We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should have been good, but...”
Review of Red Victorian LLC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Victorian LLC
Ranked #24 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It should have been good, but...”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This place might have been good 20 years ago. Don't arrive after dark, they lock the front door (no front desk) and if you're lucky you may be able to figure out how to access the lock box for the key to get it. You can call the after-hours person who lives there but he won't be happy to see you. Rooms are much smaller and rattier than they look in the web site. The shared bathrooms are dirty in unfortunate ways. Haight Street is much rougher after dark than I remembered with wandering groups of bellowing drunk street people. The people who work in the cafe during the day are pleasant and helpful, but that was too little too late. For slightly more money you can stay in a real hotel; I strongly urge you to do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Episcopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    27
    7
    19
See reviews for
21
64
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last summer - my daughter loved it!! All the rooms are smallish and hippie theme- the bathrooms are super cool!! And communal- it's def a laid back everyone welcome vibe here- free coffee & breakfast downstairs is nice- not sure if I like Haight St at night- and parking can be a real issue

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraisis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The Red Victorian is the place to stay if you're coming to San Francisco to soak up what's left of the hippie vibe on Haight Street. It's a quirky, comfortable guest house that's been going for decades and caters for those who can cope with shared bathroom facilities and eclectic decor in exchange for its proximity to the most famous road of the San Francisco flower power era and the odd-ball mix of shops that recall it. The hotel, whilst very well-located, is a little down-at-heel and bordering on shabby, but the rooms and bathrooms are clean and bright and the breakfast is good. It was easy to catch one of the many hop-op-hop-off city tour buses from the top of the street, but there are not many good restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and we had to walk several blocks to the neighbouring suburb to find a decent meal. A good place to stay (once) if hippie is your style.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Noisy street sounds all night. Building is unsound...uneven floors...would not want to be in this building during an earthquake. Lukewarm shower. Will never stay here again. It was an awful experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The staff at the Red Victorian Bed & Breakfast is lovely -- warm, friendly, and welcoming. The rooms are reasonable size for the price and the bathroom down the hall is clean. They make a huge effort to be environmentally friendly, which I appreciate. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good, although they start late (9 a.m. for me is late when I'm heading off for a 10 mile walk/hike).

I didn't like the area as much as I thought I would - so if you're going to stay there to hang out in Haight-Ashbury, it's no great shakes. Stores are overpriced and all smell too strongly of Pachouli, as if they're trying to re-invent the past rather than just living as they are. The best thing about the location is that the Golden Gate Park is a short walk away. You can spend the whole day in the park, walk all the way through to the ocean, for a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illysa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vue, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I am surprised by the handful of negative reviews posted here. The Red Vic is one of the most interesting places I have visited. Yeah....it's old and turn of the century ( 19th to 20th, that us) and on the hectic and colorful Haight (not a ghetto as someone ill-informed has commented). The room was quaint and charming and colorful. There is much to do on the street and great sites and parks to see and shopping to do. The personnel were all just great folks.....sadly, the proprietor Sammi who I had hoped to meet, passed away a few weeks before our arrival. I cannot wait to return to this haven of old hippie charm.....at age 65, I may well deserve that appellation. You will enjoy your visit.....take your Grateful Dead eight tracks for additional ambiance. Truly nice.....truly warm and fun.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank davidstash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Valle de Antón, Panamá
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

we have been at the Red Vic. 2 years in a row, and both times have been the best. Besides that S. F, is our favorite city in the U.S. to visit, the Red Vic. makes it even better. Love the themes of the rooms, that makes us want to come back the next year so we can stay in a different room. And this year we went with our daughter and it was a great environment to be in with the family. Close to the Golden Gate park and excellent shopping areas.

Room Tip: you must review their room themes on their website to choose your ideal one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastajedi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#142 of 229 in San Francisco
215 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
56 reviews
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 72 in San Francisco
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
944 reviews
Casa Loma Hotel
#13 of 52 in San Francisco
389 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#113 of 229 in San Francisco
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Victorian LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Victorian LLC

Property: Red Victorian LLC
Address: 1665 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2840 (Formerly Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Victorian LLC 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not your typical hotel! Staying at The Red Vic is more like coming home to family and friends than checking into a hotel. We are a community that values collaboration, participation, and connections. We ask you to fill out a profile so we can share that information about what you're up to with other guests and residents, facilitating interactions and collaborations. This is a participatory space, and we hope it will be a platform for your creative projects and ideas. What do you want to create? The ground floor is a member-supported 3rd space for projects, gatherings, events and activities. There is a communal kitchen that is always fully stocked with food for everyone to use. Guests are also encouraged to attend or host an event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Victorian LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast And Art
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing