We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful accommodations”
Review of Stanyan Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanyan Park Hotel
Ranked #139 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very comfortable and affordable. It is a hotel that is more personal...like a bed and breakfast. Staff was very helpful and the room was nice, clean and comfortable. Many restaurants close by. Close proximity to UCSF on Parnassus. I was by myself and stayed there the night before surgery at UCSF.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delightArcata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We enjoyed this motel and plan to return if we are in the area again.
Our room had a recent remodel and a flat screen TV. I am assuming that the other reviews with negative comments are from people that don't travel much. Any large populated area will have smaller spaces, homeless, parking issues - similar conditions in LA, Seattle, etc. Our pricing was better than comparable motels in the area and we have no complaints. We received good support from the staff and enjoyed walking the neighborhood - only a few blocks from Haight-Ashbury and right across from Golden Gate Park. If you want huge rooms and free parking, you need to leave the city.

Room Tip: Remember, you are in a highly populated coastal city - plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OFGinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here due to my husband having a procedure at UCSF Hospital. It was close to the hospital and one of the hotels they referred us to. It is a very old building, so yes it spelt pretty musty and the rooms were extremely small. I could of dealt with that, but the rooms all facing the inner courtyard there was no privacy at all. You could also hear everything going on in the other rooms. The only thing I really did enjoy was the fact that there was a bar, Kezar Pub next door, so I had a nice dinner and a couple of beers at the bar before heading back to the hotel for the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcjetskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A historic hotel, takes you back in time. Desk staff very friendly. Rooms are small, as one would expect for a historic hotel. Room was clean with a flat screen TV. We had a double bed, desk, chair and room to walk around. We stayed there four nights and enjoyed it. Breakfast was very good a notch above most hotel/motel breakfasts. Wi-Fi did not work in room, but did at desk and breakfast room. Desk person said they are currently working on updating it, should be much better then. For an old country boy and girl from the hills of Ohio the price was quite high but reasonable for San Francisco, we understand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night, and was excited to stay in a SF historic property...will never go back. This place is on the National Register of Historic Properties, looks great from the outside, but the inside hasn't been updated in many, many years. I felt like I was walking into the hotel from the Shining. The front desk staff was ok, definitely not the friendliest. When we entered the room the smell of bleach, old stale cigarettes, old curtains and old carpet was very evident - a musty, funky odor. The pink carpet was dirty and stained, and scratched furniture belonged in a cheap antique market. The whole place was just, ugh...especially considering the $200 + / night price tag. The continental breakfast was just OK. Good location next to the Park, but I think that this hotel only wants to cater elderly folks who are visiting family in the hospital - not the 30-something couple on vacation. Don't expect this to be a cool, vintage, or neat place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This charming but dated hotel is located about 3 blocks from UCSF which made it convenient for visiting my son. There are only about 3 hotels really close to the hospital. I first called The Carl Hotel and the
receptionist was really pleasant. She said the hotel was next to the metro and the outside noise
was rather loud to light-sleepers. The rates at the Carl were half the price of the Stanyan Park
Hotel and they gave a discount to UCSF visitors. She said that the Stanyan also gave a discount
so I called them. They first said that they are listed online as giving a discount to UCSF people,
but they didn't any longer. They had one room left on a Saturday afternoon that I was told was a
deluxe Queen room in the middle of the hotel - a very quiet room. The price was almost triple what the Carl Hotel quoted, but in desperation I booked the room so I could be close to my son at the hospital. When I first saw the room I was very disappointed. The room was very narrow,
and small. It was only large enough for one person, and I didn't understand why they said it
was a deluxe room. The furniture was too large for the room, the bed was uncomfortable, and there wasn't any
air-conditioning. There was a window that was open, without a screen that served as the air-conditioner. The room was musty and warm even when the outside temperatures were in the 70's. While it was clean, it certainly wasn't
worth the $175!!!!

They did serve a continental breakfast in the morning that consisted of some packaged muffins,
yogurt, some fruit, and coffee. The breakfast room was quaint, and I enjoyed reading the newspaper and having coffee but wasn't impressed by the food.

While the room was mostly quiet, I did hear people walking down the halls throughout the night.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is close to Golden Gate Park, the Haight/Ashbury district, and the hospital. There
is little street parking available, but there's a parking lot about 3 blocks away,

If you have a car, and don't need to go to the hospital, or do business in the area, I would stay further out of town where
the parking isn't an issue and where you can get a better hotel value.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any king sized beds available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDeeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The staff is friendly. Clean. It's next to Golden Gate Park and in the middle of town. Charming location but the place appears to be run a little on the cheap with slow Wi-Fi, tired furniture, old beddings, motel-ish continental breakfast etc.

Just a heads up on the area (which is not the hotel's fault), there are legions of homeless and vagrants nearby -- at Golden Gate Park and on the sidewalks very close to the hotel. But it is also a fun, interesting area right next to Haight Street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
661 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
1,068 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
94 reviews
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#179 of 230 in San Francisco
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanyan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyan Park Hotel

Address: 750 Stanyan St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £119 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanyan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stanyan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanyan Park San Francisco
Hotel Stanyan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing