We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Was Interesting....!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Victorian LLC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Victorian LLC
Ranked #26 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Northern California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Really Was Interesting....!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I chose the Redvic because of it's close proximity to St. Mary's hospital and they gave me a great deal because of my situation (family member in the hospital). It is sort of a boarding house with great energy. I was in the playground room on the third floor. There was a sink in my room and a shared, but very clean bathroom right across from my room. My room was a little smelly so I just went out to Whole Foods and bought a can of natural room spray. Maybe I would stay in another room, next time. Great wifi reception and a really nice breakfast. I wish the breakfast was offered an hour earlier. Everyone that worked there was great, especially Michael. Very helpful from the first phone call to reserve the room, through my check out. Thanks Michael! One thing I have to say that impressed me, was how courteous the other hotel guests were. I recommend eating at The Citrus Club right down the street. Yummy Asian noodle house!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeksocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    27
    7
    19
See reviews for
21
64
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

A sweet young lady gave a very nice welcome, the room was terrific with atmosphere I had hoped for. ( Skylight Room)
I was leaving at 6 the next morning so she offered me to pack some food for breakfast.
since there are no staff to help me call a taxi she gave the phone number of the taxi. You can called the taxi from your room.
The room and bathroom was clean.
The bed was hard and the pillow a little too high, but it was ok for one night. But 100$ is a good price for the room.
I wish had more time here too take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kavitacarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights, primarily on business. I had one of the smaller rooms (earth charter) with shared bath.
What I liked:
Quirky, beautiful decoration: not a chain hotel
Comfy quiet room
Safe and clean
Good value (hard to find a good room in SF for less than $100)

What I didn't like
Limited desk hours (8 am - early evening)
Breakfast doesn't start until 9 am (so I missed it)

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Portes, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

It's been a while I have been there now, but I really hope it hasn't change at all. This is the place to go if you want to go back to the late sixties, early seventies spirit. Quite an immersion !
Warm welcome by the staff, nice breakfast room, everything very easy going. And Haight Ashbury is quite a myth, isn't it ?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Red Victorian was everything I expected, friendly with lots of atmosphere. It did feel like i had stepped back in time to the 70's, but that was one of its attactions for me. The staff were all really happy and friendly and I loved the individual themed rooms. The room was clean as were the bathrooms. Only thing lacking was no kettle in the rooms, however the cafe opened at 9am and a nice breakfast was included in the price and you could have free tea and coffee all day if you wanted it. I stayed with a friend but would have felt fine if I was on my own. Would stay there happily again . Thank you Red Victorian!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Playground Room, quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Had a great time. Stumbled onto this place while looking on yelp for a place. It it is a bare bones place but makes up for the lack with great atmosphere. Your basic needs will be met and if you keep an open mind, you'll learn a lot about yourself

Helpful?
3 Thank dbfridley
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

If you want an upscale bed and breakfast, this is not the place. If you haven't experienced the Haight, this may not be the way. It is a very busy street during the day, with lots of fun, unique shopping and restaurants. At night it's a bar crowd with lots of, mostly, friendly homeless. The shared bath room was clean, but no shower. Had the feeling of sleeping in someones house that you don't know.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy. No shower?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cctraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#155 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#1 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
The Grove Inn
#7 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Casa Luna San Francisco Castro
#21 of 51 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Victorian LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Victorian LLC

Property: Red Victorian LLC
Address: 1665 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2840 (Formerly Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Victorian LLC 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not your typical hotel! Staying at The Red Vic is more like coming home to family and friends than checking into a hotel. We are a community that values collaboration, participation, and connections. We ask you to fill out a profile so we can share that information about what you're up to with other guests and residents, facilitating interactions and collaborations. This is a participatory space, and we hope it will be a platform for your creative projects and ideas. What do you want to create? The ground floor is a member-supported 3rd space for projects, gatherings, events and activities. There is a communal kitchen that is always fully stocked with food for everyone to use. Guests are also encouraged to attend or host an event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast And Art
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing