to a community of people.

Room Tip: So many to choose from! Each has a theme and are wonderfully decorated. My tip is to look at the i...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The owner has over the years evidently transformed this former doss-house into a landmark bed and breakfast and "peace" centre in the teeth of myriad financial, family, staff and legal problems, the details of which are all revealed in the ubiquitous in-house literature. This competes busily for wall and table space with the owner's peace posters, poetry and paintings, all of which are for sale. Though any non-guest looking to use the downstairs bathroom is met by a very unpeaceful and unloving "No Pay No Key" sign. My daughter and I stayed in the playground room, charming if a little dusty, however the bathroom opposite was dirty. A partly clogged shower stayed clogged with fallen hair from our arrival to departure despite several requests for it to be cleaned. Perhaps the point of places like this is that we should have cleaned it ourselves. The overriding impression of the Redvic is more hard-nosed entrepreneurialism than Summer of Love and in that context, less merchandising and more housekeeping would have been welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterFosterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I've always loved San Francisco and even though I've visited there many times before, I never made it to Haight-Ashbury area. I'm sure other reviewers do a better job in describing the place in general, but I can't praise the staff enough. They really made everyone feel welcome and I felt like being long-life friends with many of them (Hi Kate & Danielle!), hoping to see them again soon :)

Unfortunately I missed the weekend breakfast discussions, but loved sunday meditation class after so many years. Tango lessons sound great too. Maybe it's San Francisco, the Height or the Red Victorian, but within just few days I met so many interesting people on the streets and at the Peaceful World Café.

On my stay, I managed to try out two different rooms and especially liked the Flower Child. There was a separate tour on which I managed to see plenty of other interesting, unique rooms.

I totally recommend visiting this place, do some soul searching and perhaps meet new people altering the path you're currently walking on

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aetfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#144 of 229 in San Francisco
216 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#89 of 229 in San Francisco
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 72 in San Francisco
109 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
957 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Victorian LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Victorian LLC

Address: 1665 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2840 (Formerly Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £78 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Victorian LLC 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not your typical hotel! Staying at The Red Vic is more like coming home to family and friends than checking into a hotel. We are a community that values collaboration, participation, and connections. We ask you to fill out a profile so we can share that information about what you're up to with other guests and residents, facilitating interactions and collaborations. This is a participatory space, and we hope it will be a platform for your creative projects and ideas. What do you want to create? The ground floor is a member-supported 3rd space for projects, gatherings, events and activities. There is a communal kitchen that is always fully stocked with food for everyone to use. Guests are also encouraged to attend or host an event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Victorian LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast And Art
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing