We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Charm”
Review of Stanyan Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanyan Park Hotel
Ranked #144 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here while visiting family in the area, the hotel was lovely and charming. Its very quiet and peaceful.The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable. Large TV with tons of channels.The free continental breakfast was a nice touch, coffe, tea, juice, and a nice selection of cereal,oatmeal, bagels, pastry,also hard boiled eggs and yogurt.It was a nice way to start the day. Public transportation is very close by. You can also easily walk to Golden Gate Park, The Haight, and the Innner Sunset which has has a lot of great restaurants and shops. Overall a terrific place to stay!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room in the "round" corner part of the hotel which had a nice bay wind...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Stanyan Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here because of medical appointments at UCSF. The location was ideal--right across the street from the hospital's shuttle service and also within walking distance to the hospital. The staff was wonderful and helpful in so many ways--can't say enough good things about them! The rooms we were in were immaculately clean and comfortable, and we found the decor charming. It was convenient to city transportation, restaurants, cafes and a great sports pub was two doors away. Whole Foods is a block away and there are other food stores and a drug store that is close by. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms due to having to keep extending our stay and each was fine. Our favo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Idahogal35469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It is very old, but everything is old in this area! Only about 30 rooms in a pretty desirable.... fun to explore part of San Francisco. A short walk to Haight Ashbury and Cole Valley...both neighborhoods brimming with bars and restaurants! It is the closest to USF too. You can hop on a #33 Muni bus on Haight St. and be in the hot Mission district in about 20 minutes for $2.00 each way.
The room we had was a 2 BR suite with one pretty large bathroom. Our #306 suite was huge with a full kitchen/separate dining room. One BR had a queen bed and the other BR had 2 single beds. There were 2 flat screen TV's. The period details such as crown mouldings and antique light fixtures added to the charm. There was a separate living room with a pull-out sofa where 2 more people could sleep. We really enjoyed our short stay and wished we could have stayed longer in this over-sized yet homey suite. Our location at the rear of the property was actually a positive thing because of how quiet it was.

Room Tip: We were told the hotel is about 90% or more occupied almost every night due to the lack of accomodat...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freedomrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Room overlooked Golden Gate Park. Near Haight Street and public transportation. Room was comfortable and the free buffet breakfast was an unexpected treat. Elevator is a plus in area of walk ups. We were lucky to secure an early check in and the employees secured our luggage for a red eye to the east coast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front overlook the park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PVWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is an old historic building, so I thought it would be charming. However, the blind on the window fell on the first night. The staff was not available to fix it that night, so they offered to discount my room for the first night. When I checked out, I had not been discounted. The night desk clerk had not made a note in my file. The associate working the morning of our check out adjusted my bill, but who knows if it was adjusted to the rate that the original associate had intended.

Hotel had charm, but the room was underwhelming. We were there for our honeymoon, but it felt like we were staying at our grandmother's house.

The website touted an "extended" Continental breakfast, which I thought would mean that they would have eggs and bacon, but it meant extended hours.

I know that they cannot help the location, but I grew weary of walking through "Street kids" and panhandlers to get to my hotel. I felt fairly safe walking at night with my husband, but i would not have gone out alone. There is not a BART stop near by. In order to get around the city you need to have a car or ride the bus.

I was in a room that looked over the park, which was nice at first, but difficult when I tried to sleep. The road was very loud and the street lights were bright (when I didn't have a shade). There was a small skate park across the street in the park and skateboarders hung out all day and all night which was also noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great location for walking around Golden Gate Park and the Haight-Ashbury neighborhood. The building has that old Victorian charm, but the room itself didn't really feel that charming- no art, old TV, worn bedspread and carpeting, but clean. However, it's also nice to be in a local neighborhood. Some people complain about the prevalence of homeless in the area, but it seems to me like if we want to know what San Francisco is really like, we need to see the poverty as well as the mansions on Nob Hill. Besides, it was fun to step out our door and have access to the yummy food and drinks on Haight. A little disappointed because they messed up our reservation (the guy on the phone promised us their one queen sized room in the front, but when we got there, it was taken and they told us, "Hotels don't guarantee specific rooms, it just can't be done." Seemed like there was a disconnect in communication somewhere.) They offered us a discount, though, because of the misunderstanding which helped restore our faith in the service, a little. They also no longer offer a tea service at 4pm, so my year old guide book is outdated about that. Too bad, seems like the perfect building for a tea. Continental breakfast is good enough, enjoyed the coffee. Stay here if you want to be in the neighborhood, but don't expect a B&B atmosphere or anything fancy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Definitely an experience. Ok for one person, for one night. I don't mind seeing places with character especially when I know what I'm paying for. I would not stay long, nor stay on holiday.

Pros: cheap, a place to sleep

Cons: smells moldy, thermostat doesn't work

There are probably other issues but I wasn't there long enough to notice.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Subcortically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#89 of 229 in San Francisco
66 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#166 of 229 in San Francisco
4 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#18 of 229 in San Francisco
395 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanyan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyan Park Hotel

Address: 750 Stanyan St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £131 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanyan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stanyan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanyan Park San Francisco
Hotel Stanyan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing